We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Pullman San Francisco Bay
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Redwood City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
149 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Nice service”
Reviewed October 4, 2012

This hotel is located in Redwood City, near Oracle and other tech companies.
It is an elegant hotel, with very pleasant service. Staff are welcoming and uniformly helpful.

There is a good restaurant, a bar and an eat/in or take out cafe with lattés, espresso and very nice French pastries. Rooms were fine. Fairly standard good quality hotel room. The plumbing and doors opening and closing in adjoining room are somewhat noisy, but I was only aware of that in the evening, and my sleep was not disturbed.

The location is fine for business in the area, but at the price I wouldn't stay here for tourism- you can get as nice a hotel right in San Francisco for that.

The hotel is a bit isolated- it was a $30 cab ride to the company I was visiting on Seaport Boulevard. However, it is situated on a small lagoon and you can walk around it- apparently 4km around, but I just walked about half way. There is an outdoor pool and bar that look over the lagoon- pleasant to sit there in the late afternoon.

All in all, if you need to be in the local area around Redwood City/San Mateo for business, this is a good choice, but if you are in the Bay area for tourism, I'd head for downtown San Francisco. I took the free shuttle to and from the airport, but if you are there for more than a couple of nights, a rent a car would be preferable.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TW53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John H, General Manager at Pullman San Francisco Bay, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Dear

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Sofitel San Francisco Bay. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

John Hutar
General Manager
Sofitel San Francisco Bay, California
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,381 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    537
    494
    211
    95
    44
See reviews for
260
301
117
600
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (245)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
77 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Stayed here for business for a week. The room was good, the breakfast was of a good quality, I really liked the corned beef hash and eggs. Staff were courteous and helpful, especially the concierge who helped with some restaurant bookings (Town in San Carlos - read my review and go). The bar is fairly good, the mini gym is of a god size and the pool area is reasonable; however, there is a leisure complex at the end of Twin Dolphin which allows you access with your room key and is much bigger and better.

If you have business in the area you could do worse than stay here

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HentiCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John H, General Manager at Pullman San Francisco Bay, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Dear

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Sofitel San Francisco Bay. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

John Hutar
General Manager
Sofitel San Francisco Bay, California
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

I am very impressed with this hotel. When I booked it on Hotwire, it seemed like a nice hotel but in the middle of nowhere. This is not true. The hotel is just on the other side of the 101 freeway from downtown San Carlos, so you get the best of both worlds. On the one hand you're close to everything, but also far enough away that you can get some peace and quiet.

The hotel itself is great. The lobby is gorgeous, staff are extremely helpful, and the martini bar is first rate. The rooms are quite nice, fairly spacious, everything you'd expect in a higher end hotel.

There is a swimming pool (gorgeous) and fitness center. Unlike other high end hotels, wifi and parking are free. Yes, free.

Oh, one nice touch... bath robes. I love hotels with bath robes.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John H, General Manager at Pullman San Francisco Bay, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Dear

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Sofitel San Francisco Bay. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

John Hutar
General Manager
Sofitel San Francisco Bay, California
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elk Grove, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

This Hotel is a 4 Star experience and great for exploring beyond San Francisco,Ca. Check out Half Moon Bay from here, just 20 minutes on highway 92 to Half Moon Bay and the California coastline...Check out It's Italia Restaurant & Bar 401 Main St.Half Moon Bay, CA 94019 for great pizza and fireplaces in the courtyard . Ride bikes from The Bike Works, 520 Kelly St.Half Moon Bay, CA 94019 along the Coastline and relax. Bring a lunch from the local grocery store and explore all the beaches along the coast. Bring chairs or a blanket and listen to the ocean for a little rest and relaxation.

Room Tip: Ask for a Higher floor above the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 69Gregory69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John H, General Manager at Pullman San Francisco Bay, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Dear

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Sofitel San Francisco Bay. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

John Hutar
General Manager
Sofitel San Francisco Bay, California
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

If you like European hospitality, this is a good place to stay while still in the U.S. The staff was unfailing in their politeness, good nature, and concern. Since we were with a person in a wheelchair, the staff was very helpful in pre-arranging for the necessary accommodations. The staff also appeared to be European interns, who are probably getting experience for careers in hotel management. Their approach was always civilized, always helpful. The design of the hotel was also contemporary European, if you like that sort of thing. Cool metalwork on the main entrance doors.

The food was excellent, and the service just right -- not too hovering and not too distant. The beds were lush-comfortable, so much so that I had to order their pillows once I got back home.

To be fair, there were a few minor items of apparent damage in the room - a crushed lampshade (fell over at one time?) and a gouge in one of the headboards (who knows?). However the bathroom was always spotless and well maintained, and the room was quite comfortable.

Proximity to the airport was also a plus, as was the convenient parking. A stay here is a good stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aude48214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John H, General Manager at Pullman San Francisco Bay, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Bonjour!

The entire Sofitel San Francisco Bay team would like to THANK YOU for your lovely message and great compliments.

It is really a great reward for all of us to see how deeply you enjoyed staying with us. We are delighted that you enjoyed our luxury service with French flair.

Thank you again for choosing us and for taking time to share your experience. We hope we'll have an opportunity to welcome you back very soon to Sofitel San Francisco Bay.

Sincerely,

John Hutar
General Manager
Sofitel San Francisco Bay, California
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stittsville, Canada
Level Contributor
217 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

This hotel is known as the Oracle hotel for good reason - it's conveniently located just a 15-minute walk from the main campus, and also offers three morning shuttle runs. There's also a dedicated Oracle breakfast room, with an ingenious idea: either eat-in plates, or take-away containers for those who need breakfast, but are in a rush.

I never had any complaints about the facility - I was in a nice room that didn't look outdated at all, although there were some minor chips in the desk. Not anything that bothered me! The room was large and always clean, and the bathroom was continually immaculate.

I especially enjoyed the running maps provided in the gym - and instead of using the indoor facilities I ran around the Redwood Shores area. Just watch out for the geese! Not that they're the problem, but all sidewalks are covered in their excrement.

Their outdoor pool is great, despite the cool weather it's heated, and is often the site of sunbathers during the sunny periods. At nights they have brazers outside to keep warm around as well, a nice touch.

The only issue I had was with it's location in terms of other amenities. I didn't have a car, and had to walk 40 minutes into town one day to get some food. It's also not the easiest to find a cab at non-standard hours, which can be a problem as well.

One other thing: There isn't substantial soundproofing in the rooms. I could hear voices next door to me, and banging in the hallways, which occasionally woke me up.

Additionally on Tuesday morning they started pneumatic drilling at 6am.... really?! I was told it would be done by 7:30am, which seems ridiculous to me. Sure, you may have meetings being held in your hotel during the day, but I'd think that the sleep of my guests was more important!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John H, General Manager at Pullman San Francisco Bay, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Dear

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Sofitel San Francisco Bay. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

John Hutar
General Manager
Sofitel San Francisco Bay, California
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Redwood City
3.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Express
#3 of 17 in Redwood City
197 reviews
0.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Carlos
0.7 mi away
TownePlace Suites Redwood City Redwood Shores
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn San Mateo
3.2 mi away
Redwood Creek Inn
Redwood Creek Inn
#9 of 17 in Redwood City
21 reviews
3.2 mi away
Pacific Euro Hotel
Pacific Euro Hotel
#6 of 17 in Redwood City
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pullman San Francisco Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pullman San Francisco Bay

Property: Pullman San Francisco Bay
Address: 223 Twin Dolphin Dr, Redwood City, CA 94065-1414 (Formerly Sofitel San Francisco Bay)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Redwood City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Redwood City
#1 Business Hotel in Redwood City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pullman San Francisco Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 421
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Pullman San Francisco Bay, an exclusive 'corporate resort' reputed for its refinement, considerate service and attention to detail. Whether you are visiting for pleasure or in town for business, you will savor this truly unique experience, a total immersion in comfort! Enjoy the superbly appointed accommodations in tranquil surroundings fanned by gentle breezes... Ideally situated between San Francisco and San José, this luxurious establishment is only minutes from the airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Pullman San Francisco Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel San Francisco Bay Hotel Redwood City
Sofitel Hotel Redwood City
Sofitel Redwood City
Redwood City Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing