We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly Surprised”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pullman San Francisco Bay
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Redwood City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed September 29, 2012

I am very impressed with this hotel. When I booked it on Hotwire, it seemed like a nice hotel but in the middle of nowhere. This is not true. The hotel is just on the other side of the 101 freeway from downtown San Carlos, so you get the best of both worlds. On the one hand you're close to everything, but also far enough away that you can get some peace and quiet.

The hotel itself is great. The lobby is gorgeous, staff are extremely helpful, and the martini bar is first rate. The rooms are quite nice, fairly spacious, everything you'd expect in a higher end hotel.

There is a swimming pool (gorgeous) and fitness center. Unlike other high end hotels, wifi and parking are free. Yes, free.

Oh, one nice touch... bath robes. I love hotels with bath robes.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John H, General Manager at Pullman San Francisco Bay, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2012

Dear

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Sofitel San Francisco Bay. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

John Hutar
General Manager
Sofitel San Francisco Bay, California

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,453)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

925 - 931 of 1,453 reviews

Reviewed September 27, 2012

This Hotel is a 4 Star experience and great for exploring beyond San Francisco,Ca. Check out Half Moon Bay from here, just 20 minutes on highway 92 to Half Moon Bay and the California coastline...Check out It's Italia Restaurant & Bar 401 Main St.Half Moon Bay, CA 94019 for great pizza and fireplaces in the courtyard . Ride bikes from The Bike Works, 520 Kelly St.Half Moon Bay, CA 94019 along the Coastline and relax. Bring a lunch from the local grocery store and explore all the beaches along the coast. Bring chairs or a blanket and listen to the ocean for a little rest and relaxation.

Room Tip: Ask for a Higher floor above the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 69Gregory69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John H, General Manager at Pullman San Francisco Bay, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2012

Dear

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Sofitel San Francisco Bay. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

John Hutar
General Manager
Sofitel San Francisco Bay, California

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

If you like European hospitality, this is a good place to stay while still in the U.S. The staff was unfailing in their politeness, good nature, and concern. Since we were with a person in a wheelchair, the staff was very helpful in pre-arranging for the necessary accommodations. The staff also appeared to be European interns, who are probably getting experience for careers in hotel management. Their approach was always civilized, always helpful. The design of the hotel was also contemporary European, if you like that sort of thing. Cool metalwork on the main entrance doors.

The food was excellent, and the service just right -- not too hovering and not too distant. The beds were lush-comfortable, so much so that I had to order their pillows once I got back home.

To be fair, there were a few minor items of apparent damage in the room - a crushed lampshade (fell over at one time?) and a gouge in one of the headboards (who knows?). However the bathroom was always spotless and well maintained, and the room was quite comfortable.

Proximity to the airport was also a plus, as was the convenient parking. A stay here is a good stay.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aude48214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John H, General Manager at Pullman San Francisco Bay, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2012

Bonjour!

The entire Sofitel San Francisco Bay team would like to THANK YOU for your lovely message and great compliments.

It is really a great reward for all of us to see how deeply you enjoyed staying with us. We are delighted that you enjoyed our luxury service with French flair.

Thank you again for choosing us and for taking time to share your experience. We hope we'll have an opportunity to welcome you back very soon to Sofitel San Francisco Bay.

Sincerely,

John Hutar
General Manager
Sofitel San Francisco Bay, California

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

This hotel is known as the Oracle hotel for good reason - it's conveniently located just a 15-minute walk from the main campus, and also offers three morning shuttle runs. There's also a dedicated Oracle breakfast room, with an ingenious idea: either eat-in plates, or take-away containers for those who need breakfast, but are in a rush.

I never had any complaints about the facility - I was in a nice room that didn't look outdated at all, although there were some minor chips in the desk. Not anything that bothered me! The room was large and always clean, and the bathroom was continually immaculate.

I especially enjoyed the running maps provided in the gym - and instead of using the indoor facilities I ran around the Redwood Shores area. Just watch out for the geese! Not that they're the problem, but all sidewalks are covered in their excrement.

Their outdoor pool is great, despite the cool weather it's heated, and is often the site of sunbathers during the sunny periods. At nights they have brazers outside to keep warm around as well, a nice touch.

The only issue I had was with it's location in terms of other amenities. I didn't have a car, and had to walk 40 minutes into town one day to get some food. It's also not the easiest to find a cab at non-standard hours, which can be a problem as well.

One other thing: There isn't substantial soundproofing in the rooms. I could hear voices next door to me, and banging in the hallways, which occasionally woke me up.

Additionally on Tuesday morning they started pneumatic drilling at 6am.... really?! I was told it would be done by 7:30am, which seems ridiculous to me. Sure, you may have meetings being held in your hotel during the day, but I'd think that the sleep of my guests was more important!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeff R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John H, General Manager at Pullman San Francisco Bay, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2012

Dear

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Sofitel San Francisco Bay. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

John Hutar
General Manager
Sofitel San Francisco Bay, California

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

I contacted Mr. Hutar on August 27th regarding my concerns about a reservation we had at this property on Sept 14. As our arrangements had been made for us at the Sofitel, and I had read some pretty disturbing reviews on tripadvisor and a few other sites, I was concerned about whether or not we would be able to have a room without mold or chipped tiles or dirty carpets or any of the other unpleasant things that guests who stayed at your location had complained about. I was contacted via email by Rosalind Mariana, who assured me that she had assigned me to one of their updated and remodeled rooms, and I was satisfied that my stay would be pleasant. However, upon arrival we were given the keys to a room with carpet so filthy I refused to accept it. The furniture was ancient, the desk was scratched and stained, the bathroom was moldy, and it was subpar for a roadside motel, let alone a luxury hotel like the Sofitel. We went back down to the desk and we were assigned another room and escorted upstairs by a front desk clerk. He let us into the second room and all of our eyes immediately went to the huge dirty stain in the middle of the floor. The desk, table, headboard was stained and OLD and the bathroom was disgusting. The clerk called down on his walkie talkie and made arrangements to find us another room. This time he led us to the 4th floor to a large corner suite. It was very big, with a bedroom and a separate living room, and the carpet was acceptable. However, the shower was again filthy, with cracks in the floor tiles and mold and rust all around the shower door. The furniture in the living room was so dirty we had to lay towels down in sit on them. There were HUGE spider webs hanging outside of every window, so the view was shot. We had no washcloths in the bathroom so we had to call downstairs two days in a row to have some brought to our room. Overall, this was a horrendous stay that I tried to prevent by being proactive and contacting the manager with my concerns well in advance of my arrival. I have stayed in the Beverly Hills Sofitel on several occasions and while that property was definitely up to par, this one needs a COMPLETE overhaul of furniture, bathroom fixtures, tiles, and carpet, and a very good SCRUBBING as it is DIRTY! When will these hotel managers learn that a pretty lobby doesn't count for everything? I will have lots of business in the area in the future, but I will never stay at this property again unless it is completely cleaned and overhauled. Hugely disappointed and not fitting of carrying the Sofitel name or brand.

Room Tip: Call in advance and ask for a remodeled room. The older rooms are simply filthy, especially the carp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1WorldTraveler49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John H, General Manager at Pullman San Francisco Bay, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to resolve this matter directly with the hotel. I hope you'll take us up on our offer to return once our renovation is fully completed and our rooms are refreshed. I apologize for the stay your experienced.

John Hutar
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Great hotel for business travel. Very near the airport (~20 mins) and they offer a complementary shuttle to/from the airport. Conveniently located near several Silicon Valley tech companies - walking distance to Oracle.

Rooms are well appointed,but lack a refrigerator for longer stays. In room wi-fi (for a fee) is speedy. Room service is outstanding. Good food and very prompt delivery. Menu can get a bit redundant after a few nights stay. Would recommend making a daily or weekly special available for ordering to your room.

Gym is small, but adequate. Staff is friendly & helpful. All-in-all a good place to stay while traveling on business to the Bay area.

Room Tip: This is a dog friendly hotel. So you may hear a bark or two.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CycleTime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John H, General Manager at Pullman San Francisco Bay, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2012

Dear

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Sofitel San Francisco Bay. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

John Hutar
General Manager
Sofitel San Francisco Bay, California

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012

Stayed here for 10 days on business - very comfortable room (and bed) One of the best gyms I have ever seen in a hotel. Small pool at the rear overlooking a little lake.

Very good French toast for breakfast - food beautifully presented generally. Staff generally helpful.

Room big comfy with special plug points on lights. You may need to check the hairdryer mine did not plug in which I found out when hair was wet (the prongs had been bent) The toiletries are L'Occitane and lovely. Replenished regularly.

Little coffee machine in the room which was very well designed. Take away coffee bar downstairs in foyer also.

I used the hotel airport shuffle to get the airport then took BART to SF which other people did also (eg if you didnt want to drive in for sightseeing at the weekend)

Room Tip: Avoid rooms with connecting doors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarquisofCaribas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John H, General Manager at Pullman San Francisco Bay, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2012

Dear

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Sofitel San Francisco Bay. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

John Hutar
General Manager
Sofitel San Francisco Bay, California

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Redwood City
3.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Express
#3 of 17 in Redwood City
208 reviews
3.2 mi away
Redwood Creek Inn
Redwood Creek Inn
#7 of 17 in Redwood City
31 reviews
0.8 mi away
TownePlace Suites Redwood City Redwood Shores
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Carlos
2.7 mi away
Courtyard Redwood City
Courtyard Redwood City
#11 of 17 in Redwood City
28 reviews
7.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency San Francisco Airport - Burlingame
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pullman San Francisco Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pullman San Francisco Bay

Address: 223 Twin Dolphin Dr, Redwood City, CA 94065-1414 (Formerly Sofitel San Francisco Bay)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Redwood City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Redwood City
#1 Green Hotel in Redwood City
Price Range: $128 - $454 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pullman San Francisco Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 421
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Pullman San Francisco Bay, an exclusive 'corporate resort' reputed for its refinement, considerate service and attention to detail. Whether you are visiting for pleasure or in town for business, you will savor this truly unique experience, a total immersion in comfort! Enjoy the superbly appointed accommodations in tranquil surroundings fanned by gentle breezes... Ideally situated between San Francisco and San José, this luxurious establishment is only minutes from the airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, ACCOR, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Pullman San Francisco Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel San Francisco Bay Hotel Redwood City
Sofitel Hotel Redwood City
Sofitel Redwood City
Redwood City Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing