We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel to tour San Francisco”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Pullman San Francisco Bay
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Redwood City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great hotel to tour San Francisco”
Reviewed September 6, 2012

We stayed at the Sofitel hotel for 3nights, Aug 31 to Sep 3rd with our two children. Everything about this hotel was topnotch, the spacious room, the pleasant staff and the scenic lake bordering the hotel. The hotel is just 15minutes from the Airport. We rented a car to visit the different tourist spots - Alcatraz island, golden gate bridge, Big sur, Stanford campus etc. I highly recommend this hotel for your stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Guhan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John H, General Manager at Pullman San Francisco Bay, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Dear

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Sofitel San Francisco Bay. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

John Hutar
General Manager
Sofitel San Francisco Bay, California
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,368 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    532
    490
    208
    94
    44
See reviews for
258
299
117
592
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

This hotel is a 3; definitely NOT a luxury hotel as it bills itself.

The lobby and common areas are nice, the staff is pleasant--although the affected French accent is a bit much.

The room was nothing to write home about. The A/C failed to cool to my wife's standards, the carpets have significant wear. The bathroom was clean but there were cracked tiles, the wood cover in front of the sink was cracking, the door's edge was dirty from people handling it. I can accept the broken tiles (as they are more difficult to replace) but a spray of Fantastic! for the door or a coat of varnish on the wood is all that would be needed to make the hotel a bit more "luxurious."

There is no refrigerator so one doesn't have the option of keeping things cold. The bed was comfortable and there were more than enough pillows.

There are a couple of computers off the main lobby; a nice feature was a machine to print airline boarding passes. Another pleasant surprise was plenty of FREE parking.

The room prices were a bit high; they probably can keep them at that level because of Oracle headquarters next door.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AchingFeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John H, General Manager at Pullman San Francisco Bay, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Dear

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Sofitel San Francisco Bay. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At Sofitel, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

We are actually in an ongoing process of upgrading all of the rooms with new furniture and amenities in order to provide a great experience for all of our guests. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely,

John Hutar
General Manager
Sofitel San Francisco Bay, California
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2012

A hotel with a french flair but inspite of it's isolation, it is a surprisingly a busy hotel with a bar and restaurant an hive of functional activity eg a Jazz evening on a Wednesday for entertainment. The food choice is limited and there is no complimentary breakfast but there are plenty of eateries in nearby Santa Clara located 5 minutes away by car. Having your own car is vital if you need to travel with access to the freeway is within easy reach getting you to either San Francisco or San Jose in the opposite direction within 30 minutes. The hotel is pleasant enough with a reasonable size gym to left off stream. Although the decor is dated and in places it really shows there is ongoing refurbishment taking place especially in the rooms which are pleasantly spacious but you need to book early as they are proving popular. Overall I would stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TonyHutch01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John H, General Manager at Pullman San Francisco Bay, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Dear

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Sofitel San Francisco Bay. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

John Hutar
General Manager
Sofitel San Francisco Bay, California
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CMH
Level Contributor
77 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2012

This hotel seems a bit out of place in Redwood City but alas, there it is. Striking distance to SF, Sunnyvale or even San Jose, this is a great property. I have stayed there, and attended events there, for about 6 years now, usually a week or less at a time. The Bar, Restaurant and Gift Shop all have terrific things to offer and the common areas are all wonderful. The rooms are some what small but I have had a corner suite before and they are amazing.

Clean, comfortable, good service. You will not be disappointed with these guys.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AkulaTheShark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John H, General Manager at Pullman San Francisco Bay, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Dear

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Sofitel San Francisco Bay. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

John Hutar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Was here for a weekend trip, a wedding for a good friend of mine. It was a very nice and clean hotel, the staff was very helpful and friendly.

The lobby bar had good food and drinks.

Docked a star because location isnt really near anything, and it may have been a little bit on the expensive side. Also, the doors arent very thick and you can hear everything going on outside in the hallway. The french accents on everyone is a little quirky but made for a unique experience.

Definitely would stay again if I was in the area for business as I dont see much reason to go here on travel.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pogs4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John H, General Manager at Pullman San Francisco Bay, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Dear

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Sofitel San Francisco Bay. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

John Hutar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harker Heights, Texas
Level Contributor
236 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2012

The Sofitel Hotel chain has a well-earned reputation. This gem is no exception. The service at the front desk, restaurant, and throughout the hotel is top-drawer. They aim to please, and they're good at it. The shuttle to and from the airport is a nice touch. I heartily recommend this hotel to any and all travelers.

Room Tip: Ask for a "water-view" room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TONY263
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John H, General Manager at Pullman San Francisco Bay, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Bonjour!

The entire Sofitel San Francisco Bay team would like to THANK YOU for your lovely message and great compliments.

It is really a great reward for all of us to see how deeply you enjoyed staying with us . We are delighted that you enjoyed our luxury service with French flair.

Thank you again for choosing us and for taking time to share your experience. We hope we'll have an opportunity to welcome you back very soon to Sofitel San Francisco Bay.

Sincerely,

John Hutar
General Manager
Sofitel San Francisco Bay, California
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flower Mound
Level Contributor
52 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We spent two nights (Friday & Saturday) at this property. It is a new and modern hotel with a definite French flare. The staff were very courteous and helpful. Our water-view room was excellent on the 6th floor. The room was nicely appointed with good amentities. The in-room coffee was excellent. Our room was very quiet. Tyhe hotel is located in a business park near Oracle, and it was perfectly serene. Loacted on a small private "lake" the room view was wonderful as were the sunsets from our room window. The property is beautifully landscaped. I found a nice 2.7 mile running loop around the hotel. The restaurant was very good as was the little deli-patisserie. All of this and parking is FREE, unlike the hotels in SanFranciso proper. Located 10 minutes south of SFO Airport it is very convenient for our travel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ronald K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John H, General Manager at Pullman San Francisco Bay, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Bonjour!

The entire Sofitel San Francisco Bay team would like to THANK YOU for your lovely message and great compliments.

It is really a great reward for all of us to see how deeply you enjoyed staying with us . We are delighted that you enjoyed our luxury service with French flair.

Thank you again for choosing us and for taking time to share your experience. We hope we'll have an opportunity to welcome you back very soon to Sofitel San Francisco Bay.


Sincerely,

John Hutar
General Manager
Sofitel San Francisco Bay, California
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Redwood City
0.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Carlos
3.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Express
#3 of 17 in Redwood City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
0.7 mi away
TownePlace Suites Redwood City Redwood Shores
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Best Western Inn
Best Western Inn
#5 of 17 in Redwood City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
3.2 mi away
Pacific Euro Hotel
Pacific Euro Hotel
#6 of 17 in Redwood City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn San Mateo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pullman San Francisco Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pullman San Francisco Bay

Property: Pullman San Francisco Bay
Address: 223 Twin Dolphin Dr, Redwood City, CA 94065-1414 (Formerly Sofitel San Francisco Bay)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Redwood City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Redwood City
#1 Business Hotel in Redwood City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pullman San Francisco Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 421
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Pullman San Francisco Bay, an exclusive 'corporate resort' reputed for its refinement, considerate service and attention to detail. Whether you are visiting for pleasure or in town for business, you will savor this truly unique experience, a total immersion in comfort! Enjoy the superbly appointed accommodations in tranquil surroundings fanned by gentle breezes... Ideally situated between San Francisco and San José, this luxurious establishment is only minutes from the airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, ACCOR, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Pullman San Francisco Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel San Francisco Bay Hotel Redwood City
Sofitel Hotel Redwood City
Sofitel Redwood City
Redwood City Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing