We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great Hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pullman San Francisco Bay

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pullman San Francisco Bay
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Redwood City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
70 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2012

Stayed one night at the end of a great trip to Yosemite. The staff was extremely welcoming, parking was easy and close to airport. Room was really fantastic. We had a waterview room that was just great. Bed was extremely comfortable. Everything was really very nice. In Yosemite we'd eaten pretty much only food we'd brought in in a cooler. We had a fantastic dinner here. Definitely not your usual hotel restaurant. Food was fantastic, menu very different from a usual hotel restaurant menu, and extremely professional waiters. We enjoyed walking along the water and relaxing poolside in some great outdoor loungers stargazing and enjoying a cigar (me anyway). This place is probably very busy during the week. It is in a very large corporate complex, but on the weekends it is pretty quiet. Only ten minutes to the airport and car rental returns. If you have to get out of town the next day, this is a great way to end your trip!

Room Tip: Get a water view room. as high up as you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TomK959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,293 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    503
    469
    193
    87
    41
See reviews for
244
286
111
557
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Monza, Italy
Level Contributor
225 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2012

Excellent hotel, located near the 101 in Redwood City, 20min drive south of San Francisco Airport.

The bar area is awesome and even the gym area seems very well organised with five or six treadmill units. I have not used the pool outside as the weather was on the fresh side.

The room is large and spacious with a desk, sofa, flat tv and a good coffee machine with capsules. Water is complimentary and you would get two new bottles everyday. Thank you!

The hotel is plenty of big and small rooms which we have used extensively during the conference and we nicely fit 130 people with great comfort.

On the negative side, space to organize clothes is not really enough, there are few hangers but no shelves and no big convenient drawers. There is no safe either.

The blanket/duvet was extremely hot and I used to get up fully sweat in the morning.

Fitted carpet on the floor was properly clean but gave a feeling of old due to its worn out colour. Same for the toilet, the wooden on the lower side of the door and near the basin was worn out due to water spills and few tiles on the floor had some damages from dropping objects.

For a four star hotel and even more for a Sofitel brand, these negative aspects are really too much and would be justified more in a three star hotel.

The rest is top class and I would recommend this hotel anyway!

Room Tip: I was on 4th floor and - even though just next to the elevators - the room was really quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AGall0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
72 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2012

I've stayed at this hotel several times now, and have always been delighted by the "here you go" service. It's like they don't know the word "no". Very reasonable pricing as well.
They're always fair, and follow up with you in case there were any issues.
Highly recommended. Location is far from San Fran, but that's not a big deal.
They also provide hourly service to San Fran airport.

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the water have the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Charles D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2012

I chose to stay at the Sofitel after finding a good rate on Expedia and hearing good things about the brand.

The hotel is conveniently located off of the freeway, which is great if you're looking to head into San Francisco. It's in a business park which isn't the most beautiful scenery, but does have a lagoon.

The hotel itself is very nice. The lobby and bar area are classy-looking, and the giftshop/bakery downstairs is adorable.

When we opened the door to our room, it was like being hit in the face with a hot, wet washcloth. There was a bad, musty odor and it was incredibly humid. We turned the A/C up as much as possible which helped, but the condensation on the windows was so bad that our windows were literally dripping with water onto the windowsill.

Housekeeping came to bring new towels, but we did not receive any additional toiletries once we ran out. The bed was very comfortable, but the smell and the humidity in the air was pretty unbearable. We were not in the room except at night to sleep. I don't know if this is an issue in all of the rooms, but if I wanted humidity I'd go to Florida.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank K8Bee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
87 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2012

This is obviously a business hotel, but the staff are the best in San Francisco. While the decor is a bit dated, the beds are wonderful. The downstairs staff could not be more accommodating with regards to rides to the airport and train. The cab fares to the city ($100) are a killer, but the shuttle mitigates the pain. And the value of the room was exceptional.

Room Tip: If you have a breakfast voucher, use the Market instead of the restaurant. ..better selection and va...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Exline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2012

I stayed here for three nightscthis week while I was attending a work session in the hotel's conference area.

This has been the most comfortable I have felt on a business trip in years. Food was great, wireless Internet was fast (free option slower), gym in good shape, shuttle was convenient and bar was fun.

Another thing I notice was the rooms are well insulation from the adjacent rooms. Walking in the hall I could heard the kids in the room next door, but once in my room I was surprise to not hear them.

This location was good because it was close to the airport, but would be disappointing if you were expecting to be very close to the actual city of SF.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EricSD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Redwood City
3.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Express
#2 of 17 in Redwood City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
0.8 mi away
TownePlace Suites Redwood City Redwood Shores
0.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Carlos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Pacific Euro Hotel
Pacific Euro Hotel
#4 of 17 in Redwood City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
3.2 mi away
San Mateo Marriott San Francisco Airport
0.8 mi away
HYATT house Belmont/Redwood Shores
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pullman San Francisco Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pullman San Francisco Bay

Property: Pullman San Francisco Bay
Address: 223 Twin Dolphin Dr, Redwood City, CA 94065-1414 (Formerly Sofitel San Francisco Bay)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Redwood City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Redwood City
#1 Green Hotel in Redwood City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pullman San Francisco Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 421
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Pullman San Francisco Bay, an exclusive 'corporate resort' reputed for its refinement, considerate service and attention to detail. Whether you are visiting for pleasure or in town for business, you will savor this truly unique experience, a total immersion in comfort! Enjoy the superbly appointed accommodations in tranquil surroundings fanned by gentle breezes... Ideally situated between San Francisco and San José, this luxurious establishment is only minutes from the airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, ACCOR, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Pullman San Francisco Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel San Francisco Bay Hotel Redwood City
Sofitel Hotel Redwood City
Sofitel Redwood City
Redwood City Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing