We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wont Recommend this hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Pullman San Francisco Bay
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Redwood City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wont Recommend this hotel”
Reviewed December 13, 2007

Stayed 3 nights on business trip to redwood city office.
During checkin on sunday night , chineese looking lady was unfriendly and rude.Absolutely zero customer service.(The front desk staff around
check-in time on the weekends
are a complete set
of idiotic morons.)
Even though i was staying for the first time , she said this time also we got you this room.

I told her i am staying here for the first time and need directions to room (Huge turnoff ).

Room was very small .Bathroom was not cleaned , so requsted the front desk to get cleaned the next day.

Turned on the small 1960 type TV , i was seeing 2 images .So again requsted for it to be repaired. Surprise the next day , i could find 30+ channels than earlier 9.

Its ok if you staying on Business trip , do not ever stay for vacation.

There are many chain hotels in that area .The sofitel sfo hotel service is not as advertized in their website.Will look for another hotel during next trip .

  • Liked — None
  • Disliked — Front Desk Service
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank travelzunky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,406 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    542
    503
    215
    101
    45
See reviews for
267
309
117
609
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Miami,
2 reviews
Reviewed November 30, 2007

This hotel was really lovely, but not anywhere near the SF airport as advertised. It was a pricey cab ride to get there. We booked this hotel for one night on the way back from China before our flight the next day to the East Coast. There wasn't much nearby ifor anyone without a car. The room was very nice as was the staff. Hotel seemed very trendy and it looked like it belonged on S. Beach in Miami.

Stayed April 2007
Helpful?
Thank Berkmia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2007

I stayed there for 4-night stay during a membership based nonprofit organization's conference held Oct. 19- 22, 2007 and decided to book a deluxe king room at a very reasonable conference rate to take advantage of some much needed quiet R& R time. I wanted a little bit of luxury, but not a suite.

The downstairs facilities, restaurant and bar, as well as the property
are very nice and everything that I would expect of a Sofitel (I was in the hotel and tourism industry for a while.) However, I expected a bit more from my deluxe room at the higher rate.

My bed was one of the most comfortable beds I've slept on, and the art in the room was delightful. Decoration was sparse, and very 1980's
-- in much need of an update. Most of the furniture was scratched up and should have been replaced. Tufts of stuffing were leaking from my couch and the pillow placement couldn't hide it. Maid service was uneven, my shower was not cleaned every day, my room wasn't cleaned and my bed made up until shortly before my requested turn-down service
arrived (also uneven - she skipped one night.) There was some weird electrical layout in the room - to turn on/off the bedside wall sconce, you actually had to walk over to the entry light (The entry light had to remain in the on position in order to use the wall sconce at all! ) Room service was shaky (as was the food.) The smoke alarm in the room was an open electrical chassy that had a strobe flash --- very annoying when you're trying to get to sleep. Although I had requested a non-smoking room, there was a sign on my floor that seemed to actually designate it as a smoking floor. Grrr.

On a more positive note, the Bay223 restaurant, as long as you dined in-house (and not use the room service) was very nice. I love French Roast Coffee and theirs is heavenly (as it is at every Sofitel). All the meals that I had in the restaurant (every night, including one very expensive night out with some friends from the conference where we had a lovely bottle of wine) were very good, and pastries are wonderful all around.

I missed having a coffee maker, mini-bar or even a fridge in my room, especially since this is a business class hotel.

Based on my experience, I would NOT stay there again, and would suggest that conference planners look elsewhere in the area for a better conference facility. Attendees were trapped on the property if they did not have a car, and meal prices during conference hours were very expensive based on the quality that we received.

  • Liked — Coffee and chocolate croissants, very friendly and accomodating concierge and staff
  • Disliked — Overall shabbiness of the rooms and lackluster maid service is not worth the normal price of a deluxe room.
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank wanderinkay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2007

Maybe I'm just a midwest farm boy, but I just don't get it.

The hotel definitely is going for the European vibe. At night, the bar scene has this techno beat groove thing going. Turn on TV Channel 1 and see scantily clad women in silhouette dancing against a psychedelic background and music playing. The dancing and music are not in sync.

Was there for a conference. Nice facilities, great service. Room's rack rate is way overpriced.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Internet access is not included. It is an additional fee.
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelerLost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2007

Location? Redwood City California, some twenty miles south of San Francisco International Airport. There is literally nothing there except, of course, the EA and Oracle. There is a shuttle from SFO to the hotel, but it runs once an hour, period. If you have landed a minute after the shuttle left, well, bad luck. They will bring you to the airport as well, but bear in mind the once an hour thing.

The hotel is a classic sort of an upscale-aiming establishment without any heart or soul to it. The staff do their job, but really would not go that extra mile or an extra yard.

My room was quite all right, not quite big but all right. There was no room safe and no mini bar, which is a joke for a four-star property. The TV was very old and small. Liked the bathroom.

Parking in the garage next door was free, but why not, it's really in the middle of nowhere; could park at the street just as well. Important: There is a general aviation airstrip right behind the airport, so do not expect to get any sleep after 8 AM.

Overall, OK, but definitely not family-friendly, romantic or in any aspect interesting.

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank SanDiegan78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2007

I have stayed at this hotel many times for business meetings. I've enjoyed the wonderful beds and bedding, the spacious rooms, squeaky-clean bathrooms, and efficient service, all with few glitches. I've watched it change over the years from an out-of-the way hotel to a swanky, shiny hangout spot. But as an American who admires French culture, by far my favorite thing about this hotel has been its french way with food...the fresh-baked ficelles (mini-baguettes) in the morning, really excellent french-style coffee, etc. I'm very sad to report that these perks have now been infected by the ubiquitous american food disease. Coffee is now so watered down that it now falls into the 'pis' category that the French so rightly mock, and they no longer serve french bread of any kind in the morning. These are small complaints, especially since there are still good croissants to be had, but the corporate dinner we had here was appalling. On our own, lunch and dinner at this restaurant have been excellent, so I'm not sure why a dinner for 15 was such a problem. The food was very badly prepared, and the appetizer recommended by the waiter made several of us sick with food poisoning. Even worse than the nausea, I am ashamed to have been the one who recommended to our company brass that we host dinner at this hotel. Tant pis.

  • Liked — Spacious room
  • Disliked — Food, loud techno music in lobby
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank gffkr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2007

I stayed with my family and I was surprised by the poor quality of the hotel. The swimming pool was really dirty and water was cold. This is not a family place at all. The pillows are really uncomfortable and staff is not at all friendly. Very loud.
Also, the shower has a built in cap so the presure remains really low, you can barely shower.
I stayed at Sofitel in DC which was much better than this one. I would never stay here again.

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank arr14803
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Redwood City
3.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Express
#3 of 17 in Redwood City
201 reviews
0.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Carlos
3.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn San Mateo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Redwood Creek Inn
Redwood Creek Inn
#8 of 17 in Redwood City
23 reviews
0.8 mi away
HYATT house Belmont/Redwood Shores
3.2 mi away
Pacific Euro Hotel
Pacific Euro Hotel
#6 of 17 in Redwood City
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pullman San Francisco Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pullman San Francisco Bay

Property: Pullman San Francisco Bay
Address: 223 Twin Dolphin Dr, Redwood City, CA 94065-1414 (Formerly Sofitel San Francisco Bay)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Redwood City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Redwood City
#1 Green Hotel in Redwood City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pullman San Francisco Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 421
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Pullman San Francisco Bay, an exclusive 'corporate resort' reputed for its refinement, considerate service and attention to detail. Whether you are visiting for pleasure or in town for business, you will savor this truly unique experience, a total immersion in comfort! Enjoy the superbly appointed accommodations in tranquil surroundings fanned by gentle breezes... Ideally situated between San Francisco and San José, this luxurious establishment is only minutes from the airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, ACCOR, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pullman San Francisco Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel San Francisco Bay Hotel Redwood City
Sofitel Hotel Redwood City
Sofitel Redwood City
Redwood City Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing