We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best, Authentic Italian on the Peninsula!”
Review of Donato Enoteca

Donato Enoteca
Reserve with OpenTable
Donato Enoteca is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4 of 284 Restaurants in Redwood City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $28
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Families with children, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Middlefield and Main
Description: Set in the heart of downtown Redwood City, Donato Enoteca offers true and honest contemporary Italian cuisine from Executive Chef Donato Scotti that changes weekly determined by the freshest available seasonal produce. Homemade pastas, wood-burning oven pizzas, meat and fish courses are available, executed in an authentic yet modern way. The menu spans every region of Italy and incorporates artisanal products, such as fresh imported burrata, prosciutto, grappa and olive oil. Other in-house specialties include sausages, mostarda and lamb prosciutto. The wine list focuses on smaller-production boutique wineries from Italy, California and France.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
168 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Best, Authentic Italian on the Peninsula!”
Reviewed November 1, 2012

All of the pastas are made in-house, so you can really taste the freshness with every bite. The pizzas are a favorite, along with the fresh seafood, such as salt cod and seabass. This place is a must if you live in the area or are visiting!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelGoddess86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    44
    12
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
154 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“WOW”
Reviewed September 23, 2012

We had such great food that was beautifully prepared and presented. We started off with a cocktail we had just had in Italy called a Venice Spritzer. I had the wild boar bruschetta. It was so tender and delicious, I could really have just had that for dinner. Then I had the NY steak with delicious tender grilled asparagus, tomatoes, onions and polenta. My partner had the risotto with pork belly. That was so good that I would definitely order it necxt time. Perfectly tender risotto and melt in your mouth pork belly. Dessert was chocolate lava cake and ice cream. All this topped off with GREAT service. What a decadent evening. We will definitely be back. By the way, you wont believe how reasonably priced this place is.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank vegaslamb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain View,California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed September 5, 2012

I have been a client at Donato's for the last couple of years. I like the quality food they serve. I personally like fish a lot, I always end up having a calamarette & fagioli, a prawns salad and the whole branzino if dinner time.
Their pizza is so tasty (the crust is very thin and smokey)
Once we tried their risotto, it was perhaps the best I ever had!
The servers are quiet knowledgeable and nice. They never rush you out!
Great wine list,

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hichem E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
221 reviews
136 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Excellent Italian food in Redwood City”
Reviewed July 23, 2012

We ate dinner at Donato Enoteca on a rare warm Friday evening. It was a lovely experience in every way. The food was delicious, the service excellent, and the ambiance lovely. Since there were 4 of us, we were able to sample several small plates to start. We shared the bruschetta di cinghiale (braised wild boar), calamari with beans, and mozzarella/tomato dish, which were all excellent. Our mains were the 3 meat agnolotti, oxtail pasta (my favorite of the evening), and a lovely sea bass. We didn't have room for dessert, but had it anyway, and shared a melon-based frozen custard dish that's not on the online menu, so I can't look it up. It was a perfect ending to a great meal, and we will be back to work our way through the very interesting menu as it is so convenient to the movie theaters and the lively downtown.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AnitaMW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Donato's a must”
Reviewed June 28, 2012

By far becoming one of my favorite restaurants. Fresh, creative, yummy, and so delicious. Eating and drinking wine at Donato Enoteca is a satisfying adventure.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vict0ria71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Donato Enoteca also viewed

Redwood City, CA
Redwood City, CA
 
Redwood City, CA
Redwood City, CA
 

Been to Donato Enoteca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing