We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historic SoHum”
Review of Mateel Cafe - CLOSED

Mateel Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout
Description: We are proud to welcome you. At the Mateel Cafe we are determined to keep high standards of quality using only fresh ingredients many of which are organic. We hope you enjoy our food and visit our restaurant again and again. A Bistro with Fresh Scrumptious Cuisine Gourmet Dinners & Chef's Nightly Specials Speciality salads with organic greens Stone Baked Pizza with a choice of whole wheat crust Warm Sandwiches made from top quality ingredients Local Wines and Local Draft Beers
Arcata, California
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Historic SoHum”
Reviewed May 14, 2012

When I want fish I go to the Mateel Café in Redway because no one in Humboldt does fish better than Pierre. You’ll find other delights as well all orchestrated by owner Carla: fine steaks, salads that make a meal, pizzas, even a pork chop or two. There is a good selection of beers and wines (including my favorite pinot grigio). Dinners come with soup or salad, specials daily, dependable service, a chance to admire some iconic paintings by the late Frank Cieriorka. Open for lunch and dinner Monday through Friday, the Mateel Café is an historic SoHum gathering place that offers a visitor the opportunity to enjoy a good meal while observing the locals at play.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Doug I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    12
    2
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
B..C.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“great food, great place”
Reviewed April 25, 2012

After a long day on the road, we pulled our motorhomes into Benbow Valley Golf and RV Resort
amd went online looking for a well-reviewed restaurant. Mateel Cafe was our choice and it certainly did not disappoint. The pizzas were absolutely delicious, the best of our trip by a long shot. Service was great as well. The owner was our server and she clearly loves her restaurant and her job.

Some reviewers have been less than complimentary about they time taken getting the food to the table and the prices. Our opinion, great pizza takes time and the prices reflect the location.
If in the area again, we will definitely be back.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank WinChloe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garberville
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best place in town, real food cooked to order! Low key, high class”
Reviewed April 12, 2012

Cant do much better than this locally, and perfectly located for dinner and a show. Book early on concert nights, but lunch is usually easy to get in without a reservation. Reasonable prices and the best food in town. Professional quality staff and facility, though small and low key rustic, it is one of the few local places that is not a scary dive, though from the outside it looks like a hole in the wall dive bar, inside is clean and welcoming and the food is excellent.

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
Thank RegretfulDiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Friendly service and good food.”
Reviewed March 30, 2012

The Pizza's are fantastic and everything else is great too. The owner puts a ton of care and love into the place. Employees are treated well and the food reflects that. It's worth the price.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Isle1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redway, California, United States
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“best lunch in southern humboldt period.”
Reviewed March 5, 2012

had the ground steak burger was excellent. service was fast and friendly.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jason G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mateel Cafe also viewed

Redway, Humboldt County
 
Redway, Humboldt County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing