We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place! Cute cabins!”
Review of Dean Creek Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Dean Creek Resort
Reviewed July 27, 2009

This was our first camping trip with our young children. We researched heavily to find a nice cabin and place to spend the weekend. Some of the past reviews made this a hard decision. But I am so glad we decided to stay here.
The owners and staff here were very friendly and helpful. Our cabin was small but cute. It had a kitchenette with everything you would need. The bed and fold down couch were very comfy. The shower was smaller, but worked fine. In the back there was a picnic table, bbq, and fire ring. There was even enough room to put up a small tent for my kids to play in.
The location was great, close to a small town with a large grocery store. We did look in a hotel room and it was nice and spacious. The pool was heated and nice. We did not use any of the other activities, but did see several kids enjoying them. The walk to Eel river is quick to a nice swimming hole. Also they enforce the quiet hours, so you know you will get a good night sleep!
We really enjoyed our stay here. If you are looking for a camping experience, but want the luxury of a motel or cabin, this is a great option. If you are looking for something fancy keep driving down to Benbow Inn, but you will pay double. Dean Creek Resort worked out perfect for our family. We will be back!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BsyTrvlnFmly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (61)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 61 reviews

Reviewed July 25, 2009

Our Family aged from 9 years to 72 years old had our annual family reunion at the lovely Dean Creek Resort. Our group of 14, included teenagers and seniors, with varying interests on how to spend the day! The resort offered something for all of us and had very nice amenities, the pool and hot tub were very refreshing after a day of sight seeing in the Avenue Of The Giants State Park. We had 5 ground level motel rooms and each had some sort of kitchenette. In the eves there is a grassy area at the end of the motel rooms parking lot, where we had some yummy BBQs. There is access to the Eel River down a short path where we launched our small blown up rafts and drifted down river to a nice swimming hole, including 72 year old Grama Connie!! There are many newer cabins and clean tent sites with ample shade we observed on our AM/PM walks through the property. We played volleyball and pingpong. There is a arcade for the teenagers and Wifi also kept them connected to friends back in San Francisco. The town of Redway a 5 min drive away has a fantastic coffee house- Spirit Coffes and they roast fresh the coffees each morning, across the street The Great American Hamburger Co. has the best burgers we ate for lunch on the way home. Mostly on our trip we were immersed in some of the best scenery, and redwood ecosystem's the world has to offer. The best thing about Dean Creek Resort is the hospitality given to us from the Hosts Dennis and Linda Kalista and Jerry and Malina. They are full of information on the area and things to do. We have had an annual 3 day family reunion for the past 6 years in different places, but it is unanimous among all of us we will make this our destination every year. We ended our reunion " "this is the place"

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SanFranciscoMaggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2008

We just returned from three nights at the Dean Creek Resort. We stayed in the campground in our small trailer and enjoyed it very much. They had a live band on Saturday night and tons of things for kids to do. Other campgrounds we have stayed at allow guests to drive mini bikes and play loud music but the management here makes sure everyone has the right to peace and quiet. We did have some problems with the smell of marijuana floating into our campsite but otherwise it was great. We didnt get into the pool - too full of kids, the river was very low since its summer, but our three dogs loved it, too. Very shady, nice campground with full hookups.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank CampersRUs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2008

We stayed in the motel in June 2008 for 1 night while travelling through n. CA. This is an RV park with motel. We found the room to be clean and served our purposes. It was bigger than a typical motel room with 2 lounge chairs and small table. It also had a refrigerator. There was a bench and table in front of the room also.

We used the swimming pool. It was fine - it is all 4 ft. - too deep for my younger child to stand in. There was a large hot tub, not too hot, there, but they strictly did not allow anyone under 14 in it. The office had a straight view out to the hot tub, and an employee ran out to admonish my kids when they tried out the hot tub. My biggest complaint about the place was the rather silly hot tob rule. We could not find any way to turn on hot tub jets.

They also had a mini golf course. We did not use it.

We walked down through the campground to the Eel River and had a lot of fun playing in the river - about 2 feet deep at its deepest. It had a rock beach. We saw an arcade room in the campground.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank mariess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2008

Resort? I think not. No food services, for one thing. My kids wouldn't go in the pool because it was too crowded and noisy and full of little kids, who my kids think pee in public pools. The spa is a smaller, warmer version of the pool, but no one under 14 is allowed (less pee?). Neither one opens before noon. Room was nice enough for your average motel, and I liked our little patio (though it had no privacy at all). I would never camp here -- very crowded together. RV spots are often rented by the month or year, so there is an established community of trailer livers. The HIGHLIGHTS: A free hour in the private sauna, which shut off after 20 minutes and would n't come back on (yes, I set the timer to 60 minutes); very close to the Avenue of the Giants. Next time I would pay a little extra and stay in Miranda, Weott or Myers Flat.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Frankiezyx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2007

This place may be OK for RVs, but the motel was really bad. Apparently the owner has installed some relatives in some of the motel units, and we happened to end up next door to a bachelor apartment, with a bunch of guys enjoying Monday night football. The walls were paper thin, and we could clearly hear conversations, TV, snoring, the whole bit from the afternoon right until the next morning. Management also owns some little yappy dogs, which they walk in front of the motel units while talking loud baby talk to them. Room amenities are very sparse, towels of the cheapest kind, no phone, small screen TV. In short, we'll never go back. If you want a good night's sleep, stay away from this place!

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank george095
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2007

We camp at Dean Creek often during the summer months and love it. It is a great place to go for family fun in the sun! The campground, as well as the pool and hot tub, are kept clean and well maintained. Management is friendly and try very hard to ensure guests enjoy their visit. We have met friends there that we camp with regularly now.

Stayed: July 2007
2  Thank Sasha31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Redway
5.2 mi away
Benbow Historic Inn
Benbow Historic Inn
#1 of 5 in Garberville
714 reviews
2.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Humboldt House Inn
3.3 mi away
Humboldt Redwoods Inn
Humboldt Redwoods Inn
#1 of 1 in Garberville
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.1 mi away
The Shelter Cove Oceanfront Inn
Show Prices

Been to Dean Creek Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dean Creek Resort

Address: 4112 Redwood Drive, Redway, CA 95560
Location: United States > California > Humboldt County > Redway
Amenities:
Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Redway
Price Range: $83 - $136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Dean Creek Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Dean Creek Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dean Creek Hotel Redway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing