We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Redondo Beach
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,375)
Filter reviews
2,376 results
Traveler rating
1,215
597
290
139
135
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,215
597
290
139
135
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sea lions baleen restaurant ocean view front desk sea wall nautical theme free bikes first floor beautiful hotel valet parking santa monica nice location los angeles cheesecake factory marina gene balcony
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 2,376 reviews
Reviewed January 21, 2020

Stayed 4 nights as I was attending a conference within walking distance. Can not say enough about how super duper soft the bed was and their sheets. OMG...heaven central in that bed! I was quite tickled opening my balcony, water facing room to hear seals and sea gulls...Ate a couple times in the Baleen restaurant: food excellent, service great, fun to sit looking at the boats. Walking distance to many restaurants, the pier and all of the South Bay zone of Redondo Beach. I'd recommend without hesitation.

Date of stay: January 2020
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Terry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darin_POR, Manager at The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Terry S,
What a fantastic review! Thank you for sharing your kind words about The Portofino Hotel and its surrounding areas with the TripAdvisor community. We are thrilled you had such a wonderful experience in every aspect of your stay. Please let us know if your travels bring you back to Redondo Beach, we would be delighted to host you again!

Safe Travels,
Darin Matsuda
Hotel Manager
porres@hotelportofino.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2020

I'll start by saying the service here was wonderful. The staff was very kind, efficient, and accommodating. The rooms were clean and comfortable. Just sharing some information that would have been helpful to me if I read it before my stay. We booked an "Oceanside" room which was a little deceiving because this meant first floor with essentially a view of the splash wall RIGHT in front of your balcony. There is also surf break wall a little further out that creates a little water inlet and essentially blocks a sprawling view of the ocean. It feels a little "trapped". We asked for a higher floor room which was considered an "upgrade" because from there you can actually see the entire ocean. We moved to the third floor and the view from there was nice. For me it was worth the upgrade. Redondo Beach itself is very close to a power plant which is a little off-putting if you're not aware. The pier area is very small and some of it is under construction. It feels a bit industrial. Hermosa and Manhattan are very close and I would recommend the beaches there. The Portofino has a very interesting history - look up Mary Davis. It looks like they are also undergoing some renovations. I would say this is a 3 start hotel, not 4. We enjoyed the stay, but it fell short of our expectations.

Date of stay: January 2020
Thank 531nataliep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darin_POR, Manager at The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear 531nataliep,
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for taking the time to provide your insights. We are disappointed we did not meet you expectations. The hotel is in an exciting period of rejuvenating, updating and activation. We hope you will give us another opportunity to earn your future business. We would be delighted to show you all the updates while celebrating our history in racing and the Cannonball Run!

Safe Travels,
Darin Matsuda
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2020

Nice place to stay. Usual up charges for parking and facility charge. Baleen restaurant good -but live music in bar next door so loud we couldn’t hear each other across table. Lots of other good places to eat close by as well. Overall nice place. Lobby was currently under renovation .

Date of stay: January 2020
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank rightanglebuilders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darin_POR, Manager at The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear rightanglebuilders,
Thank you for making The Portofino Hotel and Marina your home away from home with your family. We are delighted despite the lobby refresh, you and your family still enjoyed themselves. We appreciate your feedback regarding the music and we will monitor the volume of our live music to make sure it accentuates the dining experience rather than dominate it. Please come back and visit us again soon!

Safe Travels,
Darin Matsuda
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2020

Wedding stay disappointment, During extensive renovation works that neither I or my son and his wife were informed of, some very unprofessional staff who couldn’t care less about your concerns or even offer any meaningful compensation for the severe inconvenience that all the guests who stayed at the hotel endured. We would have expected more from this hotel and the only one main positive was the location. Wouldn’t recommend.

Date of stay: January 2020
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank robertdonlon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darin_POR, Manager at The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear robertdonlon,
We are deeply saddened the work impacted you and your family's special occasion. The hotel did it's best to limit the impact and noise throughout the weekend. We know may people traveled from overseas to be here and we hope they were not impacted as the event was far away from the lobby and we tried to place guest furthest away from that area. I know our catering leaders have been speaking to the bride and groom. The event, the bride and the day was beautiful. We hope they left with a positive impression. We look forward to seeing them again in the future to show them how much we've changed.

Cheers,
Darin Matsuda
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2020

Portofino website not up to date with room filter. I booked room with advertised "jetted tub jacuzzi option, only to find out room didn't have the jacuzzi or jetted tub at checkin. "They were being renovated." No option to cancel at that point. Very frustrating.

Date of stay: January 2020
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Oneroyalty01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darin_POR, Manager at The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Oneroyalty01,
Thank you for giving us the opportunity to host you in Redondo Beach. We apologize the jetted tub was not available. Unfortunately, there were last minute delays to get the completed. We hope you enjoyed the upgraded Ocean View Premier room that offered more space and higher floor. We should be done refreshing our jetted tub rooms shortly. We hope to be able to welcome you back and let you see and feel the change.

Regards,
Darin Matsuda
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews