We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely spot, nice service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in Redondo Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Hartford, Connecticut
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely spot, nice service”
Reviewed July 3, 2014

My granddaughter and I spent seven nights on a special vacation get-away. Front desk and valet staff were friendly and responsive -- a few problems with the air conditioning and WiFi were corrected quickly (note they charge $12/day for WiFi--I've never been charged before!) we had the ocean-view which was the Best!! Gulls and sea lions lulled us to sleep. Room was clean and nice, although perhaps on the smaller side. Bath nicely updated. Room service good and quite prompt. Area has many dining choices and activities available -- on our last full day we had a wonderful Stand Up Paddleboard lesson!

Room Tip: We loved the ocean-view room.....nice sunsets!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DiverJoy912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathan N, Director of Front Office at The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
I am thrilled you chose us for your seven day get-away, and while I am disappointed you had challenges in your room, I am pleased to hear that our Front Desk was able to resolve your problems promptly. I look forward to complimenting our Front Office team, as well as room service who it sounds like also did a tremendous job.

I am pleased you enjoyed your stay, and hope that next time you want to go Stand-Up Paddle Boarding, you will let us know!

Warmest wishes,

Nathan N.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,603 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    841
    426
    177
    89
    70
See reviews for
377
577
70
322
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (568)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 1, 2014 via mobile

We spent a few nights there in the premier deluxe on the third floor. With the sounds of the birds and sea lions and other ocean sounds it was an amazing getaway. Although expensive it's the only way to appreciate this awesome location.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathan N, Director of Front Office at The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
From the gentle ocean lapping to the natural sounds of the local wildlife, our oceanfront paradise provides a soothing symphony from the comfort of your balcony or patio. I am glad to hear you stay was great!

Warmest wishes,

Nathan N.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atascadero, California
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2014

We stayed here for just one night for our 30th anniversary, but the service was excellent, the view was lovely, and we loved the roomy shower and comfy bed. Ginger at the front desk treated us like royalty, and brunch at the Baleen Kitchen -- with the fun Bloody Mary bar -- was delicious. I would recommend an upper floor if you like to enjoy the view - the sea wall isn't too obstructive, but it would offer a little more privacy if you like to keep your curtains open as we do.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mfrunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathan N, Director of Front Office at The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Happy anniversary! How fortunate we were to have hosted you on such a special occasion! Nothing could make us happier than to hear that the service you encountered during your stay was excellent. I look forward to congratulating Ginger personally on a job well done. Our creative executive chef outdid himself with the Bloody Mary Bar, and I am pleased you enjoyed it.

Baleen, Ginger, and I will all be waiting for your return!

Warmest wishes,

Nathan N.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2014

I stayed here for a week with my mom in December. We had a beautiful room with marina view and lovely balcony. The rooms were clean and beds were very comfy. The front office, especially Nathan, went above and beyond to assure that we enjoyed our stay.
Would definitely recommend this place to anyone looking for a relaxing getaway.
Very enjoyable stay!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank prodancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathan N, Director of Front Office at The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
What kind words! The first experience had in the front office can often set the tone for a stay, and I couldn’t be gladder yours was excellent. I will share this positive review with the rest of our front office team.

Thank you for recommending us, and come back to see us anytime!

Warmest wishes,

Nathan N.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herzliya, Israel
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2014

The location is great if you have a car, it is very relaxing and nice spot. You can always find everything in the area but you can also drive and get what you need as traffic is not so bad (at least for us), the hotel is very comfort and very clean. The service is ok and the value for money in total is excellent. It is my third time in 3 years and I will be back.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KNIGHT_WEI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathan N, Director of Front Office at The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We are fortunate enough to be right on the water, but still close to many local attractions. We are so pleased to see a return guest who enjoys our comfortable clean hotel.

We appreciate your feedback, and look forward to your next stay.

Warmest wishes,

Nathan N.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2014

We loved our visit to this hotel. The views are beautiful. The food was excellent. We were here in winter with friends. We met in the common area before going places and it was cozy and relaxing. Everything about the atmosphere of the hotel was perfect.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathan N, Director of Front Office at The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, June 28, 2014
I cannot wait for your return! It sounds like your stay was excellent all around, with a beautiful, excellent food, and a cozy relaxing lobby.

Come back and enjoy our hotel anytime.

Warmest wishes,

Nathan N.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2014

Lovely room with tropical forest on our balcony, overlooking a marina. Wonderful bed with crispy ironed sheets. Room very tastefully decorated. Lobby offered views of the boats heading out to the ocean from the channel, a fully stocked bar, comfy seating areas. Many walk to restaurant, bike rental etc. great place to rest and relax or be very active. Your call.

Room Tip: Spend a little more, get ocean view.
See more room tips
Green Features: Don't use disposables , glasswear instead for the bar and rooms.
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary Twinkle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathan N, Director of Front Office at The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, June 28, 2014
Many of our guests enjoy the beautiful views to be had on our Marina side. Our nautical rooms, and regal lobby offer relaxation and comfort at every turn. I am pleased you enjoyed our bike fleet, we will have a new fleet arriving very shortly!

Thank you for your review.

Warmest wishes,

Nathan N.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Redondo Beach
0.2 mi away
The Redondo Beach Hotel
The Redondo Beach Hotel
#1 of 19 in Redondo Beach
450 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Redondo Beach & Marina
0.2 mi away
Shade Hotel
Shade Hotel
#2 of 19 in Redondo Beach
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach
Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach
#1 of 7 in Hermosa Beach
857 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Hermosa
Hotel Hermosa
#3 of 7 in Hermosa Beach
145 reviews
2.9 mi away
Shade Hotel
Shade Hotel
#1 of 9 in Manhattan Beach
505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel

Property: The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel
Address: 260 Portofino Way, Redondo Beach, CA 90277-2033
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Redondo Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Redondo Beach
#1 Romantic Hotel in Redondo Beach
#1 Business Hotel in Redondo Beach
#3 Family Hotel in Redondo Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Portofino Hotel & Marina is located on a private peninsula, Redondo beach’s only waterfront hotel. A rich tapestry of panoramic views greets you, with the harbor, the Pacific Ocean and Catalina Island. The hotel lies just six miles south of Los Angeles International Airport, a short stroll to shops and restaurants of Redondo Beach. We offer our guests an authentic Socal lifestyle experience in a casual nautical-chic environment, allowing them to relax and let loose, embracing their “endless summer “endlessly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portofino Hotel And Yacht
Portofino Inn Redondo Beach
Portofino Redondo Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing