We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Residence Inn Los Angeles Redondo Beach(Redondo Beach)(Great Value!)
$151
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Crowne Plaza Redondo Beach & Marina(Redondo Beach)(Great Value!)
$162
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$120
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Plus Redondo Beach Inn(Redondo Beach)(Great Value!)
$146
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Redondo Beach Galleria Inn(Redondo Beach)(Great Value!)
$165
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Redondo Beach Hotel(Redondo Beach)(Great Value!)
$161
$147
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$162
$139
GardenInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Redondo Pier Inn(Redondo Beach)
$130
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$94
$89
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Seaside Motel(Redondo Beach)(Great Value!)
$94
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,793)
Filter reviews
1,793 results
Traveler rating
931
479
204
100
79
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
931
479
204
100
79
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssea lionsbaleen restaurantocean viewfront desksea wallnautical themepaddle boarderscomplimentary bikesfirst floorbeautiful hotelvalet staffself parkingsanta monicabike rentalslos angelesnice locationla area
Filter
Updating list...
1,221 - 1,226 of 1,793 reviews
Reviewed February 21, 2014

I stayed at the Portofino for two nights whilst on a business trip as my meetings were in the area. It is in a great location and has a really good reception / lounge area with the restaurant Baleen just ver the road from the Hotel where you can get your Breakfast / Dinner etc. Reception was very helpful and overall it would be a place for me to use again. However, I would add that this is not really a 4* property - it is certainly tired and could do with a re-fresh - the rooms were comfy and practical and the balcony was a great feature, just all a little old fashioned and well used.

Room Tip: Ask for sea view on 2nd or ideally 3rd floor
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnneliseHolyoak, Public Relations Manager at The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave your constructive feedback. We hope that you had a successful business trip and appreciate that you chose to stay with us when visiting Redondo Beach. Thank you for your kind comments about our location and hotel. We appreciate your feedback and remarks about our hotel’s feel. We will use your comments as we plan future updates to the property. We hope that on your next trip to Redondo Beach you are able to visit us again.

Best,

Annelise Holyoak
The Portofino Hotel & Marina
BALEENkitchen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is nice and you get a great view from the Oceanside balcony rooms. Seals are outside your balcony and the view is great. Staff was great and friendly. Rooms smell a little musty and could be from the close proximity to the ocean. They have all the amenities. The location is an easy walk to Redondo Pier with many fast fresh fish options, locals bars and nice restaurants. The self parking at the hotel is steep at $26. There were cars coming and going including restaurant patrons who parked next to hotel with no monitoring. Not sure why hotel guests would have to pay such higher fees for self park. Only complaint really. Baleen has good happy hours and food. Located on property. You can even sit outside on the lower level by the fire-pits. I had an issue in my room and guest services fixed it.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
1  Thank TikiTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnneliseHolyoak, Public Relations Manager at The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2014

Thank you for your kind comments and comprehensive review! We appreciate you taking the time to leave your feedback. We are thrilled you enjoyed the area attractions and our proximity to the ocean and pier! It sounds like you were really able to explore! We understand your concerns about parking cost but please note, the parking charge is standard for the area and we don’t charge an extra fee for valet. A significant portion of the parking cost is paid to the city of Redondo Beach due to our proximity to the ocean and area attractions. We appreciate your comments however and will use them when planning future pricing structure changes.

Thank you for your remarks, we hope to see you again soon!

Best,
Annelise Holyoak
The Portofino Hotel & Marina
BALEENkitchen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2014

We stayed there for a couple nights and we got a great rate so we couldn't feel too worked up about the quality of things. The elevator was out of service so we we given the choice of a second floor or third floor room, unfortunately all far away from the stairwell. The room was fine although we had to request a cot to be brought in as we weren't given a room with two beds as we had originally reserved. Parking was a bit of a problem at night and the parking area was very dark. The shower amenities were nice however the shower itself took a long time to drain. Overall the hotel was quiet and clean.

Room Tip: We were given a room on the parking lot side of things however I'm sure a room on the ocean side would have been much more scenic and tranquil.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marissa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnneliseHolyoak, Public Relations Manager at The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2014

Marissa,

Thank you for taking the time to leave such ample feedback. We appreciate you taking the time to review your family’s spring break trip. We hope that you had a wonderful time exploring Redondo Beach and Hermosa Beach. Hopefully your family was able to utilize our complimentary beach bike rental. We understand that you found the parking lot view to be distracting from the marina. . If you visit with us again, we would suggest an Oceanside room. Oceanside rooms really do offer optimal views!!

Thank you for staying with us. We hope to serve you again soon and will use your feedback to improve our hotel and service.

Best,
Annelise Holyoak
The Portofino Hotel & Marina
BALEENkitchen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2014

Pros:
Nice looking place
Fun location - we had an ocean view room and that made for a very cruise ship like feel (view wise and spirit wise, not size wise as the rooms are very spacious unlike a chip)
Easy to get in and out of, even with the optional valet
Complimentary bike rentals for cruising "the strand" if you're up for it
Wildlife & nature sounds - should you like that stuff

Cons:
A tad bit pricier than it feels like it should be
Loooooong corridors with only one elevator (that we knew of anyway)
not the greatest food, especially for the price
very funky TV interface
Wildlife & nature sounds - should you not like that stuff

This is another 3.5 in my opinion, but alas, no halvsies on TA. It's a beautiful property right on the water/marina in Redondo beach. Quick note, our 2nd floor ocean view room was not quite "ocean view" as much as it was water view - we couldn't really see over the breakwall that well, but we did see the channel which was a nice view. I'd imagine the folks up on floor 3 had a better view of the ocean than we did. It made for a very romantic atmosphere to say the least.

The room itself was nice. Pleasant decor, quaint/intimate space, cozy - and not small by any means, just cozy. The bed was very comfortable, although the pillows were a little too soft. Like you had to double up on pillows soft, not a big deal though. There were a couple of odd things worth mentioning though. By no means are these deal breakers, even when combined, just worth mentioning. 1 - there are these motion detector light switches that got annoying in the middle of the night. 2 - there is no fan in the bathroom, so when you shower, the whole room becomes a sauna. 3 - the TV interface is pretty weak. Overly complicated to navigate and overpriced for the features you'd actually want to use. For ex, two hours of music costs almost 15 bucks. That's crazy. There is a docking station in the room, so just connect your mobile to it and you'll be okay.

There are sea lions and waterfowl in the channel that will make a lot of noise. It didn't bother us at all, and there are complimentary ear plugs in the room for you should you find the barking and cawing a bit much. I think it kind of added a nice seaside charm. Along with the great customer service you'll experience curbside, at check in, room service, on the phones, all over the place, it's definitely a place worth visiting.

Room Tip: If you want a true ocean view, try to get a room on the top (third) floor. You can see it from the 2nd, but just barely.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Another2Cents
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnneliseHolyoak, Public Relations Manager at The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a comprehensive review. We appreciate your kind comments about our hotel, location and wildlife. We do our best to make sure that the wildlife is preserved and not disturbed. We are very happy you found the earplugs in your room!

Thank you for your nice feedback about the rooms and coziness. We apologize that you found the pillows to be too soft. We understand your concerns about the bathroom lighting system. The Portofino Hotel & Marina has initiated an effort to improve its environmental performance in all aspects of its operations.

• Our guestrooms predominantly use fluorescent bulbs rated at 13W versus a standard 40-60W incandescent. Additionally, sensors located in the guestroom indicate a guestroom is vacant. After a set amount of time, lights in a vacant room will turn off to save energy.

• Hotel room televisions use energy efficient LCD and LED backlighting. This backlighting consumes less energy than a traditional CRT tube or Plasma TV.

• Air Conditioning sensors located on the balcony doors and windows will turn off the Air Conditioning unit if a door or window is opened. Sensors located on the Guestroom entry door activate and deactivate the Air Conditioning unit upon your entrance and exit of your room. Our sophisticated Air Conditioning system also senses when there is more than one person in the room to provide additionally cooling.

• Our Ultra Low Flush toilets use 0.6 gallons per flush as opposed to the standard 1.7gpf.

Thank you for your additional feedback on our internet pricing structure. We are in the process of updating our internet connection throughout the property. We will keep your suggestion in mind when determining a new pricing structure. Please note that we do offer complimentary Wi-Fi in our hotel lobby and business center- 24hrs a day.

We really appreciate your generous observations about our customer service! We are thrilled you found our staff to be top notch. Thank you for staying with us. We hope to see you again soon.

Thank you,
Annelise Holyoak
The Portofino Hotel & Marina
BALEENkitchen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2014

A beautiful place to hide away and relax...professional friendly staff. The suite with fireplace, oversized ocean balcony, and clawfoot tub made the evening very romantic. Dinner at Baleen was delicious and the outside firepit was a perfect spot to end the day. We are locals who hope to go back again for another romantic evening.

Room Tip: the suite with large balcony, double sided fireplace and clawfoot tub was amazing
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melissa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnneliseHolyoak, Public Relations Manager at The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2014

Melissa,

Thank you for sharing details about your romantic staycation! We are so happy to hear you had a nice weekend! It’s wonderful to hear comments about your fantastic suite and dinner in BALEENkitchen. We hope you can come see us again soon.

Thank you,

Annelise Holyoak
The Portofino Hotel & Marina
BALEENkitchen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews