We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in Redondo Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed February 13, 2014

In March, a friend and I spent one night here. The hotel is beautifully decorated and is right on the water. Our room was on the first floor, and we had a little patio area that overlooked the bay. We could see, and hear, the seals! Our bathroom was also magnificent - big spa tub and a window that allowed us to look out at the water while still maintaining our privacy.

The hotel restaurant and bar, located across the parking lot, was right on the marina. It was lovely to view the yachts as we ate our dinner. Plus, it was ladies' night so we got 1/2 priced wine! They also had live music. The band and the singer were very talented and took requests. The volume was appropriate and my friend and I were able to easily converse without needing to shout.

The only detractors, in my mind, were the location. I wish the hotel had been more centrally located or maybe somewhere that had beach access. Being there only one night in March, they might have beach access in the warmer months so my assessment might be inaccurate.

All in all, it was a great hotel and my friend and I enjoyed our time there. I would definitely recommend a stay here!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 302meaghank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnneliseHolyoak, Public Relations Manager at The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2014

Meaghan,

Thank you for the pleasant comments and review of our property! We appreciate you taking the time to evaluate our hotel, almost one year later. It must have stuck out in your mind and it sounds like you and your friend had a great time. Thank you for reaching out to us. We appreciate your business and hope to see you again in 2014.
Best,
Annelise Holyoak
The Portofino Hotel & Marina
BALEENkitchen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,629)
There are newer reviews for The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,077 - 1,083 of 1,629 reviews

Reviewed February 11, 2014

We really enjoyed the ocean view from the beautiful hotel lounge. Wonderful to listen to jazz singing by Mr. McMillen while having dessert. It was a memorable weekend to celebrate my son's birthday.
David Ho

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnneliseHolyoak, Public Relations Manager at The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2014

David,

Thank you for the memorable review of our hotel and your weekend. We are thrilled that you had a nice time celebrating your son’s birthday! What a fun way to honor him! We hope that he had a great time.

Annelise Holyoak
The Portofino Hotel & Marina
BALEENkitchen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2014

We went to Portofino because it was my love's 21st birthday and he wanted a jacuzzi tub and what we got was so much better than we could have imagined! We did the romance package and had chocolate covered strawberries, champaign and rose petals in the room when we arrived. The room and view were beautiful! The pictures online of this hotel defiantly do not do it justice, its way more beautiful in person. The staff was super friendly and fun very professional but relaxed rather than uptight they really made you feel welcome and relaxed like you have known them your whole life. We also dined at the restaurant to use our $100 credit we got with the package we bought with our room and the food was to die for!!! The wait staff was incredibly professional but yet at the same time personable. They served us the way a nice restaurant should which was a pleasant change from our small town restaurants we have to deal with back home. This is defiantly a home away from home we will visit again next time we are in the area. The only thing I could say that was disappointing was the fact that it was a one time fee of $26 dollars to park at the hotel regardless but at the same time it was also a one time fee $26 dollars to use their valet service regardless, so in the end I would say VALET! They were also incredibly friendly and greeted us before we had even gotten out of the car ready to assist us with what ever we needed. Overall a FANTASTIC hotel for anyone and everyone! Great for business, couples, family, friends, or by yourself the hotel forms to your needs to give you a great experience!!!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KateandEvan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnneliseHolyoak, Public Relations Manager at The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2014

Kate & Evan,

FANTASTIC! Thank you so much for your kind thoughts. We are so thrilled you and your boyfriend enjoyed his 21st birthday celebrations here at Portofino. I am so happy to hear you booked our romance package and were able to experience BALEEN too. It sounds like you had a wonderful time. Thank you so much for staying with us. We value your business and look forward to serving you again soon.

Happy Birthday Evan,

Annelise Holyoak
The Portofino Hotel & Marina
BALEENkitchen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2014

My girlfriend and I spent one night at the Portofino Hotel. What a charming place. Staff was friendly and helpful. Able to walk to many places. Redondo Beach is such a cute town. Hope to be back and spend more days at the hotel and the town!

Room Tip: Third floor was perfect...great view of the harbor.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KBcalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnneliseHolyoak, Public Relations Manager at The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2014

Thank you for your kind comments about our staff, location and the town of Redondo Beach. We hope that you were able to explore our city on the hotel’s complimentary bikes! If not, hopefully you can do so next time! We appreciate you taking your time to leave such wonderful feedback.

Happy New Year,

Annelise Holyoak
The Portofino Hotel & Marina
BALEENkitchen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2014

Had a tough time getting a reservation at Baleen and couldn't get a window table despite seeing several empty tables while we ate. Kind of frustrating. Hot tub was broken but not their fault. had some trouble with my bill because i was charged for two nights and only stayed one. Very hard to get someone on the phone to help resolve the problem. Keep getting transferred to voicemail and still waiting to get resolution.

Room Tip: Ask for a bay view.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnneliseHolyoak, Public Relations Manager at The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2014

Andy,
Thank you so much for leaving your comments with us. We appreciate your feedback. I apologize about your experience in BALEEN. I can imagine that must have been frustrating for you. We will make sure to investigate the situation further. Please feel free to email guestbilling@hotelportofino.com – I want to make sure the situation is resolved for you at once.

Thank you,
Annelise Holyoak
The Portofino Hotel & Marina
BALEENkitchen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2014

This was our first trip out to California and we decided to stay at the Portofino because we scored a pretty good deal online. Reading reviews they were very mixed but we couldn't have loved it more! Our first room was marina facing on the first floor but by request we were able to upgrade and had a beautiful ocean-side view with a balcony to enjoy our evenings and breakfasts. Everything for us went great and we hope to come back!

Room Tip: Can't go wrong with third-floor facing the water!
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jrd725
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnneliseHolyoak, Public Relations Manager at The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2014

Wow, thank you for sharing your first California experience with us! We are so thrilled to be a part of your family’s memories forever! Thank you for sharing your experience with us. I am happy you were able to enjoy an ocean side upgrade. The ocean view rooms really do offer optimal views of our unique location! We appreciate your patronage and hope to see you on your next Californian adventure!

Happy New Year,

Annelise Holyoak
The Portofino Hotel & Marina
BALEENkitchen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2014

This was the third year in a row I have planned a one-day meeting at the Portofino. Each of the three times, everything went smoothly. No hiccups, no bumps in the road, just friendly, professional, and accomodating service, and good food! Both Sales & Catering Manager, Kate Foster, and the property itself, make the Portofino the obvious choice for us to help give our staff the feeling of being well-cared-for at an off-site meeting. Because of this, you have a growing number of "Portofino Fan Club" members! We'll be back in 2015, or sooner!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrea T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnneliseHolyoak, Public Relations Manager at The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2014

Andrea,

Thank you so much for leaving your generous feedback! We are thrilled that your company enjoys hosting events with us! Kate values your business very much. I appreciate you taking the time to leave thoughts on your past experience and meetings. We are excited about what the future holds for our valued partnership.

See you again soon!

Annelise Holyoak
The Portofino Hotel & Marina
BALEENkitchen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Redondo Beach
0.2 mi away
The Redondo Beach Hotel
The Redondo Beach Hotel
#2 of 19 in Redondo Beach
466 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Redondo Beach & Marina
0.2 mi away
Shade Hotel
Shade Hotel
#1 of 19 in Redondo Beach
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach
Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach
#1 of 7 in Hermosa Beach
860 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Hermosa
Hotel Hermosa
#3 of 7 in Hermosa Beach
159 reviews
2.9 mi away
Shade Hotel
Shade Hotel
#1 of 9 in Manhattan Beach
511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel

Address: 260 Portofino Way, Redondo Beach, CA 90277-2033
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Redondo Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Redondo Beach
#1 Green Hotel in Redondo Beach
#1 Business Hotel in Redondo Beach
#3 Family Hotel in Redondo Beach
Price Range: $184 - $350 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Portofino Hotel & Marina is located on a private peninsula, Redondo beach’s only waterfront hotel. A rich tapestry of panoramic views greets you, with the harbor, the Pacific Ocean and Catalina Island. The hotel lies just six miles south of Los Angeles International Airport, a short stroll to shops and restaurants of Redondo Beach. We offer our guests an authentic Socal lifestyle experience in a casual nautical-chic environment, allowing them to relax and let loose, embracing their “endless summer “endlessly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portofino Hotel And Yacht
Portofino Inn Redondo Beach
Portofino Redondo Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing