We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great service!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in Redondo Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed December 17, 2013

Excellent customer service at check in! Sebastian and Katie were very helpful and knowledgable about surrounding area! It's hard to come by polite hospitable people these days! Enjoyed the room and happy hour at Baleen. Keep up the great service!

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JennaHay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnneliseHolyoak, Public Relations Manager at The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2014

Jenna, thank you for the kind comments about the hotel, Katie and Sebastian. We will be sure to reward them for their service. We appreciate you taking the time to review the hotel, restaurant and staff. We look forward to serving you again soon.

Happy New Year,
Annelise Holyoak
The Portofino Hotel & Marina
BALEENkitchen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,677)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,145 - 1,151 of 1,677 reviews

Reviewed December 16, 2013

I arrived early in the morning so I was happy when they were able to give a me a room at 8am in the morning. The restaurant and bar are across the road. Good views of the boats from the bar.
Food is good.
I received a suite, which was large, however, my associate had a normal which I didn't really like.
Reception were very friendly. I didn't see much of the area, as I was in meetings all day, but I thought it was a little remote, otherwise we would of gone to a different restaurant.

Room Tip: Ask for a the larger rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mark359
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnneliseHolyoak, Public Relations Manager at The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2014

Mark, thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and restaurant. We are thrilled that you joined us all the way from Melbourne, Australia!! When making a long trip to the US, we thank you for choosing our hotel. I am very happy that you were able to experience a suite. They views really speak for themselves! We hope that you are able to visit us again soon.

Happy New Year,
Annelise Holyoak
The Portofino Hotel & Marina
BALEENkitchen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2013

We have stayed at this hotel on several occasions and I have to say that it really doesn't matter if you are on the ocean side or the marina side. The views are excellent from both. Each room has their own private balcony (or terrace, depending on the floor you stay on). We found it relaxing to sit on the balcony and have your coffee while watching the yachts in the marina. We opted to eat at the restaurant at the hotel. While the service was slow, we didn't mind because it was happy hour and we snagged some good wine for a great price. Our food was great for a hotel. We shared a skirt steak and enormous hamburger, calamari and sides. This, too, had a great ambiance. It was cold while we were there so we sat by a fireplace and enjoyed our meal. The staff at the hotel were super friendly and helpful. This is a huge factor for us. Friendliness goes a long way. Also, their Christmas tree was up in the lobby, with yet another fire going in the fireplace. Lovely. All in all, a great experience.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank debby m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnneliseHolyoak, Public Relations Manager at The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2014

Thank you for the kind comments and nice review. We are thrilled you were able to enjoy the restaurant, fireplace and lobby tree. The hotel really is nice during the holiday season! We apologize that your service was on the slower side, but it sounds like it gave you a little extra time to relax. We are so happy to hear that you’ve stayed with us several times. We look forward to your next visit and value your patronage.

Happy New Year,

Annelise Holyoak
The Portofino Hotel & Marina
BALEENkitchen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2013

This is a great hotel if you want to enjoy the ocean view & the Redondo Beach area.
If you don't sleep well then get a room away from the ocean because there are some loud seals BUT they are so cute. :-)
Great walking, great restaurants in the area.
The lounge is a great place to hang out and visit especially when there is a fire in the fireplace.
December 15th is the boat parade. Great view from the room (ocean of course)

Room Tip: ocean view unless you do not want to hear the seals.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carmen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnneliseHolyoak, Public Relations Manager at The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2013

Thank you for the kind comments! We appreciate you sharing your feedback and information about the boat parade! We offer a full menu in the lobby the night of the parade. If you are available, we hope you’ll come back and see us. We are so happy you experienced and ocean view room. We hope that you received your complimentary ear plugs. We understand that the seals can be a bit musical but they are an endangered species and we do our best to balance their environment. Thank you for visiting The Portofino Hotel & Marina!

Happy Holidays!
Annelise Holyoak
The Portofino Hotel & Marina
BALEENkitchen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013

We were here over Thanksgiving to visit family. We did get a pretty good deal on the room rate which included free parking (otherwise $25!!). Internet was $11.95 per machine per day, which is absurd. We were there a week and there was not really storage to unpack all the way. The only frig was a stocked mini-bar. Who uses those things? The room was attractive with a balcony but all in all it was a disappointment for the money.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank twenda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnneliseHolyoak, Public Relations Manager at The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2013

Thank you for the constructive comments. Please know that we offer complimentary Wi-Fi in our hotel lobby and business center. Additionally, the front desk staff is happy to remove mini bar items for refrigerator use. Please note, should you stay with us again, we can remove the items at no charge. We hope that your family had a wonderful Thanksgiving.

Happy Holidays!
Annelise Holyoak
The Portofino Hotel & Marina
BALEENkitchen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2013

If you want a comfy bed and clean tub, dont stay here. Bathtub was molded and bed sunk into the middle, old mattress. For the price we paid, I would have expected something in the room to warmly welcome us without a price tag attached to it. Parking is even $25 extra. Walls are extremely thin, heard the television and conversations of party next door. Overall stay was not worth the near $200 a night.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Case S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnneliseHolyoak, Public Relations Manager at The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2013

Case, thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are very sorry that we did not meet your expectations. The complications that you have described are unacceptable and will be dealt with immediately. We pride ourselves on the cleanliness of the hotel, as you can see by most of our other reviews. We work very hard to make sure that all bathrooms are sparkling clean for all guests. We will personally investigate the issue further and rectify the situation at once. Thank you for sharing your experience with us. Have a happy holiday season!

Best,
Annelise Holyoak
The Portofino Hotel & Marina
BALEENkitchen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2013

Paid the upgrade for an ocean side room, third floor, end of hall, and loved it! Almost like being on a cruise ship, watching the sunset. Room was good, great bedding, nice bathroom, sitting area. Nice decorations, hints of past wear and tear. Our priceline deal meant two queens, no king, so we upgraded. Free parking, good restaurant/bar across the drive, overlooking yacht harbour. Hermosa Beach and Manhattan Beach nearby, and very fun.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank 8Peter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnneliseHolyoak, Public Relations Manager at The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2013

Peter, thank you for your kind comments! We are so thrilled you enjoyed and upgraded ocean side room. The ocean views really are worth the small upgrade fee. They offer optimal views of the sea and area. Thank you for taking the time to mention our restaurant BALEENkitchen. We are so happy you were able to dine with us. We hope to see you again soon. Have a happy holiday season!

Best,
Annelise Holyoak
The Portofino Hotel & Marina
BALEENkitchen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Redondo Beach
0.2 mi away
The Redondo Beach Hotel
The Redondo Beach Hotel
#2 of 19 in Redondo Beach
496 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Redondo Beach & Marina
0.2 mi away
Shade Hotel
Shade Hotel
#1 of 19 in Redondo Beach
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach
Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach
#1 of 7 in Hermosa Beach
879 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Hermosa
Hotel Hermosa
#3 of 7 in Hermosa Beach
173 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Los Angeles/Redondo Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel

Address: 260 Portofino Way, Redondo Beach, CA 90277-2033
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Redondo Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Redondo Beach
#1 Green Hotel in Redondo Beach
#1 Business Hotel in Redondo Beach
#3 Family Hotel in Redondo Beach
Price Range: $190 - $326 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Portofino Hotel & Marina in Redondo Beach at King Harbor, a haven for business and leisure travelers alike. The Portofino boasts breathtaking scenes from sunsets and sailboats to dolphins and sea lions. Our guests enjoy an authentic SoCal lifestyle experience in a casual nautical-chic environment, allowing them to relax and let loose, embracing their "Endless Summer", endlessly at one of the best Redondo Beach Hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portofino Hotel And Yacht
Portofino Inn Redondo Beach
Portofino Redondo Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing