We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in Redondo Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed November 18, 2013

We stayed here for a wedding, otherwise I think we would have chosen somewhere else because this isn't really a place you stay with small kids. The room was pretty small (oceanview double) and there was very little counterspace in the bathroom which made it difficult to have four people sharing it. Check in was very fast and it was easy to find parking. I thought the internet charge ($11.95 per day) was high, given how expensive the room was. I would rather have had a usable fridge than a minibar. The pool is pretty small and half of it is over seven feet deep so it's not very good for kids. The one redeeming quality was Chris, the bartender. Even though the bar was closed, he still offered to make us drinks as we waited for the wedding party to show up and I really appreciated it!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JillCY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnneliseHolyoak, Public Relations Manager at The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2013

Jill, thank you for the constructive feedback. We appreciate you taking the time to review our product. We understand your concerns about Wi-Fi and room size. We promise to use your feedback when making future decisions about the hotel. We are thrilled you enjoyed your encounter with Chris and we will be sure to reward him for his outstanding service. We hope that your family has a happy holiday!

Best,
Annelise Holyoak
The Portofino Hotel & Marina
BALEENkitchen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,629)
There are newer reviews for The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,108 - 1,114 of 1,629 reviews

Reviewed November 10, 2013

This was the 4th hotel we visited in California during a 2 week stay. Check in was very good , the male staff member was also very helpful the following day with directions etc. (They were wrong on both occasions, but he did try'!! ) We upgraded to a sea view room which was great. The room was nice, hotel quiet .
I did feel however hotel lacked atmosphere. No drinks available to us after 9.30, we were referred Outside to Resteraunt Baleens , which is in a building outside the main hotel.
I also wasn't impressed with parking or Internet charges, as other hotels we stayed in did not charge. I also think the hotel should be aware that others in the area do not charge, ie Best Western a short walk away. The room rates are expensive enough without these extra charges. You have to think twice about tipping maids valet staff etc. Average hotel , biggest attribute is sea view.

Room Tip: Choose sea view
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mar B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnneliseHolyoak, Public Relations Manager at The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2013

Thank you for your constructive comments! We appreciate you taking the time to leave your feedback. We will use your recommendations when updating the hotel policies. As for parking, we are required to pay the city for our use. Unfortunately we must charge guests a fee due to our proximity to the water. We hope that if you visit us again, you are able to try BALEEN. It was recently rated as a top 10 best place to dine waterside in all of Los Angeles by Zagat. We appreciate your remarks and will use them to better our services. Have a happy holiday season!

Best,
Annelise Holyoak
The Portofino Hotel & Marina
BALEENkitchen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013

We have been travelling around in the South-West of the USA and therefore, we stayed in several different hotels during our trip. This hotel was faremost the worst. Our feedback is based on the following topics:
1. Very unfriendly and arrogant check-in. She was working in 'automatic pilot' and wasn't interested in answering our questions at all.
2. Prior to our visit, we e-mailed the hotel about how to get to downtown LA. At first they replied stating which highway to take but we were interested to go by public transport and unfortunalety, we didn't receive any answer anymore.
3. Bottles of water already present in the room can be taken for 5 dollar each! In addition, parking wasn't complimentary (25 dollar a day). Internet charges in the room are high.
4. Other 'minor' points: the jacuzzi wasn't clean, the swimming pool very small, elevator was broken, no use of refrigerator.
5. The check-out was also worthless! She did not even ask how are stay was. The 2 ladies at the reception don't care about the stay of the customers. When we highlighted our complaints, the only answere we received was: "The additional charges are common in this area and this is also the case in other hotels". We decided to stop the discussion because she wasn't listening at all!
6. If you want to visit downtown LA or Santa Monica/Venice beach, the distance is way too far, for example, it takes 2 hours by bike and 1 hour by car to go to Santa Monica.

We would like to thank the valet guys outside, who were very helpful and friendly. Also the man at the bar (Jef) was very kind.

In summary, we do not recommend this hotel to anyone!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank KPJG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnneliseHolyoak, Public Relations Manager at The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to bring these issues to our attention! We are taking them very seriously and would like to reach out to you offline. If possible, please contact our Director of Rooms - Jacques Villeneuve at jvilleneuve@hotelportofino.com. We would like to get more information from you and rectify the situation at once.

We appreciate you spending your vacation with us and look forward to hearing from you.

Best,
Annelise Holyoak
The Portofino Hotel & Marina
BALEENkitchen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2013

My wife and I stayed here on a one night getaway for our anniversary. We had a second floor corner room with marina view which was very comfortable and spacious. A hassock would have been a nice addition. The landscaping is beautiful, tropical, well planned and well kept. The staff was pleasant on check in & out, as was the cleaning staff.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ciderndonuts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnneliseHolyoak, Public Relations Manager at The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2013

Thank you taking the time to reach out to us! We are thrilled you were able to experience your anniversary here with us! It’s so nice to see locals take advantage of a nice Staycation. We hope that you are able to visit us again and perhaps experience an Oceanside room next time. Thank you again for making us your anniversary destination. We hope to serve you again soon.

Best,
Annelise Holyoak
The Portofino Hotel & Marina
BALEENkitchen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

First of all let me say that we go to LA a lot, being from SO-Cal its nice to visit family and friends as much as possible. We usually stay at the Belomar in Manhattan and have tried The Beach House in Hermosa Beach, but this was by far superior in both view and dining/drinks. The staff did a great job in accommodating our needs and the mixologist in the downstairs bar made some of the best drinks we've ever had. Catch the Bloody Mary bar for breakfast and try the pull pork Benedict. Needless to say we'll be back!

Room Tip: Ocean View is the only way to go! Get a Corner Suite!
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank The_Wanderlusty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnneliseHolyoak, Public Relations Manager at The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2013

Ben & Sadey,
Thank you for taking the time to reach out to us! We are thrilled you enjoyed our hotel and staff. It sounds like you know your way around the South Bay well. We are thrilled your chose us to experience your most recent visit. Thank you for your kind comments about our master mixologist, bloody mary brunch and more. We can’t wait to serve you again on your next trip to LA.

Best,
Annelise Holyoak
The Portofino Hotel & Marina
BALEENkitchen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013

I stayed at the Portofino and had an oceanside room. The view was nice but would recommend a room not on the first floor as their is a concrete barrier slightly obstructing your view. I loved being able to open my patio door and get an ocean view and be able to enjoy the sunset. The room was clean, the staff accommodating and a nice restaurant on site. It was a pleasant surprise to find full size shampoo, conditioner, body wash and lotion in the bathroom! Will save some precious space in that airport quart bag next trip,

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank MeTravel2U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnneliseHolyoak, Public Relations Manager at The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2013

Thank you for your wonderful comments! We love to hear happy stories from our guests. We appreciate you taking the time to leave your observations for other travelers. We are excited you were able to experience the ocean breeze and one of our fantastic sunsets. We agree the higher floors do offer an optimal view! Hopefully on your next visit you are able to experience a higher floor. Thank you for staying with us, have a great holiday season!

Best,
Annelise Holyoak
The Portofino Hotel & Marina
BALEENkitchen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

We stopped here end of sept beginning of oct for 5 nights . We had a marvellous time from check in to check out . The staff were very friendly and helpful. Ours rooms overlooked the Marina which we found perfect, Didn't hear the seals from here but we could see them swimming around the boats. The meals we had in the restaurant were very good, I can recommend the Salmon and also the Angry Orchard cider, pity we can't get it in England! The hotel was a good base to explore and we wouldn't hesitate to stop here again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank suzi1074
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnneliseHolyoak, Public Relations Manager at The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2013

Suzi,
Thank you for making us your home on your most recent trip to the US. We are thrilled you found us, all the way from the UK! Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel and our staff. We are so happy that you had a nice time. Have a Happy Holiday season!

Best,
Annelise Holyoak
The Portofino Hotel & Marina
BALEENkitchen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Redondo Beach
0.2 mi away
The Redondo Beach Hotel
The Redondo Beach Hotel
#2 of 19 in Redondo Beach
466 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Redondo Beach & Marina
0.2 mi away
Shade Hotel
Shade Hotel
#1 of 19 in Redondo Beach
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach
Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach
#1 of 7 in Hermosa Beach
860 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Hermosa
Hotel Hermosa
#3 of 7 in Hermosa Beach
159 reviews
2.9 mi away
Shade Hotel
Shade Hotel
#1 of 9 in Manhattan Beach
511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel

Address: 260 Portofino Way, Redondo Beach, CA 90277-2033
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Redondo Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Redondo Beach
#1 Green Hotel in Redondo Beach
#1 Business Hotel in Redondo Beach
#3 Family Hotel in Redondo Beach
Price Range: $184 - $350 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Portofino Hotel & Marina is located on a private peninsula, Redondo beach’s only waterfront hotel. A rich tapestry of panoramic views greets you, with the harbor, the Pacific Ocean and Catalina Island. The hotel lies just six miles south of Los Angeles International Airport, a short stroll to shops and restaurants of Redondo Beach. We offer our guests an authentic Socal lifestyle experience in a casual nautical-chic environment, allowing them to relax and let loose, embracing their “endless summer “endlessly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portofino Hotel And Yacht
Portofino Inn Redondo Beach
Portofino Redondo Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing