We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot, friendly staff.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Redondo Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Great spot, friendly staff.”
Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here in July on our way to San Francisco. The staff and service were great. There restaurant called baleen has good food and awesome staff . The rooms are a little older and need an update but over all a great experience .

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnneliseHolyoak, Public Relations Manager at The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Laura,
Thank you for your nice comments about the hotel staff and BALEENkitchen! We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay and hope that San Francisco treated you well! We appreciate your remarks about the hotel rooms and will use this information when planning upgrades to the hotel. We look forward to meeting you again!

Thank you,
Annelise Holyoak
The Portofino Hotel & Marina
BALEENkitchen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,579 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    830
    420
    175
    87
    67
See reviews for
370
568
66
319
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (565)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Menifee, California
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

It was off the beaten path but a short walk to the pier, business area and restaurants. There seems to be a lot of wedding and of course late night returns to their rooms. Doors slamming, and I swear there was an elephant sized kangaroo in the room above me. Staff was nice, final receipt at check out took a while. Bed was so comfy and the house keeping staff got a stiff foam pillow for me after I realized the beds had those useless feather bags for pillows. We ate at Joe's Crab Shack as well as other seafood places on the pier, I would recommend going to the pier. Go to Quality Seafood on the pier http://qualityseafood.net that's the best in my opinion.

Room Tip: Ask for top floor on the ends, I was on the second floor and heard an elephant in the room above me...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank casolaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnneliseHolyoak, Public Relations Manager at The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Thank you for the kind comments about our hotel and the area. We apologize that your room seemed noisy! We will use your comments to improve the hotel when making upgrades. We are so happy you were able to enjoy restaurants in the area and the Pier. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Thank you,
Annelise Holyoak
The Portofino Hotel & Marina
BALEENkitchen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Had the pleasure of staying here well over 20 years ago, but I don't recall it being as nice
as it was this time!
The room was perfect with a nice view of the Marina. Comfortable King size bed,
and being able to have the Sea Lions wake me up each morning (beats the alarm clock)
was a bonus.

Was here for a conference, that was held at the hotel, and it also has a very cool lounge bar
as well.

Next time I am back to Redondo beach, I know where I'll be staying!

PS Great Valet parking service. Very efficient and on the ball staff.

Room Tip: Marina room is nice if you don't mind the Seals waking you up! They can be noisy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RayToronto70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnneliseHolyoak, Public Relations Manager at The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Ray,
Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review! We are thrilled you enjoyed your conference as well as the seals, marina and restaurant lounge. We look forward to your next visit to Redondo Beach!

Thank you,
Annelise Holyoak
The Portofino Hotel & Marina
BALEENkitchen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Las Vegas, Nevada, United States
Level 6 Contributor
76 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We have stayed here several times in the past on both the harbor and ocean view sides of the hotel. This trip we scored an ocean view room and liked leaving the door open to get the sea breeze plus we enjoyed the tremendous plants on the patio. Had room service several times. First they failed to get us a "soft" piece of toast. Instead it came blackened. One call and they had a new plate on the way to our room. Dinner in the lobby is a treat and mine was so tasty. The filet was top drawer meat and the fixin's the best. We had a few issues with our room and needed to see the building engineer several times. Jose showed up with a big smile and addressed our issues and made it right both times. Only major short coming we experienced was with valet. First morning at this Redondo Beach resort we had to wait nearly ten minutes until anyone showed up at the valet desk. Shift change? We never knew the reason but once again Jose helped us by saying that we call the desk in advance to leaving the property and they will have your wheels waiting at the front door. Checking out this morning we did just that and sure enough, the doors were already open and awaiting us at the front door of the hotel. Bath was top drawer with the BEST water pressure I have ever experienced. Oh, and instant hot water on demand. Staff was super friendly and ready to make things right. Low side to me is the overall cost of the stay. You can get rooms in the area for heaps less at other fine hotels, but the Portofino is RIGHT on the water and is truly special. Enjoy your stay by the water, hey?

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Artie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnneliseHolyoak, Public Relations Manager at The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Artie,
Thank you for the kind comments and insightful review. We appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel and our staff. Thank you for your fantastic remarks about Jose. He is a true gem. We apologize that your car was not ready in a timely manner and that you had engineering issues in your room. We will use your comments to improve our rooms and our staff’s service. Thank you for visiting, we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Thank you,
Annelise Holyoak
The Portofino Hotel & Marina
BALEENkitchen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, United States
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013

This hotel was beautiful. The most amazing part was being able to see & hear the sea lions right outside the window. The staff couldn't have been friendlier. They brought out a welcome wagon that was full of small toys for my son. They weren't much, but meant the world to him. They had dvd players in the rooms. This worked perfectly since they rented kid movies & games at the front desk, free of charge. Our kids thought this was just the coolest thing ever. The hotel was very kid friendly, but was still quiet & had a romantic setting at the same time.

Room Tip: The only not great part was the room had 2 double beds instead of 2 queen size. They were very comf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Becky Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnneliseHolyoak, Public Relations Manager at The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Becky, thank you for the kind comments! We are thrilled your children enjoyed our welcome wagon of treats. We are so happy that your children felt welcome without losing the romantic feel of our property! Our goal is to make everyone feel at home and welcome! We hope to see you again soon!

Thank you,
Annelise Holyoak
The Portofino Hotel & Marina
BALEENkitchen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Just stayed here due to a wedding taking place at the location. It is a beautiful hotel. We were upgraded to an ocean view room as they did not have a marina room available when we checked in (hopefully that doesn't mean someone who was expecting an ocean view got our marina view). The room was spacious with a comfortable bed and very large bathroom. Based on some of the reviews we were worried about the "thin walls". Instead of hearing other guests, we heard the loud, but cute sea lions all night long. If you're a light sleeper, bring earplugs! I would also say some of the staff didn't seem to be able to recommend a whole lot in the area other than the hotel restaurant. Otherwise it was a great stay. Would definitely recommend it.

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms are spacious...don't know about the marina rooms. However, you will definitely...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hyena531
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnneliseHolyoak, Public Relations Manager at The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and staff! We appreciate your kind comments about the hotel rooms and our large bathrooms. We are so happy you were able to experience an ocean view upgrade. We hope that you were able to take advantage of our earplugs in each room. They were sitting on the nightstand with a poem about our vocal friends! We apologize that our staff didn’t inform you about all the activities in the area. We will be sure to use your comments to improve the hotel.

We look forward to meeting you again!
Thank you,
Annelise Holyoak
The Portofino Hotel & Marina
BALEENkitchen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmer, Alaska
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 22, 2013

The staff was wonderful from the guy who took our reservation on the phone to the valet, Carl, when we pulled up. Katie at the front desk was very helpful and polite and friendly. We had a nice quiet room on the 2nd floor with an ocean view.The room was clean and larger than we expected. Even housekeeping employees were friendly and helpful. When ever we left the valets, Kevin and Carl, were fast to get our car and provide directions to where we were heading for the day.

We had an enjoyable time and definitely will be staying here again the next time we are in Ca. and will recommend it to our friends.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnneliseHolyoak, Public Relations Manager at The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Kristin,
Thank you for the kind comments! We are thrilled you were able to experience Redondo Beach and a ocean view room at our hotel! Thank you for taking the time to mention Carl, Kevin and Katie. We will be sure to give them a pat on the back for their commitment to excellent service! We hope that you’re able to visit us again soon! Have a great summer!

Thank you,
Annelise Holyoak
The Portofino Hotel & Marina
BALEENkitchen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Redondo Beach
0.2 mi away
The Redondo Beach Hotel
The Redondo Beach Hotel
#2 of 19 in Redondo Beach
436 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Redondo Beach & Marina
0.2 mi away
Shade Hotel
Shade Hotel
#1 of 19 in Redondo Beach
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach
Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach
#1 of 7 in Hermosa Beach
851 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Hermosa
Hotel Hermosa
#3 of 7 in Hermosa Beach
138 reviews
2.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Redondo Beach Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel

Property: The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel
Address: 260 Portofino Way, Redondo Beach, CA 90277-2033
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Redondo Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Redondo Beach
#1 Romantic Hotel in Redondo Beach
#1 Business Hotel in Redondo Beach
#3 Family Hotel in Redondo Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Portofino Hotel & Marina is located on a private peninsula, Redondo beach’s only waterfront hotel. A rich tapestry of panoramic views greets you, with the harbor, the Pacific Ocean and Catalina Island. The hotel lies just six miles south of Los Angeles International Airport, a short stroll to shops and restaurants of Redondo Beach. We offer our guests an authentic Socal lifestyle experience in a casual nautical-chic environment, allowing them to relax and let loose, embracing their “endless summer “endlessly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portofino Hotel And Yacht
Portofino Inn Redondo Beach
Portofino Redondo Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing