We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous location, great views and value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in Redondo Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed July 13, 2013

We stayed here in Feb and thought it was fabulous. Beautiful sunlit rooms, great view of the harbour. Several restaurants nearby.had a toddler with us, but was able to take day trips out and eat out around harbour or entertainment

Room Tip: Harbour view every time!
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EnglandTra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnneliseHolyoak, Public Relations Manager at The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2013

Thank you for the kind words. We are very happy you and your family had a nice trip. It sounds like you were able to visit the surrounding area. We hope to host you again soon.

Thank you,
Annelise Holyoak
The Portofino Hotel & Marina
BALEENkitchen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,629)
There are newer reviews for The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,151 - 1,157 of 1,629 reviews

Reviewed July 12, 2013

We found an online deal for 3 nights, 7/2-7/5, 2 rooms for my 4 kids, husband, and myself. We were impressed not just by the grounds, foyer, and lobby, but by the very helpful valet and bellboys and front-desk and housekeeping staffs. They had good advice for eateries and local hotspots, and bent over backwards to make us feel welcome. Our rooms were a little small, but well-appointed, comfy, and restful. The earplugs for the noisy neighborhood sea lions weren't needed--we simply closed the slider to the balcony and ran the a/c and didn't notice them. They can be a nuisance though!
There was a slight funky odor to the hallways, and the pool is cool for being heated, BUT the hottub is just right. The staff will turn down the piped hallway music if you ask.
There is a Whole Foods, restaurants, and activities within easy walking. Beaches are close by. The hotel is actually on a splash wall. Bikes are free, with a 22 mile coastal bike trail adjacent to the property.
Tucked away, genteel, a gem. We will definitely be back if in the area.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Polie2too
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnneliseHolyoak, Public Relations Manager at The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2013

Thank you for your kind comments! We are so thrilled you found the hotel to be a “gem.” We feel the same way and hope that all of our guests do too! Thank you for the fantastic comments about our staff. We are so happy you found them to be charming and helpful. We will use your observations about the pool and hotel to improve our service standards and amenities. We hope to host your family again soon.

Thank you,
Annelise Holyoak
The Portofino Hotel & Marina
BALEENkitchen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

The location is great with the marina on one side and the sea wall (with seals on the other) , short walk to restaurants and the pier and with the complimentary bikes which are available you have access to the full extent of the beach bicycle track ( cycled one day and before you knew it we had covered 20miles a great family activity to do).
Service was good (two outstanding team members were Kevin (who spent quite a lot of time explaining where to go with the family for activities in the area and dining) and Nick who always had a smile on his face and nothing was issue -would employ oth of these two guys myself if back in Oz). One down point on service is not giving us an answer to our requests for a late checkout until the day of the checkout.
Cleanliness was great and the rooms good -even though beds are small and the pillows are like puffy marshmallows.
Loved it and would stay again -great little find

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
Thank Finni66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnneliseHolyoak, Public Relations Manager at The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2013

Thank you for the kind comments about our hotel, staff, location and bikes! We are so happy that Kevin and Nick were able to assist you! We are also thrilled you took full advantage of the complimentary bikes! They are such a great way to explore the area. We will use your comments to improve the hotel and apologize we wouldn’t extend a late check-out. Due to high season activity, late check-out can be hard for us to offer. We hope that next time you are able to visit us, we can offer a late check-out to you! Have a fantastic year!

Thank you,
Annelise Holyoak
The Portofino Hotel & Marina
BALEENkitchen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

2 1/2 is more like it

-Humid air in the rooms, small beds( like 120 cm for 2 people to share), sucky pillows, and not soundproof at all. I could hear it if someone 5 rooms away took a shower and if someone from outside spoke it sounded like they where in the room. The whole family slept porly.

+great staff, not very expensive

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cherrysodapop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnneliseHolyoak, Public Relations Manager at The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are thrilled you enjoyed our staff. We apologize that you didn’t have a fantastic sleeping experience. We will use your comments when updating and improving our hotel. Thank you for your feedback.

Thank you,
Annelise Holyoak
The Portofino Hotel & Marina
BALEENkitchen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

I stayed in the Hotel for Business in June 2013. i was attending a conference in the hotel.

The Rooms are great with a view (i personally favour the top floor, with a marina facing view). the rooms are quiet and very well provided for. all facilities are great.

The conference facilities were great and the food in the banquets was also very nice.

Room Tip: i personally favour the top floor, with a marina facing view
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnjKumar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnneliseHolyoak, Public Relations Manager at The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2013

Thank you for the kind comments on our conference facility and hotel! We appreciate you taking the time to leave us feedback! We are thrilled you enjoyed your business trip and hotel stay. We hope to see you again soon.

Thank you,
Annelise Holyoak
The Portofino Hotel & Marina
BALEENkitchen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

It took me three hours to drive 38 miles on a Friday afternoon, so I was pretty happy to finally arrive at Portofino. The check-in clerk honored my request for an amazing, yet quiet room (there were two weddings that weekend) and checked me in to Room 363. The room was clean and comfortable, with a table and chairs on the balcony overlooking the water. Lots of paddle boarding going on, and the sea lions kept up their conversations the whole time I was there.

Had a memorable dinner at Baleen, and went back twice more, for drinks and for breakfast. Check out the three firepit tables outside - very nice to have your feet in the sand while eating tasty food.

Loved the lobby, with its soaring ceiling and window seats - curled up in one to finish reading a book, and parked myself there for awhile the next morning just to watch people come and go. The bar was not open the hours I was there but it would be a nice space to have a drink.

Everyone I came in contact with was helpful and friendly. Was a nice weekend getaway.

Room Tip: Agree that the water view trumps the 'marina' view, which means 'looking at the parking...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tammyloans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnneliseHolyoak, Public Relations Manager at The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2013

Tammy,
Thank you for your outstanding review! We are thrilled you were able to experience BALEENkitchen and our lobby! Hopefully on your next visit, it will not take 3 hours to drive 38 miles!! We are very happy that you found a relaxing place to lay your head after your long commute. Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We hope to see you again soon!

Thank you,
Annelise Holyoak
The Portofino Hotel & Marina
BALEENkitchen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013

I've stayed at this property three times in the last nine months, each time about one week. The location is not only beautiful, but also practical. There are many restaurants, bars, the beach and many other things within walking distance, and it isn't too far from LAX airport - about 25 minutes by car. Each stay was during the week on business as we held conferences there for our customers. Don't expect a modern, state-of-the-art hotel. It is an older property with a lot of charm, and very sweetly renovated.
This last stay was disappointing. While there is still the charm of the beautiful building, location and the carefully renovated rooms, we noticed that the service quality dropped massively, and this mainly in the Baleen - the restaurant. The service was not only slow, they brought wrong drinks, couldn't get ice tea made for two days straight - and didn't realize that for about half an hour. The service was slow, sometimes very slow, and almost lazy. Even though there weren't many customers, they were hesitant to serve us in the downstairs area which is may 30 to 40 feet away from the main restaurant. I can't say the staff wasn't friendly, they were. But they seemed to be lacking motivation with maybe the exception of one or two who did go out of there way to serve us outside.
The other issue with the Portofino is that they don't seem to realize that conference guests are there to work and need to be productive, but the meeting facilities aren't really laid out for that, nor are things such as very pricy wifi and other things.
On the upside, it is a super charming location, and totally relaxing. If they can just fix the service issues and conference issues, it'd be darn near perfect.
I'd go there again, hoping that it will be better but wouldn't hesitate to find a new hotel if it doesn't live up to expectations again...

Room Tip: You'll probably want a seaside room on at least the second floor, even better on the third to ge...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TD-OnTheRoad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnneliseHolyoak, Public Relations Manager at The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We appreciate your continuous business and frequent hotel visits. We apologize that your most recent stay was not ideal. Our goal is to always provide 100% guest satisfaction! Your comments about BALEENkitchen will not go unnoticed! We agree that as a convention client you should receive top quality service at all times. We will personally make sure to follow up with you directly. Please email aholyoak@hotelportofino.com for more information. We would like to get a little more information from you.

Thank you,
Annelise Holyoak
The Portofino Hotel & Marina
BALEENkitchen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Redondo Beach
0.2 mi away
The Redondo Beach Hotel
The Redondo Beach Hotel
#2 of 19 in Redondo Beach
465 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Redondo Beach & Marina
0.2 mi away
Shade Hotel
Shade Hotel
#1 of 19 in Redondo Beach
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach
Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach
#1 of 7 in Hermosa Beach
860 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Hermosa
Hotel Hermosa
#3 of 7 in Hermosa Beach
159 reviews
2.9 mi away
Shade Hotel
Shade Hotel
#1 of 9 in Manhattan Beach
511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel

Address: 260 Portofino Way, Redondo Beach, CA 90277-2033
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Redondo Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Redondo Beach
#1 Business Hotel in Redondo Beach
#1 Green Hotel in Redondo Beach
#3 Family Hotel in Redondo Beach
Price Range: $183 - $352 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Portofino Hotel & Marina is located on a private peninsula, Redondo beach’s only waterfront hotel. A rich tapestry of panoramic views greets you, with the harbor, the Pacific Ocean and Catalina Island. The hotel lies just six miles south of Los Angeles International Airport, a short stroll to shops and restaurants of Redondo Beach. We offer our guests an authentic Socal lifestyle experience in a casual nautical-chic environment, allowing them to relax and let loose, embracing their “endless summer “endlessly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portofino Hotel And Yacht
Portofino Inn Redondo Beach
Portofino Redondo Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing