We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Week-long seminar” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Redondo Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Los Angeles, California
1 review
“Week-long seminar”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

Our company used one of the hotel's conference halls for a week-long seminar at The Portofino in Redondo Beach, CA and the whole experience was excellent. The space we were in had a beautiful view of the marina with a nice ocean breeze and an outside terrace. The food and other accommodations were excellent. Kate Foster was our contact person for the week. She was very responsive and made sure we got exactly what we needed. I highly recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to escape the office and get some serious work done.

Room Tip: We didn't spend the night in any of the rooms. But judging from the experience in the conference...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank J0hngsp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnneliseHolyoak, Public Relations Manager at The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Thank you for such a kind review of Kate Foster and our facility! We are thrilled you enjoyed your time here. It sounds like you were able to accomplish a great deal of work. We appreciate your thoughtful insight on our catering team. We hope to serve you again soon.

Thank you,
Annelise Holyoak
The Portofino Hotel & Marina
BALEENkitchen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,445 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    759
    388
    164
    74
    60
See reviews for
336
522
59
286
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (523)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

My husband and I were on a weekend getaway. Stayed in a room on the second floor overlooking the water. Originally requested a third floor room. Never seem to get as requested? Rooms are small but comfortable. Read many reviews about the sea lions. We kept the doors closed at night. Didn't bother us. There isn't air conditioning. Room got a little stuffy at night. Had dinner at their restaurant, Baleens(sp?).
Made dinner reservations in advance. Requested a marina view table. Again, request not honored. Restaurant very busy with graduations & weddings. Our server kept apologizing. Despite all that, we enjoyed the meal. We enjoyed walking the boardwalk. Found the Pier area in desperate need of renovation
with new shops & restaurants.
Really enjoyed eating lunch at Joe's Crab Shack. Loved our server Jay (from Chicago). Had dinner at Kincaids. Restaurant was really warm. Servers were sweating. Customers kept complaining. Food was fine.
Drove over to Manhatten Beach. Enjoyed breakfast at the Kettle. Had a great table outside. All in all, we had a nice weekend away. Now, back to reality....

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ladabrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnneliseHolyoak, Public Relations Manager at The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and the area! It sounds like you really got to explore the South Bay! We are thrilled you enjoyed the hotel and our restaurant. We apologize that you didn’t find the air conditioner in your room. Each room is equipped with a new individually controlled air conditioning system. We appreciate your comments about to Pier and are happy to report that a full renovation is planned this year.
Thank you again for choosing The Portofino Hotel & Marina! Have a fantastic summer!

Thank you,
Annelise Holyoak
The Portofino Hotel & Marina
BALEENkitchen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

We stayed at the Portofino the last week of May, for 2 nights.
After a long day of driving, it was wonderful to arrive at the Portofino. I really didn't know what to expect - it was hard to tell from the pictures I saw - clearly they didn't do the hotel justice!

The rooms were pretty big and clean. The bathroom was modern, and the bed was really comfortable!

There is also a very nice sitting area near the front desk - we didn't take advantage of it though. We used the hotel just as a place to sleep after long days of touring. We'll definitely take advantage of all the amenities when we return to California and return to the Portofino.

One thing we didn't like (in addition to the parking fees) was the fact that our room was next to one of the side exits, whose door slammed so hard every time someone would walk out. But I guess we should have spoke up!

Another thing was that there seemed to be no fan in the bathroom. After a hot shower, everything gets steamed up in there!

But all in all, it was a great experience and we look forward to our next visit!

Room Tip: Ocean view is nicer, but try to get a higher floor; if not you'll just see a concrete wall
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnneliseHolyoak, Public Relations Manager at The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Frank,
Thank you for your gracious review! We found your comments about our property to be very kind and humbling. We are thrilled you enjoyed your two night stay in May. We hope you were able to experience the South Bay to the fullest during your visit. We are very happy to hear you will be returning to Portofino again!
Thank you for your constructive observations about the exit door and bathroom fan. We will use these comments when updating the hotel. Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback.

Have a great summer,
Annelise Holyoak
The Portofino Hotel & Marina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

I got a great deal on Hotwire for this hotel. The location is amazing! The room was beautiful. My only complaint was that the room was so nice it was hard to leave it! The hotel staff was helpful and nice. The hotel is walking distance to the pier and beach. The parking is a little pricey but for the price I paid for the hotel it was still well worth the money!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stacy_SanFrancisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnneliseHolyoak, Public Relations Manager at The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Thank you so much for the kind review and compliments! We are so pleased you enjoyed yourself! It sounds like you had a fantastic time. We appreciate your thoughts on the parking charges however they are standard for all full service hotels in the area due to proximity to the water. Thank you again for staying with us! We look forward to serving you again soon.

Thank you,
Annelise Holyoak
The Portofino Hotel & Marina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

I stayed at the hotel in late May 2013. Unfortunately, I got a room facing the Marina - which has some sort of refinery that is shrouded in not tall enough fencing. If you are staying here push for an ocean view room; it will be a much better experience. The hotel appears to have been relatively recently refurbished; nice job on the lobby and lounge and an okay to poor job on the rooms.

I had lunch at the restaurant across the turning circle - it was expensive and very average - prawn pasta dish that was $26!

The staff were all friendly and accommodating.

My biggest gripe was the internet charge $12 / day / device.

I wanted to rate this place an average - but I am afraid for 2 nights $763 (not including food) it is wildly overpriced.

Room Tip: Insist on Ocean side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GeezurGoodman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnneliseHolyoak, Public Relations Manager at The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We appreciate your feedback and understand your concerns. Our internet cost is standard for all full service hotels in the area and we will use your comments about the restaurant to improve our practices. We apologize that your meal experience wasn’t ideal. Our goal is always to provide superb customer service and accommodations. I can assure you that your comments will be used when planning our room renovations.
Thank you again for reaching out to us. We hope to serve you again on day.

Thank you,
Annelise Holyoak
The Portofino Hotel & Marina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
103 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

We really like this hotel,it's beautiful has a great location near the pier and it has lots of character,the staff makes you feel at home.we have stayed at several locally and like this one the best. The only thing we didn't like was the stiff parking charge.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 56JDP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnneliseHolyoak, Public Relations Manager at The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Thank you for your kind review! We are so thrilled you enjoyed our hotel again! We understand your concerns about the parking charge however it is standard for all full service hotels in our area. Due to our proximity to the ocean, we are required to charge for parking. We are so happy you enjoyed our location and the staff. We hope to see you again soon. Have a fantastic summer!


Thank you,
Annelise Holyoak
The Portofino Hotel & Marina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

Do not let the pictures fool you the hotel is very far away from the beach
the pool is shared by the hotel and the marina. When sitting by the pool you can't even enjoy the ocean as it is block by a wall. We were welcomed by Katie at the front desk she was about the only one that made us feel welcome. Paying $25 for parking a night and missing high speed internet in the room.
When checking out they could not even ask us how are our stay was,

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bobbie642
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnneliseHolyoak, Public Relations Manager at The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Bobbie,
Thank you for taking the time to review our property! We appreciate your kind comments about Katie. I will be sure to thank her myself. Thank you for your observations about the pool and the internet access. The standard parking charge in the area is $25 but we will use your comments to improve our pricing and amenities. I apologize that your check out process wasn’t flawless. This is unacceptable and I will personally look into it. If available, please contact me directly for more information aholyoak@hotelportofino.com

Thank you,
Annelise Holyoak
The Portofino Hotel & Marina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Redondo Beach
0.3 mi away
The Redondo Beach Hotel
The Redondo Beach Hotel
#1 of 19 in Redondo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Redondo Beach & Marina
1.2 mi away
Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach
Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach
#1 of 7 in Hermosa Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Redondo Beach Inn
1.9 mi away
Hotel Hermosa
Hotel Hermosa
#3 of 7 in Hermosa Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
2.9 mi away
Shade Hotel
Shade Hotel
#1 of 9 in Manhattan Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel

Property: The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel
Address: 260 Portofino Way, Redondo Beach, CA 90277-2033
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Redondo Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Redondo Beach
#1 Green Hotel in Redondo Beach
#1 Business Hotel in Redondo Beach
#3 Family Hotel in Redondo Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Portofino Hotel & Marina is located on a private peninsula, Redondo beach’s only waterfront hotel. A rich tapestry of panoramic views greets you, with the harbor, the Pacific Ocean and Catalina Island. The hotel lies just six miles south of Los Angeles International Airport, a short stroll to shops and restaurants of Redondo Beach. We offer our guests an authentic Socal lifestyle experience in a casual nautical-chic environment, allowing them to relax and let loose, embracing their “endless summer “endlessly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, Booking.com, Cancelon, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portofino Hotel And Yacht
Portofino Inn Redondo Beach
Portofino Redondo Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing