We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great getaway at the Portofino” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Redondo Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great getaway at the Portofino”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

My husband and I were on a weekend getaway. Stayed in a room on the second floor overlooking the water. Originally requested a third floor room. Never seem to get as requested? Rooms are small but comfortable. Read many reviews about the sea lions. We kept the doors closed at night. Didn't bother us. There isn't air conditioning. Room got a little stuffy at night. Had dinner at their restaurant, Baleens(sp?).
Made dinner reservations in advance. Requested a marina view table. Again, request not honored. Restaurant very busy with graduations & weddings. Our server kept apologizing. Despite all that, we enjoyed the meal. We enjoyed walking the boardwalk. Found the Pier area in desperate need of renovation
with new shops & restaurants.
Really enjoyed eating lunch at Joe's Crab Shack. Loved our server Jay (from Chicago). Had dinner at Kincaids. Restaurant was really warm. Servers were sweating. Customers kept complaining. Food was fine.
Drove over to Manhatten Beach. Enjoyed breakfast at the Kettle. Had a great table outside. All in all, we had a nice weekend away. Now, back to reality....

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ladabrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnneliseHolyoak, Public Relations Manager at The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and the area! It sounds like you really got to explore the South Bay! We are thrilled you enjoyed the hotel and our restaurant. We apologize that you didn’t find the air conditioner in your room. Each room is equipped with a new individually controlled air conditioning system. We appreciate your comments about to Pier and are happy to report that a full renovation is planned this year.
Thank you again for choosing The Portofino Hotel & Marina! Have a fantastic summer!

Thank you,
Annelise Holyoak
The Portofino Hotel & Marina
BALEENkitchen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,368 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    710
    370
    158
    73
    57
See reviews for
318
494
58
265
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (501)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

We stayed at the Portofino the last week of May, for 2 nights.
After a long day of driving, it was wonderful to arrive at the Portofino. I really didn't know what to expect - it was hard to tell from the pictures I saw - clearly they didn't do the hotel justice!

The rooms were pretty big and clean. The bathroom was modern, and the bed was really comfortable!

There is also a very nice sitting area near the front desk - we didn't take advantage of it though. We used the hotel just as a place to sleep after long days of touring. We'll definitely take advantage of all the amenities when we return to California and return to the Portofino.

One thing we didn't like (in addition to the parking fees) was the fact that our room was next to one of the side exits, whose door slammed so hard every time someone would walk out. But I guess we should have spoke up!

Another thing was that there seemed to be no fan in the bathroom. After a hot shower, everything gets steamed up in there!

But all in all, it was a great experience and we look forward to our next visit!

Room Tip: Ocean view is nicer, but try to get a higher floor; if not you'll just see a concrete wall
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnneliseHolyoak, Public Relations Manager at The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Frank,
Thank you for your gracious review! We found your comments about our property to be very kind and humbling. We are thrilled you enjoyed your two night stay in May. We hope you were able to experience the South Bay to the fullest during your visit. We are very happy to hear you will be returning to Portofino again!
Thank you for your constructive observations about the exit door and bathroom fan. We will use these comments when updating the hotel. Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback.

Have a great summer,
Annelise Holyoak
The Portofino Hotel & Marina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

I got a great deal on Hotwire for this hotel. The location is amazing! The room was beautiful. My only complaint was that the room was so nice it was hard to leave it! The hotel staff was helpful and nice. The hotel is walking distance to the pier and beach. The parking is a little pricey but for the price I paid for the hotel it was still well worth the money!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stacy_SanFrancisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnneliseHolyoak, Public Relations Manager at The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Thank you so much for the kind review and compliments! We are so pleased you enjoyed yourself! It sounds like you had a fantastic time. We appreciate your thoughts on the parking charges however they are standard for all full service hotels in the area due to proximity to the water. Thank you again for staying with us! We look forward to serving you again soon.

Thank you,
Annelise Holyoak
The Portofino Hotel & Marina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

I stayed at the hotel in late May 2013. Unfortunately, I got a room facing the Marina - which has some sort of refinery that is shrouded in not tall enough fencing. If you are staying here push for an ocean view room; it will be a much better experience. The hotel appears to have been relatively recently refurbished; nice job on the lobby and lounge and an okay to poor job on the rooms.

I had lunch at the restaurant across the turning circle - it was expensive and very average - prawn pasta dish that was $26!

The staff were all friendly and accommodating.

My biggest gripe was the internet charge $12 / day / device.

I wanted to rate this place an average - but I am afraid for 2 nights $763 (not including food) it is wildly overpriced.

Room Tip: Insist on Ocean side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GeezurGoodman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnneliseHolyoak, Public Relations Manager at The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We appreciate your feedback and understand your concerns. Our internet cost is standard for all full service hotels in the area and we will use your comments about the restaurant to improve our practices. We apologize that your meal experience wasn’t ideal. Our goal is always to provide superb customer service and accommodations. I can assure you that your comments will be used when planning our room renovations.
Thank you again for reaching out to us. We hope to serve you again on day.

Thank you,
Annelise Holyoak
The Portofino Hotel & Marina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
91 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

We really like this hotel,it's beautiful has a great location near the pier and it has lots of character,the staff makes you feel at home.we have stayed at several locally and like this one the best. The only thing we didn't like was the stiff parking charge.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 56JDP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnneliseHolyoak, Public Relations Manager at The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Thank you for your kind review! We are so thrilled you enjoyed our hotel again! We understand your concerns about the parking charge however it is standard for all full service hotels in our area. Due to our proximity to the ocean, we are required to charge for parking. We are so happy you enjoyed our location and the staff. We hope to see you again soon. Have a fantastic summer!


Thank you,
Annelise Holyoak
The Portofino Hotel & Marina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Do not let the pictures fool you the hotel is very far away from the beach
the pool is shared by the hotel and the marina. When sitting by the pool you can't even enjoy the ocean as it is block by a wall. We were welcomed by Katie at the front desk she was about the only one that made us feel welcome. Paying $25 for parking a night and missing high speed internet in the room.
When checking out they could not even ask us how are our stay was,

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bobbie642
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnneliseHolyoak, Public Relations Manager at The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Bobbie,
Thank you for taking the time to review our property! We appreciate your kind comments about Katie. I will be sure to thank her myself. Thank you for your observations about the pool and the internet access. The standard parking charge in the area is $25 but we will use your comments to improve our pricing and amenities. I apologize that your check out process wasn’t flawless. This is unacceptable and I will personally look into it. If available, please contact me directly for more information aholyoak@hotelportofino.com

Thank you,
Annelise Holyoak
The Portofino Hotel & Marina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We've stayed at the Portofino many times over the past several years. It's like having a beach house without the commitment. The staff consistently goes out of their way to make the stay more enjoyable and this time wasn't any different... except for the fact that the staff was REACTING to missteps rather than preventing them.

We checked in on Saturday for a two night stay in a King Deluxe Ocean View room. Our first room was almost all the way to the left (south) side of the hotel and... well... it smelled like a wet dog. Seriously, like a kennel. We asked to move to a different room and only one other option was available (understandable as it was a holiday weekend). We moved a few doors down to the very last room on the corner. We noticed that the hotel is starting to look a little beat up. The beautiful renovation is showing signs of wear and tear... stains, chips, thread wear, etc... Bound to happen... but kind of a bummer.

So my awesome wife decided to take a shower.... and it did not drain. So after her hillbilly shower, we called down to see if anything had changed room wise. A cancellation? Upgrade options? A Suite? There was a suite available but at an additional $200 a night we decided to grin an bear it.

So we got dressed and on our way out, a woman with a walkie talkie and clipboard was walking down the hall and spraying something with each step like a scene from outbreak. You cant cover up mildew with tropical perfume, y'all. But, at least our concerns were heard, right?

After a lovely dinner out, we returned and went to sleep. Well, we didn't actually sleep because the mattress was concave and worn. Every time one of us moved the other was jolted from their sleep... kind of like a circus trick. We finally both fell asleep and were awakened by the cleaning staff YELLING at each other from the hallway and adjacent rooms. I opened my door WTF? And there was a guy literally RIGHT THERE right next to our do not disturb sign (and many others) laughing and carrying on in the early morning. Seriously?

The were VERY apologetic, but still... slipping... see?

We discussed our evening with CHRIS K at the front desk who was AWESOME. He immediately found a room to upgrade us to (no charge this time), had our clothes moved and bought us brunch at Baleen. Wow. We were impresssed.

However, at Baleen... they completely forgot to put in our order and we sat for an hour waiting patiently for our complimentary bunch as everyone ate around us. Our panicked waitress was running around trying to make it right... but it wasn't exactly relaxing.

At a certain point, you think... are we being PUNK'D?

After a day at the beach (thanks to their complimentary beach cruisers) we returned back to our PREMIERE OCEAN KING and were delighted. It was like a different hotel. And the mattress was pillow topped and quite comfortable.

Next morning... no noise. Better.

So all this being said, I'm not sure that we'll be back to our little "beach house." It's a bummer. We like the proximity to WeHo and the staff couldn't be nicer, but I think it's time for a refresher.

Room Tip: Do not book anything other than the DELUXE PREMIERE KING.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RealityCheck310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnneliseHolyoak, Public Relations Manager at The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Thank you for the comprehensive review and in depth comments about the hotel and restaurant. We are thrilled that you choose to stay with us often and think of us as your own personal ‘beach house’. However, we are very apologetic that your most recent stay was not impressive. We appreciate all of your comments and will most certainly use them to improve the hotel. I am very sorry that your stay wasn’t perfect and we will make sure to refer back to your specific suggestions while planning our next hotel upgrade. As always, our goal is 100% satisfaction. We pride ourselves on exceptional customer service. I am happy to hear that your last night improved and I appreciate your insight. Please feel free to contact me directly when planning your next visit. I’d like to personally make sure we are able to maintain your long-term Portofino relationship. I will also make sure to contact Chris K. myself to make him aware that you appreciated his service.

Thank you again for your years of patronage!

Annelise Holyoak
The Portofino Hotel & Marina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Redondo Beach
0.3 mi away
The Redondo Beach Hotel
The Redondo Beach Hotel
#1 of 18 in Redondo Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 337 reviews
1.2 mi away
Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach
Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach
#1 of 7 in Hermosa Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 760 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Redondo Beach & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Shade Hotel
Shade Hotel
#1 of 9 in Manhattan Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 446 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Hermosa
Hotel Hermosa
#3 of 7 in Hermosa Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 48 reviews
2.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Redondo Beach Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel

Property: The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel
Address: 260 Portofino Way, Redondo Beach, CA 90277-2033
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Redondo Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Redondo Beach
#1 Green Hotel in Redondo Beach
#1 Business Hotel in Redondo Beach
#3 Family Hotel in Redondo Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Portofino Hotel & Marina is located on a private peninsula, Redondo beach’s only waterfront hotel. A rich tapestry of panoramic views greets you, with the harbor, the Pacific Ocean and Catalina Island. The hotel lies just six miles south of Los Angeles International Airport, a short stroll to shops and restaurants of Redondo Beach. We offer our guests an authentic Socal lifestyle experience in a casual nautical-chic environment, allowing them to relax and let loose, embracing their “endless summer “endlessly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Odigeo, Cancelon, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portofino Hotel And Yacht
Portofino Inn Redondo Beach
Portofino Redondo Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing