We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for Conferences and Events”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in Redondo Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Pittsburgh, PA
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great for Conferences and Events”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

I stayed at the hotel for a 5 day long business meeting. I was really impressed by how friendliness of the workers. They were just really pleasant and engaged in giving you a good experience. I observed the catering folks for a whole week during the meetings, and they were on top of their game. Dirty dishes were bussed out of the room regularly. Snack and drinks were refresched exactly on time. It was a great hotel for an event. The rooms were nice, clean and well-maintained.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PAPatraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnneliseHolyoak, Public Relations Manager at The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you for such a nice review. We are so happy that you enjoyed your meeting! Thank you for acknowledging our kind and attentive staff. Our goal is to always assist companies in holding stress free meetings. We hope that your time here was productive.

Thank you again. We look forward to your next visit!

Annelise Holyoak
BALEENkitchen
The Portofino Hotel & Marina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,603 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    841
    426
    177
    89
    70
See reviews for
377
577
70
322
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (568)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

We stayed here for one week, payed extra to have an ocean view rather than being on the marina side.

It was nice to have the ocean however not much privacy on the balcony as no real divisions between balconies and for some people the hotel puts everyone next to each other.

Also there is a rock division so you don't get the sound of the ocean waves.

Daily cleaning of rooms was noticeably under par, didn't like that they would move our belongings to clean and then place them differently than how they found them.

A necklace was lost.

One of the days the room was not even cleaned.

Service at the front desk was okay, depending on who helped you. Two guys were very nice, women, one seemed like the manager, too much attitude, like she was doing us a favor by doing her job.

Beds comfortable. Water pressure okay, didn't have hot water one morning.

Internet extra charge in room as well as parking.

Overall decent enough a little far from Santa Monica, wouldn't feel like driving to hotel to change and go back out to dinner.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mariet44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnneliseHolyoak, Public Relations Manager at The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Thank you for your constructive feedback. It’s not often that we receive these comments and we will make sure to use them in improving our service. We appreciate you taking the time to review the hotel and our staff. We will look into your comments and make sure that we attend to the discrepancies. As always our goal is 100% guest satisfaction and we strive to please everyone. Please feel free to email me directly to discuss the situation further.

Thank you,
Annelise Holyoak
aholyoak@hotelportofino.com
The Portofino Hotel & Marina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

This is a terrific older (but updated) California-style beach hotel. Front desk staff are very nice and welcoming. The lobby bar area is terrific. Great music and light. Windows open to the ocean make it lovely. The bar needs to work on the wine list, and the "handcrafted cocktails" advertised are nonexistent.

Guest rooms are large and nicely-appointed. Good size bathrooms. Standard shower/bath combo. Very clean and high-end bulk bathroom amenities. Definitely get an ocean view room and leave the balcony door open the whole time you are there. The ocean breeze blowing in can't be beat.

Beds are new and firm. Linens are very nice.

Breakfast at Baleen on outside next to the marina is excellent. Service was relaxed but very friendly.

Rate was good for a property of this quality and given the location. It's an easy place to stay is you need to be close to LAX (only a 15 or so minute drive and far better than all the hotel right around LAX).

Room Tip: Balcony rooms with ocean view are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TraveltogetherDallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnneliseHolyoak, Public Relations Manager at The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Thank you for the constructive feedback. We appreciate you taking the time to review our property. We will us your comments to improve the hotel and our drink menus. We do offer handcrafted cocktails and hope that you are able to experience them on another visit.

We are so happy when guests are able to experience our Ocean View rooms, they really do offer the best views of The Pacific. Thank you for the kind comments about our hotel rooms, BALEENkitchen and proximity to LAX. We hope that you can join us again soon!

Thank you,
Annelise Holyoak
The Portofino Hotel & Marina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights & got upgraded to an ocean-view room with a great patio to sit out and enjoy the boats, waves and sunshine. Room was clean and spacious, with comfortable king bed . Staff was very friendly and received great service from Sebastian; including recommendation for dinner at nearby kincaid's. My husband and I also enjoyed drinks and apps at their restaurant Baleen's. Overall, great experience & would stay again when we come back to the west coast!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelingcouple149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnneliseHolyoak, Public Relations Manager at The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind comments and review. We are thrilled you were able to experience what a fantastic team member Sebastian is. He is a true gem. We are so happy you received an ocean view upgrade. Ocean view rooms really do offer the best views of The Pacific. Thank you for visiting BALEENkitchen and The Portofino Hotel & Marina. We look forward to serving you again!

Annelise Holyoak
The Portofino Hotel & Marina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013 via mobile

Don't expect top level amenities or a deluxe room but this hotel has its charms. The hotel in general is dated but once you get past that you will enjoy its charm. The lobby bar, without much charm is great at sunset and the service is very good. Te bartender usually comes to your taller for the order. Wine list needs a little work but is workable.

Rooms are medium sized but your there for the views and the balcony faces out to the Pacific Ocean over a break water. Definitely get the upper floor for the view, they will charge you and extra 40 but just do it. Be aware that the resident seals are loud and proud. Part of the charm is watching them frolic and feed. You may need to shut your balcony door as it does sound like something from a Nat Geo special if they get an inkling for an early morning feelingly. Although dated, the room works and bathroom is updated.

The restaurant on property is good. We ate in the bar next to the fireplace, very romantic and the service was excellent.

Go for a walk south, you will find a throwback to a pother era with little shops and bars tucked under the broad walk. Lots of local flair demand if you carry on there is a quirky pier that again is stuck in time. Going for a walk north, is a different story. It's California 100% with the beach broardway that is frequented by runner and bikers, perfect 6 mile walk and great people and houses to comment on. The architecture is varied and at times entertaining. Great little breakfast places about halfway to refuel.

Altogether a great location and although the hotel is dated, enjoy the views, have a drink at the bar at sunset and walk the board walk the next morning.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnneliseHolyoak, Public Relations Manager at The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
John, thank you for your comments. We appreciate that you had a nice time exploring the area. We will use your feedback when updating the hotel. We are thrilled you enjoyed an Ocean view Room. They really do offer the best views of the Pacific and our seal neighbors. It sounds like you were able to sightsee and discover Redondo and Hermosa Beach. We hope to be able to serve you again soon.

Thank you for visiting us!

Annelise Holyoak
The Portofino Hotel & Marina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, TX
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for one night in February and it was wonderful. Our room was a second floor ocean view king room. It was fabulous. I felt it was very spacious and sparkling clean. The bathroom was nice with an awesome rainfall shower head and great water pressure. I liked the extra touches of the full sized bottles of shampoo, etc. to use, stuffed seal on the bed and little seal in the shower. The view from the room and the balcony was incredible. I loved watching and listening to the activity of fishing boats, seals, and pelicans! If you are going to spend time in your room, I would definitely recommend ocean view 2nd or 3rd floor. We had our son with us and a rollaway fit very nicely in the corner. The hotel is in a great location for oceanside walks and bike rides. It is also walking distance to several restaurants and the Redondo Pier. We took advantage of the free bikes and they had a bike and helmet suitable for my 12 year old. We road down The Strand to Hermosa Beach. All of the staff we encountered were very friendly and helpful. I highly recommend this hotel!! I did not want to leave!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PlanoTexasMember
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnneliseHolyoak, Public Relations Manager at The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
We are thrilled you and your family were able to take advantage of our complimentary bike rental! Exploring the area is such a treat. Thank you for the kind comments and review. It sounds like you really had a nice time. We hope you are able to visit us again soon!

Thank you!
Annelise Holyoak
The Portofino Hotel & Marina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermosa Beach, California
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2013

We stayed at a 2-bedroom condo at the Portofino for 3 month while renovating our home. I couldn't say enough positive about the staff. All very helpful, friendly and always available. No problem too small. Rooms are dated but renovations are scheduled. Rooms face yacht harbor, fantastic sunsets. Views from Malibu to Palos Verdes. Small pool and jacuzzi. Great restaurant, plenty of parking. Internet and TV available. Walking distance to aaprox. 20 restaurants.
Hotel as no environmental or sustainability certifications but could use it!

Room Tip: Ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sjopjm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnneliseHolyoak, Public Relations Manager at The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Thank you so much for the wonderful comments! We are so happy you enjoyed your extended stay. It sounds like you were really able to take advantage of our location. Thank you for the positive comments about our staff; they truly are a great team. We hope your home renovations went well and you’re all settled in. Don’t forget to come visit us!

Thank you!
Annelise Holyoak
The Portofino Hotel & Marina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Redondo Beach
0.2 mi away
The Redondo Beach Hotel
The Redondo Beach Hotel
#1 of 19 in Redondo Beach
450 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Redondo Beach & Marina
0.2 mi away
Shade Hotel
Shade Hotel
#2 of 19 in Redondo Beach
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach
Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach
#1 of 7 in Hermosa Beach
857 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Hermosa
Hotel Hermosa
#3 of 7 in Hermosa Beach
145 reviews
2.9 mi away
Shade Hotel
Shade Hotel
#1 of 9 in Manhattan Beach
505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel

Property: The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel
Address: 260 Portofino Way, Redondo Beach, CA 90277-2033
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Redondo Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Redondo Beach
#1 Business Hotel in Redondo Beach
#1 Green Hotel in Redondo Beach
#3 Family Hotel in Redondo Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Portofino Hotel & Marina is located on a private peninsula, Redondo beach’s only waterfront hotel. A rich tapestry of panoramic views greets you, with the harbor, the Pacific Ocean and Catalina Island. The hotel lies just six miles south of Los Angeles International Airport, a short stroll to shops and restaurants of Redondo Beach. We offer our guests an authentic Socal lifestyle experience in a casual nautical-chic environment, allowing them to relax and let loose, embracing their “endless summer “endlessly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portofino Hotel And Yacht
Portofino Inn Redondo Beach
Portofino Redondo Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing