We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hospitality”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in Redondo Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed March 9, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights & got upgraded to an ocean-view room with a great patio to sit out and enjoy the boats, waves and sunshine. Room was clean and spacious, with comfortable king bed . Staff was very friendly and received great service from Sebastian; including recommendation for dinner at nearby kincaid's. My husband and I also enjoyed drinks and apps at their restaurant Baleen's. Overall, great experience & would stay again when we come back to the west coast!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelingcouple149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnneliseHolyoak, Public Relations Manager at The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2013

Thank you so much for your kind comments and review. We are thrilled you were able to experience what a fantastic team member Sebastian is. He is a true gem. We are so happy you received an ocean view upgrade. Ocean view rooms really do offer the best views of The Pacific. Thank you for visiting BALEENkitchen and The Portofino Hotel & Marina. We look forward to serving you again!

Annelise Holyoak
The Portofino Hotel & Marina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,647)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,211 - 1,217 of 1,648 reviews

Reviewed March 4, 2013

Don't expect top level amenities or a deluxe room but this hotel has its charms. The hotel in general is dated but once you get past that you will enjoy its charm. The lobby bar, without much charm is great at sunset and the service is very good. Te bartender usually comes to your taller for the order. Wine list needs a little work but is workable.

Rooms are medium sized but your there for the views and the balcony faces out to the Pacific Ocean over a break water. Definitely get the upper floor for the view, they will charge you and extra 40 but just do it. Be aware that the resident seals are loud and proud. Part of the charm is watching them frolic and feed. You may need to shut your balcony door as it does sound like something from a Nat Geo special if they get an inkling for an early morning feelingly. Although dated, the room works and bathroom is updated.

The restaurant on property is good. We ate in the bar next to the fireplace, very romantic and the service was excellent.

Go for a walk south, you will find a throwback to a pother era with little shops and bars tucked under the broad walk. Lots of local flair demand if you carry on there is a quirky pier that again is stuck in time. Going for a walk north, is a different story. It's California 100% with the beach broardway that is frequented by runner and bikers, perfect 6 mile walk and great people and houses to comment on. The architecture is varied and at times entertaining. Great little breakfast places about halfway to refuel.

Altogether a great location and although the hotel is dated, enjoy the views, have a drink at the bar at sunset and walk the board walk the next morning.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnneliseHolyoak, Public Relations Manager at The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2013

John, thank you for your comments. We appreciate that you had a nice time exploring the area. We will use your feedback when updating the hotel. We are thrilled you enjoyed an Ocean view Room. They really do offer the best views of the Pacific and our seal neighbors. It sounds like you were able to sightsee and discover Redondo and Hermosa Beach. We hope to be able to serve you again soon.

Thank you for visiting us!

Annelise Holyoak
The Portofino Hotel & Marina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for one night in February and it was wonderful. Our room was a second floor ocean view king room. It was fabulous. I felt it was very spacious and sparkling clean. The bathroom was nice with an awesome rainfall shower head and great water pressure. I liked the extra touches of the full sized bottles of shampoo, etc. to use, stuffed seal on the bed and little seal in the shower. The view from the room and the balcony was incredible. I loved watching and listening to the activity of fishing boats, seals, and pelicans! If you are going to spend time in your room, I would definitely recommend ocean view 2nd or 3rd floor. We had our son with us and a rollaway fit very nicely in the corner. The hotel is in a great location for oceanside walks and bike rides. It is also walking distance to several restaurants and the Redondo Pier. We took advantage of the free bikes and they had a bike and helmet suitable for my 12 year old. We road down The Strand to Hermosa Beach. All of the staff we encountered were very friendly and helpful. I highly recommend this hotel!! I did not want to leave!!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PlanoTexasMember
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnneliseHolyoak, Public Relations Manager at The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2013

We are thrilled you and your family were able to take advantage of our complimentary bike rental! Exploring the area is such a treat. Thank you for the kind comments and review. It sounds like you really had a nice time. We hope you are able to visit us again soon!

Thank you!
Annelise Holyoak
The Portofino Hotel & Marina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2013

We stayed at a 2-bedroom condo at the Portofino for 3 month while renovating our home. I couldn't say enough positive about the staff. All very helpful, friendly and always available. No problem too small. Rooms are dated but renovations are scheduled. Rooms face yacht harbor, fantastic sunsets. Views from Malibu to Palos Verdes. Small pool and jacuzzi. Great restaurant, plenty of parking. Internet and TV available. Walking distance to aaprox. 20 restaurants.
Hotel as no environmental or sustainability certifications but could use it!

Room Tip: Ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sjopjm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnneliseHolyoak, Public Relations Manager at The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2013

Thank you so much for the wonderful comments! We are so happy you enjoyed your extended stay. It sounds like you were really able to take advantage of our location. Thank you for the positive comments about our staff; they truly are a great team. We hope your home renovations went well and you’re all settled in. Don’t forget to come visit us!

Thank you!
Annelise Holyoak
The Portofino Hotel & Marina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

The comfort, view and location of this hotel overcome the slight shabbiness of the interior. It is clean and tidy, but needs paint n polish to make it shine in the lift/corridor areas. Having said that our room was very nice. Comfortable big bed (pillows are marshmallow though), big TV with good entertainment selection, big marble dressing area off the bathroom, but the bathroom itself was tiny with the smallest bath we have ever seen! Shower was good so it made up for the trough like bath. Nice furnishings and colour palette. Big comfy bathrobes, but no slippers. Nice toiletries and a full size hairdryer. Staff were friendly, helpful and professional from the valet parker to reception to housekeeping and the restaurant.
The big draw for us was the ocean view room and the balcony. Yes the ocean view is of the manmade harbour which consists of a stone sea wall, then the sea beyond right up to the horizon. However we watched a fantastic sunset from our balcony, then the stars came out and we had fun picking out the big dipper, etc. We even saw the kitschy romantic gondola go by covered in fairy lights with music softly playing (it was Valentine's Day so they were very busy going back and forth). The seals were barking vociferously and very entertaining but once the sliding door was shut you barely noticed them (plus the hotel provides free earplugs in every room). Next morning we had coffee on the balcony and watched the seals cavorting around in water so clear you could see huge orange fish in the shallows. A pod of dolphins made an appearance and stayed for over an hour, playing in the wake of boats as they entered/departed the marina by the hotel. Kayaks and small fishing/row boats pottered by too. It was so peaceful, relaxing and quiet you could hear the dolphin blowholes as they surfaced.
The hotel has valet parking ($25 per day) but cars are parked outside, no covered structure available. The lobby area is very pretty with high ceilings, chandeliers and comfy chairs, and has water flavoured with fruit on a self serve basis. They may serve drinks there at night as there is a small bar, but we didn't use it.
We visited Baleen Kitchen for breakfast which was very tasty with great lattes. There are a lot of restaurants within walking distance of the hotel if you want a choice.
Would I recommend this hotel to friends? Yes. Would U visit again? Yes. It was a great R&R destination for us.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KiwisLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnneliseHolyoak, Public Relations Manager at The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2013

Thank you for the kind comments and thoughtful review of our property. We are very happy that you had a relaxing visit. Our goal is to provide an oasis from the hustle and bustle of Los Angeles. We hope that we achieved this for you. It sounds like you had a very nice stay. Thank you for your constructive feedback regarding the hotel room layout. We will use your comments for further improvements. We appreciate your patronage and hope that we can serve you again.

Thank you!
Annelise Holyoak
The Portofino Hotel & Marina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

Like everybody said on here, if you can - pay the extra and stay on the second or third floors on the ocean side. The views are amazing, basically an unobstructed view of the Pacific Ocean from Palos Verdes to Malibu. The best part is that there is absolutely nothing between you and the ocean - no street or beach full of people, like just about every other beach hotel I've been to.

The breakwater provides for an amazing little playground for sea lions, gulls, geese and penguins. The sunsets are amazing but stay on your balcony for another hour to watch the show that the birds put on... You won't want to leave the room, the sea lions are adorable and playful... But do leave the room, and rent a kayak to be a part of it for an hour or so (there is a place next door that rents kayaks etc, but nobody was ever there when I went over - so I just rented one for 15 bucks for one hour at the boardwalk).

The rooms were great, well appointed and large. The windows are double-paned so the noise of the animals don't come through so much when they are closed. The pool is warmed nicely, the gym has a variety of free weights in addition to aerobic equipment - and you can rent bikes for free to ride up and down the strand...

It's also a short easy walk to restaurants and the pier...

Again, I was so glad I paid for the room upgrade, was a great stay...

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nickc71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnneliseHolyoak, Public Relations Manager at The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2013

Nick, thank you for your sweet comments about our hotel and location. We are so thrilled you enjoyed watching all that nature has to offer in Redondo Beach. It truly is amazing to watch the wildlife from our Ocean room balconies. We very excited to know you advanced to a higher floor, the views there are worth the upgrade! Thank you for visiting. We hope to see you again soon.

Annelise Holyoak
The Portofino Hotel & Marina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

I think they should change their website to PERFECT HOTEL DOT COM! the staff was perfect, from valet to the front desk to housekeeping! My wife and I have decided that this is our hotel of choice to visit in the LA area (we are LA residents) when we want to get away 4 a weekend or a special occasion. You guys will be seeing alot more of us now that we have discovered this ocean side paradise! thanks again 4 everything! see u guys soon! tell the staff job well done! -FDW

Room Tip: ANY room is a good one but definitely choose the ocean side! excellent view 4 a price that i thought...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FDW23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnneliseHolyoak, Public Relations Manager at The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2013

As a hotel, we strive for reviews this wonderful! Hearing what a delightful time you had truly makes us happy! You may be surprised to hear that most of our guests are from the LA area! Redondo Beach is a great little oasis from the hustle and bustle of Los Angeles. We are so thrilled that you enjoyed the hotel staff and location. Hearing that you plan to join us again is fantastic! We look forward to serving you again!

Annelise Holyoak
The Portofino Hotel & Marina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Redondo Beach
0.2 mi away
The Redondo Beach Hotel
The Redondo Beach Hotel
#2 of 19 in Redondo Beach
484 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Redondo Beach & Marina
0.2 mi away
Shade Hotel
Shade Hotel
#1 of 19 in Redondo Beach
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach
Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach
#1 of 7 in Hermosa Beach
870 reviews
2.9 mi away
Shade Hotel
Shade Hotel
#1 of 9 in Manhattan Beach
514 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Hermosa
Hotel Hermosa
#3 of 7 in Hermosa Beach
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel

Address: 260 Portofino Way, Redondo Beach, CA 90277-2033
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Redondo Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Redondo Beach
#1 Business Hotel in Redondo Beach
#1 Romantic Hotel in Redondo Beach
#3 Family Hotel in Redondo Beach
Price Range: $203 - $339 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Portofino Hotel & Marina is located on a private peninsula, Redondo beach’s only waterfront hotel. A rich tapestry of panoramic views greets you, with the harbor, the Pacific Ocean and Catalina Island. The hotel lies just six miles south of Los Angeles International Airport, a short stroll to shops and restaurants of Redondo Beach. We offer our guests an authentic Socal lifestyle experience in a casual nautical-chic environment, allowing them to relax and let loose, embracing their “endless summer “endlessly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portofino Hotel And Yacht
Portofino Inn Redondo Beach
Portofino Redondo Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing