We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beachy luxury, minutes from LAX”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in Redondo Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed January 18, 2013

I visited this hotel for a spring wedding but I can't imagine a better place for a weekend winter escape. This is LA-hassle free. Just fly into LAX and you're minutes from the hotel. Not that you feel like it. Redondo Beach is a little beachy community off by itself. We had ocean views that included seals. (At first when my husband said he heard seals I thought he was deluded and teasingly asked him if he also heard zebras!) The hotel is within walking distance of several restaurants and a small shopping center with a drugstore, grocery, etc. The lobby is very pretty, like the entry hall of a mansion. We didn't get to spend much time here because we basically flew in and out for the wedding so I hope we get an opportunity to return.

Room Tip: Make sure you get an ocean view.
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emily23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnneliseHolyoak, Public Relations Manager at The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

Emily, thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review. We are thrilled to have been part of a memorable wedding weekend for you. We love to hear when guests are pleased with our location and proximity to LAX. We pride ourselves on being an oasis just outside the city. Our seal friends are just one of the many things that make Redondo Beach a secret Los Angeles gem. We are very excited to hear you would like to visit us again and hope we can provide you with exceptional service next time you are here.

Annelise Holyoak
The Portofino Hotel & Marina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,628)
There are newer reviews for The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,203 - 1,209 of 1,629 reviews

Reviewed January 14, 2013

My wife and I visited a friend in Redondo Beach. For proximity, our friend recommended the Portofino and Crowne Plaza. I price shopped and could not find a room under $140 at Portofino. But, fate was kind and the hotel ran a January sale at $120/night. Sold! The hotel has an attractive Cape Cod feel and there's great access to the beaches. (We spent most of our time at Hermosa Beach.) We made good use of the restaurant and bar areas for breakfast and dinner. Drinks by the fire in the hotel are a must. Staff members were exceptional. In searching for a complaint, food and beverage prices were on the higher side BUT were consistent with selection, service and the area. (Whisky choices at the bar were thoughtfully selected.) High season rates likely push this fine property out of our budget but we look forward to returning in a future off-season.

Room Tip: We had a Marina side room which was fine for us.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MorganSteele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnneliseHolyoak, Public Relations Manager at The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

Ms. Steele, Thank you so very much for your kind and thoughtful comments about our property! We are thrilled you were able to experience Hermosa and Redondo Beach. They really are little gems just outside of Los Angeles! We are also pleased you enjoyed the hotel’s Nautical Chic décor and were able to take advantage of one of our flash sales. If you choose to visit us again, we invite you to join our mailing list. Even in warmer months, we offer wonderful last minute offers. Thank you again for your considerate review. We hope you can join us again soon.

Annelise Holyoak
The Portofino Hotel & Marina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We stayed overnight New Years Eve in a spa room. Everything was great except the view, which was overlooking the water but since it was a bottom floor the view was just eh due to the water breakers. Bathroom was clean, jacuzzi tub was clean, sleeping area was clean. I would absolutely recommend the hotel and I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joy_neednavacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnneliseHolyoak, Public Relations Manager at The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

Thank you for the constructive comments. We appreciate you enjoyed your NYE stay. Because of the Jacuzzi tub weight, it requires a bottom floor location. We understand that higher floors allow for optimal views. If you choose to visit us again, we suggest and Ocean Premiere room! The Ocean Premiere room has wonderful ocean views. Thank you for the kind comments and we hope you are able to visit us again.

Annelise Holyoak
The Portofino Hotel & Marina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Try to choose an ocean view room; the sound of the harbor seals at night is very soothing. This is the second or third time we've stayed at this property (we live about 5 minutes away!) and this room was the nicest of all. The spa tub faced the outside window with french doors on either side. The toilet was a bit oddly placed adjacent to the tub, but the curtain could be pulled for privacy. The beds are up against the wall facing the ocean, so one could literally see the water sitting upright.

Like many older hotels, the walls are thin and outside noise is common. Also, the decks are nice, but when someone is smoking on one of them, the smoke travels into your room fairly quickly. Other than making the hotel completely smoke free, I'm not sure there is a way to get around that. Inconsiderate guests add to the issue when they smoke, yell, talk loudly at 1:00 a.m. and sing on their balcony, but it's Redondo Beach and you expect some of that.

Baleen is adjacent and they have a nicely done Happy Hour in a beautifully appointed room.

The lobby of the Portofino is wedding worthy. It's a lovely Wedgewood blue with white trim with a large fireplace in the center. It would be wonderful if food were served; I think you can only get drinks after a certain hour in the evening.

Even if you are not staying there, it's a nice place for a quick after work meeting to sit and relax and watch the boats sailing in and out of King Harbor.

Room Tip: Facing the ocean on the second floor is your best bet.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnneliseHolyoak, Public Relations Manager at The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2013

Thank you for the sweet comments about our hotel and lobby. We are very happy you enjoyed your stay. We would like to apologize about the smell of smoke. The entire hotel is smoke-free. We appreciate your continued loyalty to the hotel and would also like to note that a full BALEENkitchen menu is served in the lobby Tuesday through Saturday from 5pm to 10pm. We hope next time you stay at the hotel, you can take advantage of our lobby dining. It really is a treat to dine during sunset!

Thank you for your continued business. Have a Happy New Year!

Annelise Holyoak
The Portofino Hotel & Marina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012

My husband and I live about an hour from the beach and look for any opportunity to stay near the Strand. We discovered Portifino hotel about 4 years ago and have stayed on several occassions. If you can, pay a little extra for the ocean views. It sets them apart from the competition. We like parking our car, eating at Baleen and walking to the pier. Baleen is an onsite restaurant that has spectacular food. They are known for their shredded duck appetizer and I abolutely love it and I don't eat duck. It is a nice retreat, the staff is very professional and friendly. This is definately one of my favorite places to stay and we will be returning.

Room Tip: Make sure to have the ear plugs near by. The seals are adorable, but can be loud at night.
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diana K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnneliseHolyoak, Public Relations Manager at The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2013

Diana, thank you for your kind review. We truly appreciate your loyalty to our hotel. We are ecstatic that you have been able to experience BALEENkitchen and the surrounding area! The Duck Carnitas really are such a treat. We also invite you to join our mailing list for special offers from BALEENkitchen and the hotel. Because you live closely, you can take advantage of those great last minute offers. Thank you again for your continued business.

Have a happy New Year!

Annelise Holyoak
The Portofino Hotel & Marina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2012

We called ahead because we were going to be getting in late and they staff of the phone was very nice, when we checked in however the new staff member seemed just ast tired as we were after a long day of walking and driving.The rooms in this hotel are huge and very pretty! You can tell this hotel is an older beach side property but they have done some very lovely updates (new paint, carpet, furniture). Very nice shower. I believe our king size bed must have been a California King because it was much bigger than the beds we had stayed in on the rest of our trip. I wish we could have stayed longer to explore the property more and enjoy the pool/beach. They have free bike rental which is pretty amazing. We were on the third floor and had a very good view of the Marina. Booked directly with the hotel, great price! Valet price was similar to what we paid eveywhere else.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ellie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnneliseHolyoak, Public Relations Manager at The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2013

Ellie, thank you for your generous and intuitive review. We appreciate your kind comments and are thrilled you enjoyed our hotel. We are very happy to hear you had a nice trip. We hope that next time you are near Los Angeles you are able to stay with us again.

Have a happy New Year!

Annelise Holyoak
The Portofino Hotel & Marina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2012

We spent a night at Portofino last night as it was my girlfriend's birthday. We needed a place that was close enough to Los Angeles to get back for work in the morning and Portofino worked perfectly.

From the time of reservation through check out, everything was perfect. The staff was friendly and helpful from valet to restaurant to front desk and room service.

Rooms look recently updated and they are very comfortable. We overlooked the ocean side on the 3rd floor and it's definitely worth booking the ocean side. We had seals outside our window so we got to enjoy them, but never heard them with the balcony door closed.

Baleen restaurant is great also. We had dinner overlooking the harbor and our meal was outstanding (try the snapper!). And room service in the morning was quick, hot, and really tasty (this is something that a lot of hotels don't do well).

Most of all, we enjoyed the holiday feel of our trip as the property is decorated really well for the holidays. It got us in the holiday spirit!

Thanks so much to the whole team at Portofino!

Room Tip: The ocean side rooms are definitely worth it!
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FineF00die
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnneliseHolyoak, Public Relations Manager at The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2012

Thank you for the wonderful feedback and thoughtful review. We are thrilled your girlfriend had a nice birthday celebration! It sounds like you had a great stay in the area. Thank you for your compliments on our holiday décor. We have so much fun decorating the hotel this time of year. Next year, you can visit us for the Redondo Beach Holiday Boat Parade. It’s a very special way to celebrate the holidays. We hope to serve you again soon.

Have a Happy New Year!

Annelise Holyoak
The Portofino Hotel & Marina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Redondo Beach
0.2 mi away
The Redondo Beach Hotel
The Redondo Beach Hotel
#1 of 19 in Redondo Beach
463 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Redondo Beach & Marina
0.2 mi away
Shade Hotel
Shade Hotel
#3 of 19 in Redondo Beach
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach
Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach
#1 of 7 in Hermosa Beach
860 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Hermosa
Hotel Hermosa
#3 of 7 in Hermosa Beach
158 reviews
2.9 mi away
Shade Hotel
Shade Hotel
#1 of 9 in Manhattan Beach
511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel

Address: 260 Portofino Way, Redondo Beach, CA 90277-2033
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Redondo Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Redondo Beach
#1 Business Hotel in Redondo Beach
#1 Green Hotel in Redondo Beach
#3 Family Hotel in Redondo Beach
Price Range: $183 - $353 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Portofino Hotel & Marina is located on a private peninsula, Redondo beach’s only waterfront hotel. A rich tapestry of panoramic views greets you, with the harbor, the Pacific Ocean and Catalina Island. The hotel lies just six miles south of Los Angeles International Airport, a short stroll to shops and restaurants of Redondo Beach. We offer our guests an authentic Socal lifestyle experience in a casual nautical-chic environment, allowing them to relax and let loose, embracing their “endless summer “endlessly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portofino Hotel And Yacht
Portofino Inn Redondo Beach
Portofino Redondo Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing