We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old girl, fixed up nicely!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in Redondo Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed December 24, 2012

We called ahead because we were going to be getting in late and they staff of the phone was very nice, when we checked in however the new staff member seemed just ast tired as we were after a long day of walking and driving.The rooms in this hotel are huge and very pretty! You can tell this hotel is an older beach side property but they have done some very lovely updates (new paint, carpet, furniture). Very nice shower. I believe our king size bed must have been a California King because it was much bigger than the beds we had stayed in on the rest of our trip. I wish we could have stayed longer to explore the property more and enjoy the pool/beach. They have free bike rental which is pretty amazing. We were on the third floor and had a very good view of the Marina. Booked directly with the hotel, great price! Valet price was similar to what we paid eveywhere else.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ellie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnneliseHolyoak, Public Relations Manager at The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2013

Ellie, thank you for your generous and intuitive review. We appreciate your kind comments and are thrilled you enjoyed our hotel. We are very happy to hear you had a nice trip. We hope that next time you are near Los Angeles you are able to stay with us again.

Have a happy New Year!

Annelise Holyoak
The Portofino Hotel & Marina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,663)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,240 - 1,246 of 1,663 reviews

Reviewed December 12, 2012

We spent a night at Portofino last night as it was my girlfriend's birthday. We needed a place that was close enough to Los Angeles to get back for work in the morning and Portofino worked perfectly.

From the time of reservation through check out, everything was perfect. The staff was friendly and helpful from valet to restaurant to front desk and room service.

Rooms look recently updated and they are very comfortable. We overlooked the ocean side on the 3rd floor and it's definitely worth booking the ocean side. We had seals outside our window so we got to enjoy them, but never heard them with the balcony door closed.

Baleen restaurant is great also. We had dinner overlooking the harbor and our meal was outstanding (try the snapper!). And room service in the morning was quick, hot, and really tasty (this is something that a lot of hotels don't do well).

Most of all, we enjoyed the holiday feel of our trip as the property is decorated really well for the holidays. It got us in the holiday spirit!

Thanks so much to the whole team at Portofino!

Room Tip: The ocean side rooms are definitely worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FineF00die
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnneliseHolyoak, Public Relations Manager at The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2012

Thank you for the wonderful feedback and thoughtful review. We are thrilled your girlfriend had a nice birthday celebration! It sounds like you had a great stay in the area. Thank you for your compliments on our holiday décor. We have so much fun decorating the hotel this time of year. Next year, you can visit us for the Redondo Beach Holiday Boat Parade. It’s a very special way to celebrate the holidays. We hope to serve you again soon.

Have a Happy New Year!

Annelise Holyoak
The Portofino Hotel & Marina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2012

First the pros: great location, good value, and a front desk manager who cares.

Recently I stayed for 4 nights on Priceline/Hotwire bids, and asked for and received early check-in, a room on the 3rd floor, and was able to get an ocean view for a nominal fee.

The location on the harbor was perfect, other reviewers complain about the seals' noise but one is after all by the ocean - personally I found the setting overall very relaxing and convenient.

Value was good given what I paid vs. the rack rates.

I have to give a compliment to Sebastian (front desk manager), who remedied a service issue by comping lunch and offering a free movie. He demonstrated great customer service and is a valuable asset to the hotel and its customers.

On the minus side, rooms with connecting doors have thin walls and one can easily hear conversations in the other room, so I would recommend getting a non-adjoining room.

Also, overall service was very uneven - one morning I did not get the wake-up call that I requested, and was not told about cable TV maintenance that was scheduled, so TV reception was suddenly interrupted for an hour without warning (also accompanied by intermittent thumping on the roof). I was told by a flyer under my door that there would be an interruption in water service one day but when I called the front desk, I was told not to worry about it. So I was told about planned maintenance that didn't happen and was not told about planned maintenance that did happen. Housekeeping knocked on my door a few times even though I had the "Do not disturb" sign on the door. Finally, while my lunch was comped, the food quality was middling (don't order the fries unless you like grease).

In sum - ok, YMMV.

Room Tip: Ocean view 3rd floor (for a nominal upgrade fee) provides the best views, try to get a corner room f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Travellingbug07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnneliseHolyoak, Public Relations Manager at The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2012

Thank you for the constructive feedback and kind comments for Sebastian. He is a wonderful team member and fantastic front desk supervisor. We appreciate your concerns and will use these comments to improve our hotel and service. We apologize you had trouble with your TV reception. We are working hard to improve the hotel and upgrading to HDTV. Unfortunately for a brief period of time, this caused reception issues. We can assure you however that this will not happen again and that our Television quality is very important to us.

Please know that we appreciate your business and would like to welcome you back again one day.

Have a happy holiday!

Annelise Holyoak
The Portofino Hotel & Marina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

Spacious room and bathroom, sliding door on patio brought in balmy CA air, fireplace in bar for cool fall night, free bikes for morning ride along ocean, close to pier and variety of restaurants. View does include parking lot, but still fun to see all the masts bobbing in the harbor. Connecting rooms for family. Visitors were able to park for free at hotel while meeting for drink. Staff helpful.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UTtransplant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnneliseHolyoak, Public Relations Manager at The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2012

Thank you for the insightful comments. We appreciate your kind remarks. Opening the patio doors really does let in the amazing California breeze. We hope on your next visit you can experience our ocean side rooms.

Have a happy holiday,

Annelise Holyoak
The Portofino Hotel & Marina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2012

stayed in this hotel for 5 nights for a family function. the room was called marina view but was really a car park view, we could have upgraded to ocean view but this really a view of a brickwall and some sea. basically this is a very good quality motel the rooms are spacious enough and the beds are very comfortable and if it sold itself as this it would be fine, it is not a ccountry house style house hotel as the website pretends, yes it has a beautiful lounge area although the bar is only open in the evening . the pool is tiny and this is not a hotel if you wanted to stay on site most of the day, it is agood base for touring the area and is very clean. there is nothing really wrong with the hotel it just isn't quite what it thinks it is. However for the rate in this area it does make decent value. I would say go there and enjoy the local area.

Room Tip: best rooms on 2nd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hayesone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnneliseHolyoak, Public Relations Manager at The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2012

Thank you for the constructive feedback. We will use your comments to improve the hotel and our staff. We hope that you enjoyed your stay. Our marina view rooms are wonderful for viewing the marina but if you prefer an optimal view, we do offer fantastic 3rd floor ocean rooms for ideal views! If you are in the area again, we encourage you to see them! Thank you again for taking the time to review the property and we hope you are able to visit again.

Have a happy holiday!

Annelise Holyoak
The Portofino Hotel & Marina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2012

Our "ocean view" room didn't actually give us a view of othe ocean; we san a small inlet of water contained by a rock wall, and the ocean was beyond the rock wall. Still, this is a pleasant place to stay, with a good restaurant within walking distance. If you choose to stay here, ask for a room in the upper levels, where you'll probaby get a better ocean view.

Stayed: November 2012
2  Thank honu024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnneliseHolyoak, Public Relations Manager at The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2012

Thank you for the intuitive comments. We appreciate your point of view and will use these comments to better the hotel and our staff. We understand that some guests may not want to view the rock wall and therefore we do offer rooms on higher levels for optimal views. The rock wall is there for safety. We are so pleased you enjoyed the restaurant and its proximity to the hotel.

Please let us know if there is anything we can do to improve your future stay.

Have a happy holiday,

Annelise Holyoak
The Portofino Hotel & Marina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Actually a very nice location to look out at the ocean, although you will need to walk a ways to get to a beach (The hotel boarders up to the break walls). In addition, at certain times, the noise from the sea lions is unreal in the mornings (if you leave your doors open for the fresh breeze). Rooms are comfortable and the staff is friendly. Another 'drawback' is the hotel isn't really close to things like coffee shops, quick-type marts, etc. Breakfast next to the hotel is pretty good (the hotel's restaurant) - but again is pricey ($12-$17pp) for basic breakfast foods.

Room Tip: The rooms on the back of the hotel face the ocean - much nicer views than the front rooms. If you g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnneliseHolyoak, Public Relations Manager at The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2012

Thank you for your constructive and helpful opinions. I assure you that we use these viewpoints to improve the hotel and its amenities. We are thrilled you enjoyed the location and the hotel's proximity to the water. We also appreciate your kind comments about our friendly staff. Please visit us again soon and have a Happy Holiday Season!

Annelise Holyoak
The Portofino Hotel & Marina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Redondo Beach
0.2 mi away
The Redondo Beach Hotel
The Redondo Beach Hotel
#2 of 19 in Redondo Beach
491 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Redondo Beach & Marina
0.2 mi away
Shade Hotel
Shade Hotel
#1 of 19 in Redondo Beach
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach
Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach
#1 of 7 in Hermosa Beach
875 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Hermosa
Hotel Hermosa
#3 of 7 in Hermosa Beach
171 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Los Angeles/Redondo Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel

Address: 260 Portofino Way, Redondo Beach, CA 90277-2033
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Redondo Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Redondo Beach
#1 Romantic Hotel in Redondo Beach
#1 Green Hotel in Redondo Beach
#3 Family Hotel in Redondo Beach
Price Range: $185 - $327 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Portofino Hotel & Marina is located on a private peninsula, Redondo beach’s only waterfront hotel. A rich tapestry of panoramic views greets you, with the harbor, the Pacific Ocean and Catalina Island. The hotel lies just six miles south of Los Angeles International Airport, a short stroll to shops and restaurants of Redondo Beach. We offer our guests an authentic Socal lifestyle experience in a casual nautical-chic environment, allowing them to relax and let loose, embracing their “endless summer “endlessly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portofino Hotel And Yacht
Portofino Inn Redondo Beach
Portofino Redondo Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing