We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Greate location and beautiful sea soroundings” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in Redondo Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Greate location and beautiful sea soroundings”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

The place is fantastic, close to Hermosa, Manhatan and all the Redondo Beach amenities. Bar Club Balee was the best!
Gym is rather precarious but who needs a fitness center at the beach?
Seals and Sea Lions, priceless!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank zaspi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnneliseHolyoak, Public Relations Manager at The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Thank you for your amazing feedback! We love to hear guests happy with the location and the wonderful wildlife residents! We appreciate your comments about the closeness to all the beach cities – it’s a big plus to staying with us. We will absolutely use your comments about the fitness center for future hotel planning.

Thank you again, we look forward to seeing you again!

Annelise Holyoak
The Portofino Hotel & Marina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,510 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    797
    406
    167
    79
    61
See reviews for
346
547
65
304
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (547)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Pleasanton, California
Level Contributor
60 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012 via mobile

This is a well-maintained older hotel with nicely decorated rooms and friendly, helpful staff. We chose an up-grade room with an "Ocean View". Our first observation was that the view was of the breakwater, with the ocean obscured by a man-made berm. No beach or landscaping, just cement. The small balcony had two plastic Chairs and a little table. Really not worth the premium price. The second issue was the absence of drawers to facilitate unpacking. You must live out of your suitcase at this hotel. This is more suitable for the single, business or short-term guests. For us it was a detraction. Parking at this facility is pricey. We own a late model well maintained car, so we chose to the premium priced valet parking. Be advised that it appears the valet parks your car out in a lot amongst the self-park vehicles. We were shocked when our car was delivered upon checki-out covered with water spots from the sprinkler system. These spots had dried in the morning sun and had actually "etched" in the finish. It cost us an extra $100 for a detail shop to polish out these spots which still show some remnants of the damage. Again, this facility is more suitable for the business traveller with a rental car.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank BobnNancjoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnneliseHolyoak, Public Relations Manager at The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Thank you for the constructive review and extensive comments about the property and our helpful staff. We appreciate your kind remarks about the nicely decorated hotel and friendly employees. We apologize if your lower ocean floor room was not to your liking. We do offer higher ocean floor rooms with optimal views. The short breakwater wall is relatively low and there for guest safety. In case of a storm, the wall will protect the hotel and its guests. We will use your comments to improve the hotel and its amenities as well as the parking.

As always, guest satisfaction is our number one priority. We hope that you can visit us again and we can improve your thoughts on the property.

Thank you for your business, have a Happy Holiday!

Annelise Holyoak
The Portofino Hotel & Marina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
44 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

As other reviewers have written, this hotel is set in a very nice area by the marina. Front desk and valets were very nice. Room was clean except for the bathtub which needed to be updated. Bed was very comfortable and there were the regular toilet amenities. We had a marina view, but am sure the ocean view would be fantastic. I would recommend to friends who are in the area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mart63nyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnneliseHolyoak, Public Relations Manager at The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
We appreciate your kind comments and constructive thoughts! Thank you for taking the time to review our beautiful hotel and recommending it to friends. We look forward to another visit with you. Have a Happy Holiday Season!

Annelise Holyoak
The Portofino Hotel & Marina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mayaguez, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
233 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

This is a nice hotel with clean rooms, beautiful foyer and waterfront views. The front desk and valet staff are very nice and helpful as well as the reservation staff that acommodated our business requests with ease and efficiency. I have some problems with the hotel that will make me search for a different property in the future. First, the hallway on the third room was musty smelling and very narrow. I ordered breakfast for the first morning and it never arrived. On the day of my checkout I left in my room a bag with very nice toiletry products I have purchased and even tough I know this is my mistake for leaving it behind, I was very dissapointed when I called a few hours later and it was not in the lost and found. Some cleaning ladies will be smelling really nice! I don't feel secure staying in a place where cleaning employees are not very honest. It was also very hard to contact lost and found, they never returned my calls and it took three phone calls to finally receive an answer about my items. Finally I was charged for the wifi (which is terribly overpriced at $12 per day!) even tough it should have been included in my corporate rate. This problem was fixed quickly by the front desk.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sandra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnneliseHolyoak, Public Relations Manager at The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
I am very sorry about this experience. There is a bag in the back of the front desk that matches the description of your items. Please contact me directly at aholyoak@hotelportofino.com

Thank you!

Annelise Holyoak
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, Colorado
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

Prepped for a business conference. Nice to be in a hotel that does not feel like a chain... While good size, still a bit quaint in the furnishings and rooms. Walking distance to both Huntington and Redondo beaches and restaurants and bars. The hotel restaurant is separate from the main building which appears to cause simple requests such as a cup of coffee to require room service or a walk across the parking lot. While near the water, don't expect beach front and get a upper level room if you want to see th sunset from your westward facing balcony... If you have one of those rooms.

Overall, an enjoyable stay but would look for other options if I were with my family.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnneliseHolyoak, Public Relations Manager at The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Thank you Mark- we appreciate your business and nice comments! We understand that staying with a Family might require some additional consideration. We do however have some great family packages! Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel at such high regards.

We look forward to your next stay and hope you have a great Holiday season!

Annelise Holyoak
The Portofino Hotel & Marina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg / Knysna
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at The Portofino Hotel & Marina in June this year. Best location in Redondo Beach. Had fun taking bicycles which are available at no charge from the hotel and cycling up the coast. Breakfast service could have been more efficient/faster. We had two dinners at the hotel restaurant during our stay - and on both occasions the food and service was very good. Polly's on The Pier is a good choice for breakfast or lunch - or even just a coffee etc. Hermosa Beach also a good option for lunch or dinner, esp Hennessey's.
The bar / lounge area at The Portofino is a great venue for pre-dinner drinks - with a lovely view of the harbour.
If we stayed in Redondo Beach again, we would definitely stay at The Portofino.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vanZylduBruin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnneliseHolyoak, Public Relations Manager at The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Thank you for the phenomenal evaluation! We are so delighted you enjoyed your Redondo Beach vacation! We love when our guests can experience the complimentary bikes and the surrounding area. They really are a nice treat.

We look forward to your next stay! Feel free to “Like” us on Facebook for exclusive offers!

Annelise Holyoak
The Portofino Hotel & Marina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

From our arrival we were impressed by the helpful staff - we were given an early check in. Our room was very comfortable and quiet with great views of the harbour and ocean. We enjoyed sitting on the balcony, watching the seals & the spectacular sunsets. We enjoyed the location of the hotel which was a short walk to the pier. there were cafes and restaurants within close distance. Overall, an enjoyable experience.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrgS_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnneliseHolyoak, Public Relations Manager at The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
We are thrilled you had a nice trip! Thank you for the wonderful review! Watching the seals and sunsets are some of the best things to do at the hotel. We appreciate your business and your kind words.

Please come again soon,
Annelise Holyoak
The Portofino Hotel & Marina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Redondo Beach
0.3 mi away
The Redondo Beach Hotel
The Redondo Beach Hotel
#1 of 19 in Redondo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Redondo Beach & Marina
1.2 mi away
Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach
Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach
#1 of 7 in Hermosa Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Shade Hotel
Shade Hotel
#7 of 19 in Redondo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
2.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Redondo Beach Inn
1.9 mi away
Hotel Hermosa
Hotel Hermosa
#3 of 7 in Hermosa Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel

Property: The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel
Address: 260 Portofino Way, Redondo Beach, CA 90277
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Redondo Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Redondo Beach
#1 Business Hotel in Redondo Beach
#1 Romantic Hotel in Redondo Beach
#3 Family Hotel in Redondo Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Portofino Hotel & Marina is located on a private peninsula, Redondo beach’s only waterfront hotel. A rich tapestry of panoramic views greets you, with the harbor, the Pacific Ocean and Catalina Island. The hotel lies just six miles south of Los Angeles International Airport, a short stroll to shops and restaurants of Redondo Beach. We offer our guests an authentic Socal lifestyle experience in a casual nautical-chic environment, allowing them to relax and let loose, embracing their “endless summer “endlessly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Jetsetter, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portofino Hotel And Yacht
Portofino Inn Redondo Beach
Portofino Redondo Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing