We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice setting, terrible cleaning staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in Redondo Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed October 29, 2012

This is a nice hotel with clean rooms, beautiful foyer and waterfront views. The front desk and valet staff are very nice and helpful as well as the reservation staff that acommodated our business requests with ease and efficiency. I have some problems with the hotel that will make me search for a different property in the future. First, the hallway on the third room was musty smelling and very narrow. I ordered breakfast for the first morning and it never arrived. On the day of my checkout I left in my room a bag with very nice toiletry products I have purchased and even tough I know this is my mistake for leaving it behind, I was very dissapointed when I called a few hours later and it was not in the lost and found. Some cleaning ladies will be smelling really nice! I don't feel secure staying in a place where cleaning employees are not very honest. It was also very hard to contact lost and found, they never returned my calls and it took three phone calls to finally receive an answer about my items. Finally I was charged for the wifi (which is terribly overpriced at $12 per day!) even tough it should have been included in my corporate rate. This problem was fixed quickly by the front desk.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sandra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnneliseHolyoak, Public Relations Manager at The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2012

I am very sorry about this experience. There is a bag in the back of the front desk that matches the description of your items. Please contact me directly at aholyoak@hotelportofino.com

Thank you!

Annelise Holyoak

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,678)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,267 - 1,273 of 1,678 reviews

Reviewed October 28, 2012

Prepped for a business conference. Nice to be in a hotel that does not feel like a chain... While good size, still a bit quaint in the furnishings and rooms. Walking distance to both Huntington and Redondo beaches and restaurants and bars. The hotel restaurant is separate from the main building which appears to cause simple requests such as a cup of coffee to require room service or a walk across the parking lot. While near the water, don't expect beach front and get a upper level room if you want to see th sunset from your westward facing balcony... If you have one of those rooms.

Overall, an enjoyable stay but would look for other options if I were with my family.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
1  Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnneliseHolyoak, Public Relations Manager at The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2012

Thank you Mark- we appreciate your business and nice comments! We understand that staying with a Family might require some additional consideration. We do however have some great family packages! Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel at such high regards.

We look forward to your next stay and hope you have a great Holiday season!

Annelise Holyoak
The Portofino Hotel & Marina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at The Portofino Hotel & Marina in June this year. Best location in Redondo Beach. Had fun taking bicycles which are available at no charge from the hotel and cycling up the coast. Breakfast service could have been more efficient/faster. We had two dinners at the hotel restaurant during our stay - and on both occasions the food and service was very good. Polly's on The Pier is a good choice for breakfast or lunch - or even just a coffee etc. Hermosa Beach also a good option for lunch or dinner, esp Hennessey's.
The bar / lounge area at The Portofino is a great venue for pre-dinner drinks - with a lovely view of the harbour.
If we stayed in Redondo Beach again, we would definitely stay at The Portofino.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vanZylduBruin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnneliseHolyoak, Public Relations Manager at The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2012

Thank you for the phenomenal evaluation! We are so delighted you enjoyed your Redondo Beach vacation! We love when our guests can experience the complimentary bikes and the surrounding area. They really are a nice treat.

We look forward to your next stay! Feel free to “Like” us on Facebook for exclusive offers!

Annelise Holyoak
The Portofino Hotel & Marina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

From our arrival we were impressed by the helpful staff - we were given an early check in. Our room was very comfortable and quiet with great views of the harbour and ocean. We enjoyed sitting on the balcony, watching the seals & the spectacular sunsets. We enjoyed the location of the hotel which was a short walk to the pier. there were cafes and restaurants within close distance. Overall, an enjoyable experience.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrgS_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnneliseHolyoak, Public Relations Manager at The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2012

We are thrilled you had a nice trip! Thank you for the wonderful review! Watching the seals and sunsets are some of the best things to do at the hotel. We appreciate your business and your kind words.

Please come again soon,
Annelise Holyoak
The Portofino Hotel & Marina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

My family stayed at the Portofino for a long weekend(3 nights) to attend a wedding. We were all delighted with the service at this hotel. The staff are remarkably helpful and friendly. The hotel is well decorated and has a warm and inviting decor. The rooms were well appointed and maintained. I would return without a moment's hesitation.

Room Tip: You pay a little more for the sea view rooms - which I thought was worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnneliseHolyoak, Public Relations Manager at The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2012

What a wonderful thing to hear! We are so pleased that you enjoyed yourself! It’s great to hear reviews from our happy guests. We are very happy that you were able to experience our outstanding staff and the warm hotel décor.

We appreciate you kind words very much and look forward to your next visit!

Annelise Holyoak
The Portofino Hotel & Marina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Stayed for four nights, paid for three, but still close to $375 a night for the four nights.
Wanted to stay longer but couldn,t justify. Stayed at the Crown Plaza 500 yards away not as good or views but at half the price the better value.

Also my home pool is bigger than the hotels. Staff and ambience excellent however.

Room Tip: pay the extra and get a seaview room but only for levels two and three
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dragons62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnneliseHolyoak, Public Relations Manager at The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2012

We appreciate your comments. Thank you for the excellent scorecard. We find that our pricing is standard among other 4 star hotel is the area but we can understand your feelings. We are pleased that you were able to experience the hotel and our outstanding staff. Feel free to visit our website for special flash sales and great offers.

We look forward to hosting you again soon!

Annelise Holyoak
The Portofino Hotel & Marina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

We stayed at the Portofino Hotel for 4 night this october for my brothers wedding in Redondo Beach and this has to be best service we have experienced. My wife and I have travel alot this year with our 2 year old son and we have a high maintence list of request when it comes to hotels. Everything from the size of the bathroom , which the travel cot goes in ! To the everyday request to heat his milk before bedtime.

I can safely say without doubt that every one of the staff here goes out of their way to make your stay perfect. It seems as if they take pleasure from making your day not just because they're getting paid to do so. From Emma at guest services to the many concierges' we think you'll find it hard to beat.

The whole property is clean,modern and well kept. The hot tub is amazing. !

The hotel is ideally located to walk to beaches or the pier . The areas of Manhattan Beach and Hermosa are only a short cab ride away and offer plenty of shops , places to eat and things to do.

Its not just us, the 50 strong wedding party all agree and would highly recommend a visit to Redondo and a stay at the Portofino ..

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank keefandkylie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnneliseHolyoak, Public Relations Manager at The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2012

Wow! What a nice review! Thank you so much for the kind comments. We are so excited that your stay was so enjoyable. We will be sure to relay your thoughtful remarks to Emma and the staff.

We hope you will visit us again soon.

Annelise Holyoak
The Portofino Hotel & Marina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Redondo Beach
0.2 mi away
The Redondo Beach Hotel
The Redondo Beach Hotel
#2 of 19 in Redondo Beach
497 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Redondo Beach & Marina
0.2 mi away
Shade Hotel
Shade Hotel
#1 of 19 in Redondo Beach
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach
Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach
#1 of 7 in Hermosa Beach
879 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Hermosa
Hotel Hermosa
#3 of 7 in Hermosa Beach
173 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Los Angeles/Redondo Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel

Address: 260 Portofino Way, Redondo Beach, CA 90277-2033
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Redondo Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Redondo Beach
#1 Green Hotel in Redondo Beach
#1 Business Hotel in Redondo Beach
Price Range: $190 - $327 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Portofino Hotel & Marina in Redondo Beach at King Harbor, a haven for business and leisure travelers alike. The Portofino boasts breathtaking scenes from sunsets and sailboats to dolphins and sea lions. Our guests enjoy an authentic SoCal lifestyle experience in a casual nautical-chic environment, allowing them to relax and let loose, embracing their "Endless Summer", endlessly at one of the best Redondo Beach Hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portofino Hotel And Yacht
Portofino Inn Redondo Beach
Portofino Redondo Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing