We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Residence Inn Los Angeles Redondo Beach(Redondo Beach)(Great Value!)
$127
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Redondo Beach Hotel(Redondo Beach)(Great Value!)
$178
$163
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$90
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Crowne Plaza Redondo Beach & Marina(Redondo Beach)(Great Value!)
$153
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Shade Hotel(Redondo Beach)(Great Value!)
$242
$210
Official Hotel
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Best Western Redondo Beach Galleria Inn(Redondo Beach)(Great Value!)
$122
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Redondo Pier Inn(Redondo Beach)
$90
$87
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$141
$129
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$84
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Seaside Motel(Redondo Beach)(Great Value!)
$120
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,774)
Filter reviews
1,774 results
Traveler rating
919
475
202
99
79
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
919
475
202
99
79
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssea lionsbaleen restaurantocean viewfront desksea wallnautical themepaddle boarderscomplimentary bikesfirst floorbeautiful hotelvalet staffself parkingsanta monicabike rentalslos angelesnice locationla area
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,356 - 1,361 of 1,774 reviews
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Prepped for a business conference. Nice to be in a hotel that does not feel like a chain... While good size, still a bit quaint in the furnishings and rooms. Walking distance to both Huntington and Redondo beaches and restaurants and bars. The hotel restaurant is separate from the main building which appears to cause simple requests such as a cup of coffee to require room service or a walk across the parking lot. While near the water, don't expect beach front and get a upper level room if you want to see th sunset from your westward facing balcony... If you have one of those rooms.

Overall, an enjoyable stay but would look for other options if I were with my family.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
1  Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnneliseHolyoak, Public Relations Manager at The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2012

Thank you Mark- we appreciate your business and nice comments! We understand that staying with a Family might require some additional consideration. We do however have some great family packages! Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel at such high regards.

We look forward to your next stay and hope you have a great Holiday season!

Annelise Holyoak
The Portofino Hotel & Marina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at The Portofino Hotel & Marina in June this year. Best location in Redondo Beach. Had fun taking bicycles which are available at no charge from the hotel and cycling up the coast. Breakfast service could have been more efficient/faster. We had two dinners at the hotel restaurant during our stay - and on both occasions the food and service was very good. Polly's on The Pier is a good choice for breakfast or lunch - or even just a coffee etc. Hermosa Beach also a good option for lunch or dinner, esp Hennessey's.
The bar / lounge area at The Portofino is a great venue for pre-dinner drinks - with a lovely view of the harbour.
If we stayed in Redondo Beach again, we would definitely stay at The Portofino.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vanZylduBruin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnneliseHolyoak, Public Relations Manager at The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2012

Thank you for the phenomenal evaluation! We are so delighted you enjoyed your Redondo Beach vacation! We love when our guests can experience the complimentary bikes and the surrounding area. They really are a nice treat.

We look forward to your next stay! Feel free to “Like” us on Facebook for exclusive offers!

Annelise Holyoak
The Portofino Hotel & Marina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

From our arrival we were impressed by the helpful staff - we were given an early check in. Our room was very comfortable and quiet with great views of the harbour and ocean. We enjoyed sitting on the balcony, watching the seals & the spectacular sunsets. We enjoyed the location of the hotel which was a short walk to the pier. there were cafes and restaurants within close distance. Overall, an enjoyable experience.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrgS_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnneliseHolyoak, Public Relations Manager at The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2012

We are thrilled you had a nice trip! Thank you for the wonderful review! Watching the seals and sunsets are some of the best things to do at the hotel. We appreciate your business and your kind words.

Please come again soon,
Annelise Holyoak
The Portofino Hotel & Marina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

My family stayed at the Portofino for a long weekend(3 nights) to attend a wedding. We were all delighted with the service at this hotel. The staff are remarkably helpful and friendly. The hotel is well decorated and has a warm and inviting decor. The rooms were well appointed and maintained. I would return without a moment's hesitation.

Room Tip: You pay a little more for the sea view rooms - which I thought was worth it!
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnneliseHolyoak, Public Relations Manager at The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2012

What a wonderful thing to hear! We are so pleased that you enjoyed yourself! It’s great to hear reviews from our happy guests. We are very happy that you were able to experience our outstanding staff and the warm hotel décor.

We appreciate you kind words very much and look forward to your next visit!

Annelise Holyoak
The Portofino Hotel & Marina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Stayed for four nights, paid for three, but still close to $375 a night for the four nights.
Wanted to stay longer but couldn,t justify. Stayed at the Crown Plaza 500 yards away not as good or views but at half the price the better value.

Also my home pool is bigger than the hotels. Staff and ambience excellent however.

Room Tip: pay the extra and get a seaview room but only for levels two and three
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dragons62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnneliseHolyoak, Public Relations Manager at The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2012

We appreciate your comments. Thank you for the excellent scorecard. We find that our pricing is standard among other 4 star hotel is the area but we can understand your feelings. We are pleased that you were able to experience the hotel and our outstanding staff. Feel free to visit our website for special flash sales and great offers.

We look forward to hosting you again soon!

Annelise Holyoak
The Portofino Hotel & Marina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews