We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Holiday of a Lifetime.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in Redondo Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
nancy77
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Holiday of a Lifetime.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

We have just returned from a 14 day holiday at the wonderful Portofino Yacht Club Hotel. This hotel is exquisite, the location, the rooms, the staff, from the moment you enter the lobby, it all begins, the attention to detail for your comfort, your every need catered for. we cannot rate this hotel high enough. Go and experience the delightful stay we have just had for yourself, you wont regret it.

Room Tip: The Marina rooms have a wonderful view, we recommend the 3rd floor, the sea view rooms are also wond...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nancy7764
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnneliseHolyoak, Public Relations Manager at The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
Thank you for the kind comments! We appreciate your sincere review! It sounds like you had a wonderful trip. It’s so nice that you were able to stay for 5 nights. We hope you had a very relaxing vacation. We genuinely look forward to seeing you again!

Annelise Holyoak
The Portofino Hotel & Marina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,510 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    797
    406
    167
    79
    61
See reviews for
346
547
65
304
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (547)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

Stayed in July just for one night. Had a double double which was very small by US standards or even by UK standards. Corridors smelt damp.
Bar in hotel shut very early and we were ushered over the car park to their separate bar which to be fair was fine.
In middle of night it became apparent air con wasn't working either so had to sleep with patio door open but still very hot.
Low point of a month touring US and Canada.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark201105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnneliseHolyoak, Public Relations Manager at The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
Mark, we apologize that your stay was not 100% satisfactory! We pride ourselves on the cleanliness and efficiency of the hotel and our standards. Please know that our intentions are to exceed guest’s expectations. We are very sorry that you experienced some shortfalls. Please know that we will look into these issues and address them accordingly. We hope the rest of your US tour went well.

Thank you!

Annelise Holyoak
The Portofino Hotel & Marina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

I wish there was a way to rate on "charm" - the one piece that the typical evaluation of room comfort, service, food, etc. completely misses, and that is the most important element of this hotel. It is a cute little hotel away from the hustle and bustle of the city. It is hidden away in the marina, and the location is in easy walking distance of Redondo and Hermosa beach. I wasn't sure what to expect from this boutique hotel, and the property isn't overhwelming from the outside, but its charm is apparent from the moment you walk in the lobby.

It is a small property, but the lobby is comfortable and is one that serves as a central living room for all of the hotel guests, complete with chairs flanking the central fireplace...which could be perceived as a bit stuffy, but I found that it was a wonderfully diverse room that people really seemed to use. During my 2-night stay (first night was for business but I stayed a second night after our meetings to relax), it was used as a gathering point for people staying for business meetings, reception area for many a bride meeting with the wedding planners, quiet respite with open windows to feel the cool ocean breeze and watch boats sail by, and evening bar/hangout for a drink before dinner. Also, wireless internet is free in the lobby (though there is a charge for internet in the guestrooms).

The rooms aren't big, but were sufficient for my husband and me. I think would have been a bit tight with kids or more than two adults, and the bed and pillows were super comfortable. Our east-facing room was on the 3rd floor, so while we didn't have the ocean view, we were high enough to look past the parking lot to the marina which provided a pleasant-enough view, and the balcony and chairs outside were perfect to enjoy our morning coffee. Bathroom was nicely appointed, though the shower/tub was a bit small (maybe not so much "small" but rather not oversized like many of the newer hotels have these days). The bathroom is nicely separated from the sleeping area, and I loved that the bathroom lights were on motion sensors - such a silly thing to make me happy, but in the middle of the night it's great not to have to fumble for a lightswitch - plus the light initially comes on fairly dim so you aren't blinded). There is also a small working space/desk tucked away in a corner past the bed, so while a bit hard to access did provide some good space to work - although I couldn't get the internet to work in my room. I would definitely recommend requesting a room on either 2nd or 3rd floor, as 1st floor east-facing will provide lovely views of the parking lot, and 1st floor ocean views will be blocked by the giant concrete retaining walls. Also, the hotel was very quiet my first night - didn't have any trouble with noise, but I could hear my lively neighbors through the wall of the adjoining room on the second night. Thank goodness they didn't keep up while i was trying to sleep, as I could clearly hear their entire conversation and that would have been distracting. Only other odd thing I might mention is that there was a blank wall across from the closet - not normally something about which I would comment, but there were nails in the wall which would imply something used to hang there but was recently removed...just seemed strange to me to have what I perceived to be an unfinished project in a guestroom.

The Baleen was wonderful and provides the room service as well as bar service in the main hotel lobby. The location across the driveway (30 feet - really close!) was neat - breakfast and lunch are served downstairs with great views of the marina (outside seating available), and dinner is served upstairs. there's also a great bar upstairs for guests who want to stay up late (more lively atmosphere than the quiet lobby bar in the main building). I had breakfast, two lunches and a dinner (delivered to the quiet lobby bar) that did not disappoint, though service on my last day was much slower than what I had previously experienced - I think they forgot about our table, since it took 20 minutes for someone to take our order and that was only after we flagged another waiter down.

There is a (really) small pool and hot tub, though the view from my lounge chair at the pool isn't as nice as I had hoped - the view of the ocean is blocked by a concrete wall - and there is also an excercise room. In addition, the best part - the hotel provides free bikes to borrow, which is the best way to explore the redondo beach area. Note they are first-come, first-served, so you may consider trying to find a bike fairly early in the day. The location is also convenient to go for a run or walk on redondo beach or past the pier to hermosa beach.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DallasPillowTalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnneliseHolyoak, Public Relations Manager at The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
We appreciate you thoughtful and thorough review. Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments. It sounds like you really enjoyed your stay! We also appreciate that you were able to enjoy our charming hotel. We pride ourselves on being a create Los Angeles hideaway. We are close enough to the hustle and bustle but also secluded on our private peninsula.

Thank for the comments about your room and pool. We will be sure to look into everything. We use the reviews to improve the hotel. We are so happy you were able to enjoy BALEENkitchen, our lobby lounge and our complimentary bikes! They are great additions to the property.

We hope that you can join us again soon!

Annelise Holyoak
The Portofino Hotel & Marina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012 via mobile

We booked the hotel through a travel agent website. It was a good price and the reviews were good. Upon arrival we were welcomed with open arms and because it was our honeymoon we asked if we could upgrade the room with an ocean view. They accommodated us with a beautiful ground floor room facing the ocean and with a jacuzzi. The hotel was very clean and had a nice pool area facing the ocean with a lovely hot tub. Only two things I can moan about is the $25 over night parking, which seems bad considering you are paying already to stay in the hotel. If you stay for a week it can become quite costly I imagine. Also when we checked in, they asked for a credit card to be linked to the room but we werent properly advised that they would actually take the money out of the account. We had a prepaid card for the use of our holiday and this took 20% of our spending away from us immediately. On a more positive note, the staff were very friendly and the Baleen across the way from the hotel, the food was amazing. I really enjoyed my breakfasts there. There are also great local restaurants like the cheesecake factory, Ruby's diner and joes crab shack. The local beaches are great, but I would suggest renting a car if you want to venture out into Hollywood or San Diego. There is a Enterprise rent a car about 10 minutes walk from the hotel. The hotel also has close links with VIP tours which will also take you various attractions in LA. They pick you up and drop you back off at the hotel. We would definitely go back as it was a perfect honeymoon.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank McEvoy07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnneliseHolyoak, Public Relations Manager at The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Thank you for the wonderful comments about your honeymoon. We are so pleased you were able to experience an ocean Jacuzzi room! The parking charge is standard for all hotels in the area but we do offer a Parking & Wi-Fi package for guests who would like a discounted price. This is a great value for guests staying multiple nights.

We apologize that you were not told about using a debit card. All hotels hold a percentage from debit cards to cover damages. The hold is returned to you within 72hrs of check out. We understand this can be a surprise for guests that don’t travel often. Our apologies; we will make sure to inform guests beforehand.

It’s so wonderful to hear your nice comments about BALEENkitchen. We love to hear when guests enjoy the tasty menu. We hope you can join us again soon!

Thank you again for the kind review,

Annelise Holyoak
The Portofino Hotel & Marina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herzogenaurach, Germany
Level Contributor
233 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

So, the rooms were too small for a family of 4, but, apart from that, i have zero complaints. Location was brilliant, the 'free' bikes were a massive plus, you'd usually need to pay $100 for bike hire for a day, and cycling around Hermosa and Manhatten Beaches is good fun and easy. Receptionists, Valet and Concierge were all excellent and friendly. The $25 per day parking was excessive, and should somehow be averaged into the costs to avoid such a bad surprise at check in/out. No free WiFi in the rooms was also a small negative, as was the size of the pool, but with so many beaches close by that was a minor issue. We would definitely go back again though.

Room Tip: Ocean View has the 'Views', but also has the Sea Lions, who have no respect for late morning...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brades1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnneliseHolyoak, Public Relations Manager at The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to send us this helpful review! We are very happy that you were able to experience the bikes and surrounding area. Our complimentary bikes are a great way to experience the beautiful area. Next time you visit us, we offer a Parking & Wi-Fi package. This is a very good value. We also offer complimentary Wi-Fi in our lobby! We appreciate that you had a nice visit and we look forward to serving you again.

Annelise Holyoak
The Portofino Hotel & Marina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sacramento
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

Found a "deal" on Expedia and decided to give it a try. Rooms were darling, roomy, clean, great bed, great bathroom and well ventilated. Service was fabulous. Restaurant across the parking was excellent. People that worked there were happy and helpful.

Room Tip: Upstairs facing ocean - all great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kvvSacramento
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnneliseHolyoak, Public Relations Manager at The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Thank you for the kind review and beautiful comments. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Please visit us again soon!

Have a great fall season,

Annelise Holyoak
The Portofino Hotel & Marina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
st paul
Level Contributor
82 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

Great location, right between the ocean and the marina, either side has a good view. I'd stay away from the first floor, the higher the better.
Easy walk to the pier and either Redondo or Hermosa Beaches.
The restaurant is worth at least one visit, our breakfast there was very good.

Room Tip: Upper floors for better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank j k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnneliseHolyoak, Public Relations Manager at The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Thank you for the nice comments about BALEENkitchen and the hotel! We appreciate you taking the time to send us your high remarks! We agree that the top floors offer optimal views! We look forward to serving you again.

Have a great fall season!

Annelise Holyoak
The Portofino Hotel & Marina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Redondo Beach
0.3 mi away
The Redondo Beach Hotel
The Redondo Beach Hotel
#1 of 19 in Redondo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Redondo Beach & Marina
1.2 mi away
Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach
Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach
#1 of 7 in Hermosa Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 816 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Shade Hotel
Shade Hotel
#7 of 19 in Redondo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
2.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Redondo Beach Inn
1.9 mi away
Hotel Hermosa
Hotel Hermosa
#3 of 7 in Hermosa Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel

Property: The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel
Address: 260 Portofino Way, Redondo Beach, CA 90277
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Redondo Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Redondo Beach
#1 Green Hotel in Redondo Beach
#1 Business Hotel in Redondo Beach
#3 Family Hotel in Redondo Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Portofino Hotel & Marina is located on a private peninsula, Redondo beach’s only waterfront hotel. A rich tapestry of panoramic views greets you, with the harbor, the Pacific Ocean and Catalina Island. The hotel lies just six miles south of Los Angeles International Airport, a short stroll to shops and restaurants of Redondo Beach. We offer our guests an authentic Socal lifestyle experience in a casual nautical-chic environment, allowing them to relax and let loose, embracing their “endless summer “endlessly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portofino Hotel And Yacht
Portofino Inn Redondo Beach
Portofino Redondo Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing