We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Residence Inn Los Angeles Redondo Beach(Redondo Beach)(Great Value!)
$127
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$90
Booking.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$141
$129
GardenInn.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Redondo Beach Hotel(Redondo Beach)(Great Value!)
$178
$163
Official Site
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Shade Hotel(Redondo Beach)(Great Value!)
$242
$210
Official Hotel
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Best Western Redondo Beach Galleria Inn(Redondo Beach)(Great Value!)
$122
Agoda.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Crowne Plaza Redondo Beach & Marina(Redondo Beach)(Great Value!)
$153
Travelocity
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Seaside Motel(Redondo Beach)(Great Value!)
$120
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Redondo Pier Inn(Redondo Beach)
$90
$87
Hotels.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$84
Booking.com
View Deal
Average 3/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,774)
Filter reviews
1,774 results
Traveler rating
919
475
202
99
79
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
919
475
202
99
79
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssea lionsbaleen restaurantocean viewfront desksea wallnautical themepaddle boarderscomplimentary bikesfirst floorbeautiful hotelvalet staffself parkingsanta monicabike rentalslos angelesnice locationla area
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,368 - 1,373 of 1,774 reviews
Reviewed September 13, 2012 via mobile

We booked the hotel through a travel agent website. It was a good price and the reviews were good. Upon arrival we were welcomed with open arms and because it was our honeymoon we asked if we could upgrade the room with an ocean view. They accommodated us with a beautiful ground floor room facing the ocean and with a jacuzzi. The hotel was very clean and had a nice pool area facing the ocean with a lovely hot tub. Only two things I can moan about is the $25 over night parking, which seems bad considering you are paying already to stay in the hotel. If you stay for a week it can become quite costly I imagine. Also when we checked in, they asked for a credit card to be linked to the room but we werent properly advised that they would actually take the money out of the account. We had a prepaid card for the use of our holiday and this took 20% of our spending away from us immediately. On a more positive note, the staff were very friendly and the Baleen across the way from the hotel, the food was amazing. I really enjoyed my breakfasts there. There are also great local restaurants like the cheesecake factory, Ruby's diner and joes crab shack. The local beaches are great, but I would suggest renting a car if you want to venture out into Hollywood or San Diego. There is a Enterprise rent a car about 10 minutes walk from the hotel. The hotel also has close links with VIP tours which will also take you various attractions in LA. They pick you up and drop you back off at the hotel. We would definitely go back as it was a perfect honeymoon.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank McEvoy07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnneliseHolyoak, Public Relations Manager at The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2012

Thank you for the wonderful comments about your honeymoon. We are so pleased you were able to experience an ocean Jacuzzi room! The parking charge is standard for all hotels in the area but we do offer a Parking & Wi-Fi package for guests who would like a discounted price. This is a great value for guests staying multiple nights.

We apologize that you were not told about using a debit card. All hotels hold a percentage from debit cards to cover damages. The hold is returned to you within 72hrs of check out. We understand this can be a surprise for guests that don’t travel often. Our apologies; we will make sure to inform guests beforehand.

It’s so wonderful to hear your nice comments about BALEENkitchen. We love to hear when guests enjoy the tasty menu. We hope you can join us again soon!

Thank you again for the kind review,

Annelise Holyoak
The Portofino Hotel & Marina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

So, the rooms were too small for a family of 4, but, apart from that, i have zero complaints. Location was brilliant, the 'free' bikes were a massive plus, you'd usually need to pay $100 for bike hire for a day, and cycling around Hermosa and Manhatten Beaches is good fun and easy. Receptionists, Valet and Concierge were all excellent and friendly. The $25 per day parking was excessive, and should somehow be averaged into the costs to avoid such a bad surprise at check in/out. No free WiFi in the rooms was also a small negative, as was the size of the pool, but with so many beaches close by that was a minor issue. We would definitely go back again though.

Room Tip: Ocean View has the 'Views', but also has the Sea Lions, who have no respect for late morning lie-ins, and can be rather noisy.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brades1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnneliseHolyoak, Public Relations Manager at The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to send us this helpful review! We are very happy that you were able to experience the bikes and surrounding area. Our complimentary bikes are a great way to experience the beautiful area. Next time you visit us, we offer a Parking & Wi-Fi package. This is a very good value. We also offer complimentary Wi-Fi in our lobby! We appreciate that you had a nice visit and we look forward to serving you again.

Annelise Holyoak
The Portofino Hotel & Marina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

Found a "deal" on Expedia and decided to give it a try. Rooms were darling, roomy, clean, great bed, great bathroom and well ventilated. Service was fabulous. Restaurant across the parking was excellent. People that worked there were happy and helpful.

Room Tip: Upstairs facing ocean - all great views
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kvvSacramento
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnneliseHolyoak, Public Relations Manager at The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2012

Thank you for the kind review and beautiful comments. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Please visit us again soon!

Have a great fall season,

Annelise Holyoak
The Portofino Hotel & Marina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

Enjoyed 4 nights here with a room with a balcony overlooking the sea. Was really nice to just sit and relax on the balcony watching the sea lions. The hotel room was really nice, no faults at all with the room or the staff,especially the bell staff who helped book a trip we took and was happy to arrange transport for airport etc. The hotel gave a choice of going to either redondo beach or Huntington beach, we preferred Huntington as a place to go and relax on the beach. Although he beaches were a bit further away than what we expected.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank James A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnneliseHolyoak, Public Relations Manager at The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2012

James, thank you for the terrific appraisal! We appreciate your kind comments! Redondo Beach and Huntington Beach are both great. Next time you visit, try Hermosa and Manhattan Beach too! They are very close to the hotel. We are pleased that you enjoyed the seal, staff and hotel.

Please come again soon!

Annelise Holyoak
The Portofino Hotel & Marina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Stayed here for an on-site meeting for two days. It's a typical seaside hotel. The hotel bar is very nice: 3-stories high ceiling with many small sitting area overlooking the Pacific ocean. The room is decent. The hotel staffs are nice and friendly. The room on the third I first checked in had a deficient lock. So I was given a room on the ground floor. Then I switched to the same room next day. My room was facing the marina and it was nice and clean. The only eye-sour is the power plant cross the marina. For the price I paid (242$), I expect the room to be better (furniture and decor). The hotel offers free WiFi. The parking is 24$ per night.

The hotel is near Redondo Pier (about 1 mile/1.6 km) which has many restaurants. It's a nice walk/jogging.

I was in two-day meeting in one of the conference rooms of the hotel. The first day the AC didn't work. It was very hot inside of the conference room. The hotel tried their best to fix it but couldn't. The next day we were given a different conference room with AC. But it was too cold so we tried to warm up outside of the room. I'm sure the AC problem isn't usual but really didn't like to sit in a very hot room with 20+ people.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sophie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnneliseHolyoak, Public Relations Manager at The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2012

We appreciate your honest evaluation. We are thrilled you enjoyed the staff and the ocean views. We apologize for the HVAC issues that your conference faced. This is not a typical concern that we see often. Our number one concern is always guest satisfaction. Please be aware that we did our best to resolve the matter quickly. We appreciate your business and look forward to seeing you again.

Thank you for the authentic assessment.

Annelise Holyoak
The Portofino Hotel & Marina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews