We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“LOVE IT HERE! & you will too” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Redondo Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“LOVE IT HERE! & you will too”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2011

Welcome to an incredible hotel. First of all this place is decorated to the nines. Like a weirdo, I'm taking pictures in the lobby of the pillows and the furniture... but I can't help it! It's beautiful!

Rooms
The rooms are super nice and large. The sheets must be like 700 thread count because they were so soft! The shampoo/conditioner/body wash is in larger sized containers with pumps, and the quality as pretty good, so you won't have to bring your own. We had a flat screen TV (I think they are working on upgrading from the fat TVs) and DVD player. There is also an ipod docking station in the room to listen to your music... very romantic (wink wink).

Service
The clerks at the front desk are so friendly. We asked for a late checkout this last trip and the hotel nicely extended it by 3 hours.

Pool
There is a pool and a hot tub, but it's not huge. So don't expect anything grand. It's a hot tub and small pool.

Negatives
Parking is like $20/ day, which is a little crazy. Luckily, we park in the marina parking near the boat, which is only a few steps away.
There is a 2 hour rental limit on the bikes. We brought our own this last trip cause we didn't want to be tied down. However, I did notice they got some new ones so perhaps that restriction isn't that big of a deal now? And one more nit about that... there are no bike racks if you do bring your bikes. We eneded up locking ours up at the back of the parking lot on a railing type thing.
Also, internet is not free in your room. I can't remember how much it is, but we used the business center to use the internet and print out boarding passes etc.
And lasty, we stopped down at the hotel bar for an evening glass of wine. The bartender was engaged in a personal conversation off to the side (but still visable to us). There were no menus for us to look at while he was chatting away. He told us to hold on a minute, but after visiting with another couple and standing there for a few minutes and still receiving no service, we just walked across the lot to Baileen (thankfully because it is AWESOME)

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portofino123, General Manager at The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, August 21, 2011
Thank you for taking your time to write about your experience with us. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and do hope to welcome you back! We offer a package that includes breakfast and parking to give you a value when you return again. Thank you for the feedback regarding your experiences with our staff. We do share these with them and I apologize that you were not given the attentive service we strive for in our lobby bar. We have flat screen televisions in each of our guests rooms as of this summer and will continue to improve our services to enhance your experience in the future. Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,509 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    797
    405
    167
    79
    61
See reviews for
346
547
65
303
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (547)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2011

any chance we get, we come and stay here. The service is great and the rooms are always clean and comfortable. We love that the rooms are right on the water and close to so many of the places we like to go. We love Portofino!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dmascarin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portofino123, General Manager at The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, August 21, 2011
Thank you for loving the Portofino and we love you too! It truly was a pleasure sharing your comments with our team and every one of our staff take great pride in creating a place that you feel welcome as if it were your own home. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorks
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2011

We stayed for a week at the Portofino Hotel and were very sad to leave when it was time to move on. Having read the reviews on Trip Advisor we asked specifically for a 3rd floor ocean side room. We were initially given a first floor room which we asked to be changed and were given then the 3rd floor but were told that they only had a king room and would have to use a roll away bed. Unfortunately you could only have one additional bed and we had 2 kids! We had to make a decision whether to stay with the cramped ocean side room or sacrifice this for a 2X Queen room on the 1st floor. We decided, having seen the view, that the 3rd floor view was priority, and slept 3 in a bed!!!
That was the only negative! Our stay was exceptional and we loved everything about the Hotel. Sitting on the balcony watching the seals, yacht's and sun going down was spectacular. The hotel has free bikes and the drive along the seafront for miles is a great way of exploring the region. We especially liked Hermosa beach and often walked up to the square where there is a good variety of shops and restaurants.
Parking costs are a bit steep but you come to expect to pay these things.

Room Tip: King Rooms not really big enough to accomodate 4, but worth sacrficing space for view on the 3rd flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portofino123, General Manager at The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, August 21, 2011
Thank you for your recent post on Trip Advisor. I am glad we were able to accommodate your view request and that you enjoyed it. It is great you were able to experience our bikes and take advantage of how close we are to the beaches and offer great things to do. We hope you have you back and that you have a chance to dine at Baleen, where we serve breakfast, lunch and dinner with views of the marina! Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2011

We visit this hotel at least 2 times a year as a family, and have enjoyed the tasteful, clean, and luxurious rooms each time. Not only are they clean, they smell fresh and inviting. The first thing we do when we get to our harbor view room is to open the glass slider and sit on the expansive balcony to take in the sea air and watch the sparkling water below. There's a Keurig machine in the suite, so our coffee needs are met with a good selection to choose from. Nothing is better than a cup of great coffee while you take in a beautiful sunset or to watch the sunrise. The kids love watching the seagulls and walking down to the dock. The food at the Baleen is fantastic, and we always enjoy the service rendered. You can tell that management takes pride in great customer service as you are greeted upon driving into the parking area by a very gracious and welcoming hotel staff member; signaling to the front desk and valet regarding our check in as if we were expected and welcomed back. The front desk agents are always very accommodating and their cheery dispositions make the check in process easy and enjoyable. The hotel housekeeping service is extremely attentive, kind and courteous. They really go above and beyond with smiles and a ready hand to help. We love the staff and the hotel. Thank you once again for providing such an incredible place for our entire family to stay!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jmascarin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portofino123, General Manager at The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, August 21, 2011
Thank you so much for taking time to write about your experience and we are so glad you have returned to the hotel again! We take each of the comments from the guests very serious and it was a pleasure sharing your feedback as we have been working very hard to constantly improve our service! We hope to see you again soon and to welcome you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2011

Excellent check-in service. The beds were excellent. I like firm beds !!!
We went for a business meeting Wish I had taken my Wife !!

Room Tip: Keep in Mine the hotel is right on the water so if you are ging there for the view make sure you ask...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HavingFun0072014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portofino123, General Manager at The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, August 21, 2011
Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor! It was so wonderful to read about your service experience and the comfort of your bed. We hope you will visit again with your wife and enjoy relaxing and taking it all in! We are right on the ocean water, and views do vary with floors, so we offer all three views at different price points to assist with all the requests! Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2011

Booked this hotel at the last minute (paid accordingly) and were very pleased! Extremely clean and comfortable room and friendly staff.

We enjoyed sitting on the patio and watching the sea lions and boats. Even though our view was obstructed by the sea wall, it was nice not worrying about our preschooler tumbling off a balcony! Very much appreciated the toy for her at check-in and being able to check in early.

We drove to Hermosa Beach since it wasn't realistic to walk there, but we found metered parking and enjoyed the sand and surf. It was an easy walk to restaurants from the hotel.

The hotel pool was tiny but well-kept. The room could probably have used more towels and another bathrobe (there was only one, oddly), but I'm sure we could have requested these if it was really an issue (it wasn't).

We will definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Frequenttravelparent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portofino123, General Manager at The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, August 21, 2011
Thank you very much for taking time to share your recent stay with Trip Advisor. It was wonderful reading about the check in experience and your daughter being able to enjoy welcome wagon! The location of our hotel makes it very easy to visit surrounding beaches and I appreciate the feedback regarding towels in the room. We should always have 2 robes, so we will follow up on that. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon and will be welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level Contributor
77 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2011

There was a mix up in the booking and the room 4 adults were allocated was barely big enough. We could have had a bigger room for another $100 a day, but no real effort to compensate.
The hotel has an air of upper class refinement which is not really deserved.
They charge for everything - $22 a day for parking, $10 a day fro internet. Even the shampoo in the room had a price on it ($35!) and bottles of Evian for $5!
The house keeping and valet staff were very friendly, but desk staff were "snooty".
The rooms are very comfortable, clean and well decorated but noisy and small. The air-con was excellent.
And the marina and harbour views are limited (the backs of boats or a sea-wall). The pool is more paddling than Olympic.
5 star attitude with 3 star experience.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ruddy-Tripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portofino123, General Manager at The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, August 21, 2011
Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay. Without knowing the details in the reservation, I apologize that there was confusion around the booking. While we do charge for parking, it is something that every full service hotel charges for in the south bay and there is complimentary wireless internet in our lobby and restaurant should you venture those ways. Our shampoo bottles are very popular and our guests do like to take them home as they are not your typical small size, but larger and as part of a green effort we are conserving and using less plastic waste. For those who like to take them with them, there is a fee as they are not for souvenirs. Thank you for your nice compliments on our housekeeping team, and we will work with our front desk agents as they do care very much for our guests. The views in the hotel, as with all hotels get better as you go higher in the hotel, so I do hope you are able to experience those views in the future. Thank you again and we take all the comments into consideration. There are future plans to renovate our pool area and these are good examples of areas to look at.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Redondo Beach
0.3 mi away
The Redondo Beach Hotel
The Redondo Beach Hotel
#1 of 19 in Redondo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Redondo Beach & Marina
1.2 mi away
Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach
Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach
#1 of 7 in Hermosa Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 816 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Redondo Beach Inn
1.9 mi away
Hotel Hermosa
Hotel Hermosa
#3 of 7 in Hermosa Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
2.9 mi away
Shade Hotel
Shade Hotel
#3 of 9 in Manhattan Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel

Property: The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel
Address: 260 Portofino Way, Redondo Beach, CA 90277
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Redondo Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Redondo Beach
#1 Green Hotel in Redondo Beach
#1 Romantic Hotel in Redondo Beach
#3 Family Hotel in Redondo Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Portofino Hotel & Marina is located on a private peninsula, Redondo beach’s only waterfront hotel. A rich tapestry of panoramic views greets you, with the harbor, the Pacific Ocean and Catalina Island. The hotel lies just six miles south of Los Angeles International Airport, a short stroll to shops and restaurants of Redondo Beach. We offer our guests an authentic Socal lifestyle experience in a casual nautical-chic environment, allowing them to relax and let loose, embracing their “endless summer “endlessly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portofino Hotel And Yacht
Portofino Inn Redondo Beach
Portofino Redondo Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing