We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel in Beautiful Surroundings”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Redondo Beach & Marina
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Redondo Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
819 reviews
166 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 335 helpful votes
“Great Hotel in Beautiful Surroundings”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

I stayed here with my daughter who was on her first trip to LA and we had an Ocean View room with a nice compact balcony to sit out and take in the beautiful views.The room was large and had everything we needed in it, and very comfortable beds. As a PCR member we had access to the concierge lounge where we met Michael the General Manager who was a charming host and was very interested in our trip and you could see was very keen to make sure we had a stay to remember. The evening drinks and nibbles in the Club room were very tasty and wine and beer to help you relax were complimentary, you also get to enjoy your complimentary breakfast in the club room if you are upgraded to allow access. Always good to see all staff be friendly and helpful to make your stay one to remember. Parking is next door with a reasonable charge for the area of $23 per 24 hour period. We will be sorry to leave, but my daughter wanted a couple of days at Hollywood Boulevard so we will be staying at the Holiday Inn there.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yorkie1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael P, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Redondo Beach & Marina, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Hello Yorkie,
So nice to hear from you! I had such a great chat with you and your lovely daughter in our concierge lounge. I see that you are a Top Contrubutor on Trip Advisor; doesn't surprise me considering all the travels you have made all over the world as an IHG Platinum Rewards Club member. So glad that you could enjoy our hospitality here in Redondo Beach, and I do hope that you will come back again soon to see us.
Regards,
Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    359
    477
    218
    74
    39
See reviews for
289
365
73
239
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (272)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

We stayed in Crowne Plaza 12 nights. We got a beautiful ocean view room, thanks to a member of front desk. The rooms were very nice and were cleaned daily. The breakfast was delicious and staff very attentive. Also the front desk was very helpful. Would like to also thank Janid who assisted us few times during our stay.
Overall, nothing to complain about,had an amazing time and should we return to US,that is the place we choose again.
Will recommend to our friends as well.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dasagb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael P, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Redondo Beach & Marina, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Many thanks for your positive review! I will be recognizing our concierge Janid with a "One Step Ahead" recognition award for you mentioning her service to you.
Sincerely,
Michael Payton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
193 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

The lobby is huge, but impersonal. The rooms are large, but the views??? We requested the marina view, and received a far off ocean view which also came with a siren that went off every eight seconds from about 5 am to noon. We had a club room that is non-existent during the weekend so we were given a voucher for the buffet breakfast which was nice, BUT, only for two people, we were three, so we had to pay $18 for continental buffet breakfast or $23 for the full buffet which had bacon, eggs, pancakes, and oatmeal. The pool was cold but nice seating areas, and the business center had great internet connection and printer. There are a couple of good restaurants close by, Ruby's and Cheesecake Factory. We chose this hotel to be close to the airport, yet we still wanted to be close to the water and activities. Disappointed by both, the water (too cold) and pier (old & dirty). Far to L.A., took us 2 1/2 hrs on a Friday evening. Overall we found the hotel impersonal. We weren't even asked how we enjoyed our stay at check-out. The location wasn't interesting or close enough due to extreme traffic. We have stayed at many Crowne Plazas but unfortunately will not be returning to this one.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MARY K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael P, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Redondo Beach & Marina, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
I am sorry that you weren't pleased with some aspects of your stay, and rest assured that we will be following up on them. The pool is heated, so am concerned that the water temperature wasn't warm enough. We take all feedback very seriously and will get on the items you detailed.
I do hope that you will give us another try again in the future.
Sincerely,
Michael Payton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
141 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

Very happy with here. We weren't too sure as the reviews were a bit mixed but we found nothing to complain about. Wifi is expensive but it you are in their rewards scheme it is free. The Club Room is great and well managed with plenty of food and drink, the best we have seen. The room was large, well cleaned and had a comfortable bed.
We did not like the Redondo Pier area though. It is really run down but going north away from it is fine. Plenty of places to eat including a Cheesecake Factory very close. In short would be happy to recommend this hotel

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scapa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael P, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Redondo Beach & Marina, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thanks for a nice review, and so glad that you will recommend us. FYI the Redondo Pier is planning to undergo a $300 million improvement to update and add amenities to the area, and we are excited at that prospect.
Look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta Georgia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

Really disappointed in this hotel. Not only is the hotel shabby and run down, but they have bed bugs. Had to change rooms after 7-8 bites. For the price, I would have expected a refund for the night I suffered the bites. I would not go back to this hotel under any circumstances.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank TAReviewer01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael P, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Redondo Beach & Marina, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
I am sorry to read your comments regarding bed bugs. We are dilligent in this area, and I do not know if you reported this to management, but we have not experienced a single verifiable bed bug inclident since the guest room renovation has been completed almost a year ago.
Hope you will come back again to stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
51 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

As expected, nothing special. Clean and good location to stay to get around the area by car.
It's not a hotel built for any great expansive views - if you look you can see over the car park to a marina.
Redondo and the marina are a bit rundown and in need of some tender loving care.
The hotel has a massive underused lobby area. Something like a cafe or coffee/cake stand may ad some feeling and personality.
Otherwise it's just another fairly bland hotel that 'does the job'.
Clean, functional etc - just nothing special.
If the rate was high it would pull down the review.
Getting the price right is what would rate the hotel I suspect.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Craiginsydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael P, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Redondo Beach & Marina, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. I noted your comment regarding the lobby area; as a matter of fact, we are considering building a lobby bar in the area where our fish tank is located to better serve our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

I visited from September 12 to the 19th. I was alone visiting with friends who suggested this hotel which was close to where my friend lived, which was in Palos Verdes. It would be more convenient for him to pass by and pick me up for our travels.

This place is more quet than a downtown Los Angeles located hotel. Across is the beach, and there is a seafood restaurant, Captain Kidd, that had good eats! A diner, Ruby's and the hotel's own Splash restaurant. All nearby.

The wifi was good. The rooms fairly good sized. And clean. I had a third floor room overlooking the pool. Nice. Redondo Beach has a cooler weather than LA. Which was nice in summer.

Mary Joy was efficient and helpful and Marissa Betita was just super! Great staff make for a great stay! Would I be back? Yes!

Were check in and check out fast? Yes!

In all, I had a good restful stay!

Cheers!

Room Tip: You can have a pool view or an Ocean view. Your choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tiny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael P, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Redondo Beach & Marina, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Appreciate your positive comments, and especially the kudos you gave to Marie Joy at our front desk and Marissa in accounting. I will be giving them our "One Step Ahead" employee recognition awards as a result of this.
Look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Redondo Beach
0.1 mi away
The Redondo Beach Hotel
The Redondo Beach Hotel
#1 of 19 in Redondo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel
1.4 mi away
Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach
Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach
#1 of 7 in Hermosa Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Shade Hotel
Shade Hotel
#7 of 19 in Redondo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
2.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Redondo Beach Inn
1.9 mi away
Hotel Hermosa
Hotel Hermosa
#3 of 7 in Hermosa Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Redondo Beach & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Redondo Beach & Marina

Property: Crowne Plaza Redondo Beach & Marina
Address: 300 N Harbor Dr, Redondo Beach, CA 90277
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Redondo Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Redondo Beach
#4 Romantic Hotel in Redondo Beach
#5 Business Hotel in Redondo Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Redondo Beach & Marina 3.5*
Number of rooms: 342
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The NEW Crowne Plaza Redondo Beach & Marina Hotel. A full service southern California coastal hotel with resort style amenities. Conveniently located just 7 miles south of LAX, overlooking the Pacific Ocean between the King Harbor Marina and the Redondo Beach Pier. Complimentary WiFi for all guest rooms and public area; tennis court, Olympic size pool, and whirlpool on Harbor Terrace. Bike rental 7 days per week through concierge. Full 2-room fitness center. Completed $25M renovation of entire hotel in 2016 including guestrooms, lobby, meeting space, and new lobby bar – Harbor Bar+Bistro for light lunch and dinners. Breakfast in SOL. Choice of water view rooms, 350 sq ft, most with balcony. Selection of King or double Queen bedded rooms. Room safe and mini refrigerator. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Redondo Beach & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Redondo Beach & Marina Hotel Redondo Beach
Crowne Plaza Redondo Beach And Marina
Redondo Beach Crowne Plaza
Crown Plaza Redondo Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing