We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Staff !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Redondo Beach & Marina
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in Redondo Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 17, 2013

I stayed at this Hotel for a whole week and after a couple of days this place felt extremely comfortable and friendly. The rooms are kept in a great shape and clean. Great pool with a beautiful view and a very nice Spa.
The staff was probably the biggest plus of my stay. Everybody who attended at me was friendly and professional. One name over everybody.. Maria at the concierge. She guided me in the right directions when it came to great dining, entertainment, etc. Perfect service combined with a great smile. She, together with the rest of the staff, made a week in a hotel go by flawlessly.

Room Tip: no noisy rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Franco L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael P, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Redondo Beach & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2013

So glad that you enjoyed your stay, particularly the service you received from our staff. I note your comments about Maria Elena Castillo, our Concierge, and I will pass along your comments to her and give her a recognition award for delivering excellent guest service.
I do hope that your next stay will be soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,243)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

674 - 680 of 1,243 reviews

Reviewed June 14, 2013

I enjoyed my stay here - great buffet breakfast and convenient parking and as a rewards member some discounts for a free bike rental!

Many rooms have a view of the ocean and you are so close to the beach and pier.

The staff is friendly and they have a nice business area for printing documents.

They have a nice Whole Foods about 2 blocks away and other good food options (Smashburger).

No complaints here!

Room Tip: Try to get a room on a higher floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelHackingCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael P, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Redondo Beach & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2013

Thank you for your kind comments, and glad you enjoyed your stay with us here at the Crowne Plaza Redondo Beach.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

Prefacing with the fact I'm a travel agent and husband travels a lot and is a Platinum IHG member. Check in took too long. There were two desk clerks assisting. One was the upseller of the century. She was selling the top floor (there are only 5) for "just 40 more". Super unprofessional because EVERY time we walked by that's all we could hear and impedes the check in process for everyone else. The other gal, AMY, reminded me of the annoying gate agent in Ben Stiller's "Meet the Fockers". I was dreading dealing with her because she was a buzzkill with her attitude. She needs to work on being sincere with her curt smile. We asked about an upgrade (as we're allowed to with our status). "We don't do that here". Obviously, since you purposely place your guests on lower floors and then try to upsell to better views. Whatever. We were on the 3rd floor with a great view of the beach. No problem.

CONCIERGE LOUNGE - I thought ours in Albuquerque was bad. This reminded me of what you might have received while on that Carnival ship adrift at sea. WHITE bread deli sandwich triangles. We never expect to make meals out of the lounge snacks, but there are usually slightly more upscale. It's really just a perception thing at this point. On the plus side, they did not charge for beer and the attendant was very nice.

ROOMS - GREAT updates and remodels. I agree with one poster. They could do more with the pool area that is just lots of concrete, but it was nice to have the pool and hot tub.

WIFI - GREAT! Super fast and no issue connecting.

ROOM SERVICE - Pretty good one morning. It was so expensive that husband said we should go to the restaurant that is attached and see what they have. We were not given breakfast vouchers by AMY (as Platinums should when the concierge is closed). We did go back and get them though.The buffet was $21.95 and def not worth it. The serving area and quality was sub-par. The restaurant needs a major remodel as well NO ONE EVER came to check on us, not once. The couple sitting next to us were also complaining how bad it was. Having just come from the HYATT downtown LA, this was horrible. I won't be returning. Even if you have an older property, if your staff go out of their way to be cheerful and helpful it doesn't matter. I won't be returning.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Wendi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Redondo Beach & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2013

Dear Wendi C,

We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback regarding your stay with us. I am happy to read you were pleased with our rooms and internet service. We give the utmost importance to our guest comments as they help us improve, and continually provide the best guest experience possible. Please accept our sincere apology for the shortcomings you experienced and regret our staff service did not live up to your expectations. Rest assured that I have reviewed your comments in detail with the appropriate staff members.

Though we would prefer you had a better experience at our hotel, we would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts and I hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2013

The hotel has everything you need! Great shower, nice beds etc. be carful opening curtains if not dressed :/ wifi is reasonably priced. Great staff. The pool area is amazing and they provide pool side service. All in all great stay.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
Thank Carl W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael P, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Redondo Beach & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2013

Many thanks for your nice comments, and look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013

This is a beautiful hotel in a great location. It's also way over priced. They didn't tell me that in addition to the room rate they would charge an additional 100 per day and then refund it 72 hours after we left. They also charge $23 a day for parking as well as for internet useage.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Krayz19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael P, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Redondo Beach & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2013

I am glad that you enjoyed your stay. Regarding your comment about the extra charge, this is an amount we authorize for our guests utilizing cash or debit card as a method of payment to cover any incidental charges. As you correctly point out, these are eliminated after check out if not utilized. Our parking charge is in line with other similar hotels in our area, and the internet charge can easily be waived with a free membership in our IHG Rewards program.
Regards,
Michael Payton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

The location, exterior, lobby, and the rooms are top-notch; the prices are worthy of the quality of the location; the service at the desk is prompt, courteous, and abundant, the concierge service is friendly and readily available, and the rooms and the views are wow!! Our first time in the L.A. area and we would opt for the Crowne Plaza Redondo on any future L.A. trips.

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joe K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael P, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Redondo Beach & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2013

Many thanks for your glowing review of our hotel! I certainly look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights at the end January/beginning Feb prior to a cruise.Although further out from LA than we had expected (it was booked for us by the cruise line) it was a lovely hotel. Contrary to previous reviews, either the renovations had been completed or were in a different part of the hotel as we were never disturbed by any noise. I had requested an accessible room, which was excellent. My only slight criticism was that the bed was too high and difficult for me to get into, which surprised the manager when my husband commented on this as they had had an ADA expert in to advise them, Although we didn't have an ocean view room, we had a small balcony with chairs and a table, a nice place to drink our coffee from the machine in the room. The position was really good, with lots of places to eat nearby, including a Cheesecake Factory, which we visited. There were plenty of taxis available if you wanted to venture further afield. The concierges were very helpful and booked us a tour of LA which was great. They even provided me with a wheelchair from the hotel as my mobility scooter could not be carried in the touir bus. I would definitely recommend for the location and would stay again if we go to LA again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael P, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Redondo Beach & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2013

So glad that you enjoyed your stay, and that we were able to accommodate your needs successfully. Yes, as noted by our staff, all the equipment in the room including the bed was deemed in compliance with ADA requirements. Thank you also for your compliment regarding the service you received from our hotel concierge.
I hope you enjoyed your cruise and that we will have the pleasure of serving you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Redondo Beach
0.1 mi away
The Redondo Beach Hotel
The Redondo Beach Hotel
#2 of 19 in Redondo Beach
484 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel
0.2 mi away
Shade Hotel
Shade Hotel
#1 of 19 in Redondo Beach
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach
Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach
#1 of 7 in Hermosa Beach
870 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Hermosa
Hotel Hermosa
#3 of 7 in Hermosa Beach
164 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Los Angeles/Redondo Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Redondo Beach & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Redondo Beach & Marina

Address: 300 N Harbor Dr, Redondo Beach, CA 90277
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Redondo Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Redondo Beach
#4 Family Hotel in Redondo Beach
#5 Business Hotel in Redondo Beach
Price Range: $153 - $289 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Redondo Beach & Marina 3.5*
Number of rooms: 342
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The NEW Crowne Plaza Redondo Beach & Marina Hotel. A full service southern California coastal hotel with resort style amenities. Conveniently located just 7 miles south of LAX, overlooking the Pacific Ocean between the King Harbor Marina and the Redondo Beach Pier. Complimentary WiFi for all guest rooms and public area; tennis court, Olympic size pool, and whirlpool on Harbor Terrace. Bike rental 7 days per week through concierge. Full 2-room fitness center. Completed $25M renovation of entire hotel in 2016 including guestrooms, lobby, meeting space, and new lobby bar – Harbor Bar+Bistro for light lunch and dinners. Breakfast in SOL. Choice of water view rooms, 350 sq ft, most with balcony. Selection of King or double Queen bedded rooms. Room safe and mini refrigerator. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza Redondo Beach & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Redondo Beach And Marina
Crowne Plaza Redondo Beach & Marina Hotel Redondo Beach
Redondo Beach Crowne Plaza
Crown Plaza Redondo Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing