We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,333)
Filter reviews
1,333 results
Traveler rating
438
539
238
76
42
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
438
539
238
76
42
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsacross the streetthe club loungetennis courtsnice hotelruby's dinerstreet parkingocean viewself parkingcheesecake factorypool area issmall balconybike rentalupon checksanta monicafew blockslos angelesmarina
Filter
Updating list...
921 - 926 of 1,333 reviews
Reviewed April 17, 2012

Current reviews are very accurate in terms of the hotel needing a facelift and update. Hotel corridors are dark and drab and rooms although very clean require significant update and refurbishment, particularly as a new hotel "shades" is being built across the road and Best Westin and the Portofino Yacht Club are already rivals for business.
This being said, my wife and I really enjoyed our 3 night stay here prior to cruising the California coast. Staff were magnificent in all respects, the pool area was excellent for some afternoon sun and relaxation,free internet access via the Business Centre was a real bonus as was the complimentary use of the excellent Gold's Gym next door. The free shuttle bus to various local malls was brilliant and again another major plus.
We didn't eat at the hotel as we preferred to try some of the many local and excellent eateries - Ruby's was a favourite for breakfast and far superior Polly's in all respects.
I really hope therefore that the promised refurbishment takes place as promised - we will certainly return if it does. Many thanks from us for providing a great base for some great memories.

Room Tip: We had a sea facing room at the front of the hotelon floor 3 which had a great view and was very bright.
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank straightjohnbull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael P, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Redondo Beach & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2012

Thank you for your favorable review. Yes, the renovation is confirmed to begin the first week of September and we are very excited about it! Glad that the staff took good care of you, and see you on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2012

Everything about the hotel met our expectations--quiet and clean. It is a close walk to several restaurants, and we enjoyed walking across the street to the marina to see the sea lions barking away. However, I dislike it that they charge for WiFi, per device (we had 3 Smart Phones & a computer between the 4 of us)--that just seemed outrageous. Fortunately my husband is a rewards member, so they waived the charges. We found the breakfast buffet to be ridiculously expensive for dry pastries, toast and cereal. Meh.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheBigTrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael P, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Redondo Beach & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2012

So glad that you enjoyed your stay. As you pointed out, we do charge for Wifi, but that charge is easily waived if you are a member of our Priority Club rewards program, which is free to join. Sorry that the breakfast buffet was not up to your expectations. Overall it seems that you were happy, and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2012

We spent Easter Weekend at the Crown Plaza, Redondo Beach. The hotel staff was excellent. Luis Vargas at the Hotel restaurant was a most professional and attentive waiter. Natalie Sayers supervised the restaurant well. Jimmy Angelo and his front desk staff were right on with dining ideas, with help from Jessica, Jason, and Miguel. Also note that William, the Bus Driver, is most attentive and will take you to shop at all the local malls. Great place to visit, walk the beach and boardwalk, dine, swim, and enjoy a holiday! I will visit again and bring a large family group next time! Redondo Beach and this Hotel is the way to go! Sincerely, LLL.

Room Tip: Book well in advance, the hotel was sold out this Easter Weekend, 2012.
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LLLplayadelrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael P, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Redondo Beach & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2012

What a wonderful review, thank you. I especially appreciate that you mentioned so many of our staff by name, which allows me to give each of them a "Delivering On The Promise" award for their excellent customer service. See you with the big group next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2012

We loved our stay in this place. We spent a week in the hotel and enjoyed the surrounding areas and the wonderful beaches. The hotel was excellent and clean with wonderful views of the ocean from a balcony. The staff were helpful, courteous and our room was spacious, well-kept and very clean and no noise from outside or other rooms. The hotel is in such a quiet location and close to a lot of attractions, restaurants. The open roof top swimming pool was great with an amazing view of the water and hills to the south and sauna facility was excellent. Redondo Beach is a very nice place and in this hotel you can ask for a room with a wonderful view of sunrise or sunset. The food, the service and the value in the restaurant (the Splash) was very good. Upon check in, the staff were very friendly and welcoming. The hotel lobby was kept up nice and is what you would expect from a beach resort. We went on some tours around LA and this was wonderful. The concierge was very helpful and the daily shuttle service to shopping centres and bookings of tours was very well managed. We would really like to visit again in the near future.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of Pacific Ocean
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Turaj T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2012

I stayed here for a conference in March 2012. Nothing great. Dated room with old tube TV (but they are apparently updating it). No gym in hotel but they give you free access to Gold's Gym (which was pretty icky). Location is good-- there's a Whole Foods a few blocks away, and you are right across from the marina, with many restaurants at all price ranges. There aren't many options for lodging in Redondo, and this is not a bad bet if you have to be there. But I would not go out of my way to stay here.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank david_andrews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Redondo Beach & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2012

Dear david_andrews,

Thank you for your review of our hotel. I was glad to hear you did appreciate our great location. I am sorry some aspects of our hotel were not to your liking. I am pleased that our staff was able to offset this displeasure with great service.

Once again, we appreciate you taking the time to share your comments with us. We know you have many choices when it comes to lodging and we hope your future travel plans will continue to include IHG.

Sincerely,
Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare
Reference # 27755297

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews