We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's OK”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Redondo Beach Galleria Inn
Ranked #11 of 19 Hotels in Redondo Beach
Reviewed April 7, 2007

Stayed 3 nights in February 2007. It is one block from the Galleria (a shopping center) if you're into shopping, but to me that really doesn' t mean much. I suppose during the day you could walk to the mall, but honestly, LA neighborhoods are typically not designed for leisure walking. At night I certainly wouldn't do it. The area is not as ghetto as many LA areas are, but it is not pretty.

The hotel is pretty small. Did someone mentiona pool/jacuzzi? I don't recall seeing it, to be honest. The room is very typical BW - older decor, musty smell. The bathroom is clean though. The electrical outlets are kind of messed up, so when you plug something in, it feels like it's going to fall out anytime. The wireless connection is quite choppy.

For leisure travel I wouldn't recommend this hotel. Just because it is in Redondo "Beach", doesn't mean it's a beachy resort or something. For a few nights (for whatever reason), it's fine.

  • Stayed: April 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank bonb88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (326)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

259 - 265 of 326 reviews

Reviewed February 19, 2007

Close to freeways and airport, large mall complex. On a busy street, 10 minute drive to the beach.

Average service at check-in. Average room, somewhat musty. Although a non-smoking room, stale smoke would drift in through bathroom fan vent. Below-average mattress.

Outdoor parking included.

Pool area not inviting. Sauna "closed for maintenance" on what looked like a permenant basis (just as well).

Breakfast was below-average low-end continental fare. At least the coffee wasn't as watery as at some places.

Overall, a tolerable place to spend one night, especially if access to/from airport is an issue. Not a vacation paradise (as the photos try to suggest).

  • Stayed: February 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Chrisaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2006

You get what you pay for......Unfortunately I've gotten a lot less for this price at other hotels...Location was great..I could see the Nordstrom sign at the Mall!! Close to beaches and lots of restaurants.. room was average, it was clean and the carpet seemed fairly new, the shower was great. The breakfast however was a joke!!! The pillows were abominable.. Just lumps.. Aren't pillows important??? The price for the area, fair...

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pvdiane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2006

We stayed here for 4 nights. This is a typical 2 star hotel. The room was clean but the bed was not very comfortable. There is no fitness center. There is continential breakfeast. No parking fee is charged. The hotel is facing a busy street so noice could be a problem if you are a light sleeper. We had no problems with our stay and will probably stay here again since the price is reasonable. We paid $85/night.

  • Stayed: April 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BayAreaResident
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2006

For $90 a night in LA, seems like a good deal to me.

Fast checkin, was given a room right beside the office. Spacious, 9' ceiling due to location which added to the feel of size. Room was clean & nicely decorated. TV worked fine, so did wireless internet. Older A/C but cooled well and wasn't too noisy. It was off on arrival despite the heat but with LA's power shortage I can understand. Cooled the room fairly quickly. There was some rotten wood beside the tub and water stains on the plexiglass light cover over the sink but otherwise well cared for. The bed could use some better pillows.

I like the outside corridors, easy to get in from the car. There's a small something by the road. They call it a pool but the tiniest one I've ever seen. It did have jets like a spa but wasn't very warm. But with the heat we were having and electrical shortage, maybe that was intentional. It was refreshing none the less.

Location is good, easy trip to LAX, right off the 405. Short drive to the beaches and Redondo Beach Pier.

The continental breakfast had few choices. An upgrade there would be nice.

If in the area again, and probably will be since Sis lives close, I will return.

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank BaldLoonie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
319
Reviewed May 11, 2006

Stayed the night before a morning flight out of LAX. Good access to South Bay, good price, 10 minutes from LAX up I405. Staff helpful, reservations mistakenly booked me a smoking room, they let me check it out first and offered an alternative. Clean King room with a slightly worn Jacuzzi. Good value.

  • Stayed: May 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Minneapolis, MN
126
Reviewed April 24, 2006

The following review is based on a business trip I made to Los Angeles in April 2006. While normally I stay at Marriott or Hilton properties for their point programs, occasionally I will go off the beaten path to save money on my expense account. This trip was one of those instances and found me at the Best Western Redondo Beach Galleria (BWG) for my stay.

Location: This category could swing either way, depending on the purpose for your visit. For the business traveler, BWG would not be a typical choice. Located off the Artesia Freeway (91), you can quickly access Interstates 405, 105 or 110 to get where you need to go, but unless your business is in the southern beach cities of LA, you’ll likely have a good hike and traffic to get anyplace else. Light rail and bus are close by, but again, you’re probably too far away to use these and be on time for a meeting. However…

If you are the leisure traveler and like shopping, the hotel’s location becomes your ally. Literally five minutes walk from the front door is the South Bay Galleria Mall, with over 100 stores and a 16 screen multiplex theater. The beaches and other shopping are only a few minutes further, and the airport can be reached in about 20 minutes, making the BWG a nice value choice for the south bay.

Staff: Fairly standard service for a chain hotel. The front desk was quick for check in/out and at least one member was very knowledgeable of the surrounding area. Housekeeping was prompt and small requests (extra towels) were accommodated.

Room: Most of Best Western’s rooms compare on par with Hilton’s and Marriott’s budget brands (Fairfield and Courtyard). I found my room perfectly adequate for one person with some added nice features including free internet access (thank you kindly) and free local telephone calls. While I had little time for the TV, BWG provided the usual cable lineup with some additional movie choices.

Extras: The BWG does offer a pool and hot tub, but I would not feature these as a strong suit. The pool is quite small and noisy, given the hotel’s location off the freeway. With the beach not too far away, there’s no excuse for using the pool anyway. The parking area was easy to navigate and reasonably secure. After one very late evening, I had no trouble parking and returning to my room.

Price/Value: I stayed four nights (Thursday – Monday) at a rate of $79.99 per night. Considering that my usual choices would be in the range of $159 - $199 for the same period, I received most of the same services and features for about half the price. Although my commute did take longer due to the different location, I compensated for this with my weekend activities at the beach and malls that were so close by.

Summary: If you have money to burn through an expense account or are looking for a luxurious vacation hideaway, the BWG is not your place. However, if a good value a close location to shopping/beach activities is what you want, I think the BWG will fit the bill nicely!

  • Stayed: April 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
26  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Redondo Beach hotels
4.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Redondo Beach Inn
3.3 mi away
Redondo Inn and Suites
Redondo Inn and Suites
#10 of 19 in Redondo Beach
166 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Redondo Beach Hotel
The Redondo Beach Hotel
#2 of 19 in Redondo Beach
491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Los Angeles/Redondo Beach
2.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Redondo Beach & Marina
1.5 mi away
Residence Inn Los Angeles Redondo Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Redondo Beach Galleria Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Redondo Beach Galleria Inn

Address: 2740 Artesia Boulevard, Redondo Beach, CA 90278-3314 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Redondo Beach Galleria Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Redondo Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Redondo Beach
Price Range: $118 - $170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Redondo Beach Galleria Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy Mediterranean style architecture and accommodations at this Redondo Beach hotel with great beaches, shopping, nightlife and LAX just minutes away. The BEST WESTERN Redondo Beach Galleria Hotel is located near the best beaches in Southern California and just a few miles from the Los Angeles International Airport. - LAX. Beach goers looking for a great location will find themselves in proximity to local beaches such as Redondo, Hermosa, Manhattan Beach, and a short distance to Venice and Santa Monica Beach. Relax and Enjoy beach hot spots; boardwalk shopping, pier restaurants, and nightlife entertainment. Easy access to popular and exciting nearby attractions include Disneyland, Universal Studios/Universal Walk, Magic Mountain, Knott's Berry Farm, Aquarium of The Pacific, and the Paul Getty Museum. Guests will be within walking distance to the South Bay Galleria Mall and minutes away from Del Amo Fashion Center, offering world class shops, entertainment, theatres, restaurants. Favorite local events near the hotel include beach volleyball tournaments, soccer tournaments, fishing, whale watching and charter trips to Catalina Island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Redondo Beach Galleria Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Redondo Beach Galleria Hotel Redondo Beach
Redondo Beach Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing