We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Avoid on Christmas Day!”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Chart House

Chart House
Reserve with OpenTable
Chart House is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #14 of 293 Restaurants in Redondo Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $40 - $60
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Scenic view, Families with children, Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Herondo & Harbor Drive
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
147 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Avoid on Christmas Day!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013

We've been going to this Chart House for years, but this was our first attempt at Christmas Dinner. Great food, great service, horrendous booking & valet snafu.Thirty minute wait with a 5:15pm reservation. After dinner, as we wove our way through a densely packed bar/lobby area we ran into friends who were on their way out after learning there was a 60 minute wait for their 6:45pm reservation. We spent another 30 minutes waiting in a valet line. Come on guys; if you're going to serve Christmas Dinner in an area where the dining options are restricted, rethink your booking and valet infrastructure.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JHugener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    67
    31
    16
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Andover, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Sea View”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2013

They have a nice wine selection. We had crab cakes and scollops which were very good. The view is wonderful. We will come again.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chuck_and_trudy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“UPDATE: of previous Chart House review”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

This review is more about customer service than about the food itself. In my previous review of the Chart House, I had some pretty positive things to say about Rhea and couple of the service staff. This is about the General Manager, Brian Meredith. To keep a long story short, let me just say that my last review mentioned that I was so impressed with the place, that I bought a sort of gift card that's honored at most if not all Landry's restaurants, including Chart House. When I went online to register the card, there was some confusion about how much credit was available for use. We contacted Rhea, who actually remembered us and the fact that we had been there for a birthday, etc., though this was a month or more ago. Anyway, she couldn't change the computer, nor did she have the authority to change the card, so that's when she had Brian get involved. He called us back the next day, said he'd do some research on his own, and then actually called us back a couple of days after that saying that he had added a note to our profile in their local computer and that next time we come in, the card will be honored for the amount we believed we were paying for when we got it in the first place. Again, this review is about customer service, not price or food quality; Brian didn't have to call back at all, and in fact most people these days wouldn't, assuming we'd just get tired and forget about it. But not only did he call back, he called back promptly AND corrected the situation exactly to our liking, no negotiating, guilt-tripping, or any of the usual management push-back techniques that many managers use these days, in order to save the company a few dollars once and lose a customer forever. It's nice to see someone who actually takes care of the customer and manage to keep the company's interests in mind as well. We'll be going back to Chart House soon.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank johnathann m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torrance
Level Contributor
73 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A Reliable Favorite”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

We eat here several times a year and we have yet to be disappointed. Great views to go along with great food. I'm not a seafood person but the Mahi Mahi is very good. I also tried some of the steak and it was great as well. Desserts are a great ending to a fantatstic meal. Like I said, reliable restaurant and you can't go wrong.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank webinvisible
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great seafood and service in Redondo Beach”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

From the time we made the reservation to the time we picked up the car from the valet, this was a great experience. It was a special experience because we were celebrating a birthday, an anniversary, and family in from out of town. Rhea and Shannen in the front of house went out of their way to get us a great table by the window overlooking the ocean (using a 6-top since all the 4-tops were taken) and both came by several times during the meal to make sure everything was going well. Christian, our waiter, was more than accommodating, pointing out some great alternatives that we hadn't noticed and checking in often. The food was great, everyone agreed, specifically the crab cakes, which two of us had. They're so large (because of the crab meat, not breading), that Christopher suggested that we instead get a seafood sampler with shrimp, salmon, and one crab cake, which was even then more than enough, and delicious. The salad bar was incredible, with every addition you could want, plus caviar and anchovies. We all liked it enough to buy a membership in the Landry's Club which includes Landry's, McCormack & Schmick's, Morton's and others. We were there on a Monday night, which might have helped, but I'm planning on going back soon, probably on a weekend, and we'll see if that makes any difference; I'm confident and hopeful it won't be any less than great.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank johnathann m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chart House also viewed

 

Been to Chart House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing