We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice view, great food”
Review of Joe's Crab Shack

Joe's Crab Shack
Ranked #19 of 296 Restaurants in Redondo Beach
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Yucapia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice view, great food”
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Love Joes crab shack, nice view of bay and excellent food.Very busy so service was slow but well worth the wait. Very relaxing place.

Visited July 2013
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank YucapiaSuzanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    118
    62
    29
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bel Air, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Joe's Crab Shack - Not what I was expecting”
Reviewed July 20, 2013

I went to Joe's Crab Shack while on a business trip. I was by myself so I was seated in the bar area as it was pretty busy. This was my Birthday so I wanted something that I don't usually get, which is steamed crab. You had to pay $4 just to park in their own parking lot to eat. I ordered the Queen Crab Bucket. When it arrived, there were two clusters in the bucket. One had all of it's legs, although, the ends were broken off of every last one of them. The other "cluster" consisted of the body half and one, yes, one leg attached. There were a couple of other random legs in the bucket. I asked the waitress if this was normal. She looked at, said no it isn't, and said she would have them make me a new one. 20 minutes later... a new bucket arrived which was in much better condition. The crab was pretty tasty. I just felt like they didn't try to pay that much attention since I was a single. I didn't expect a meal for free, but taking off the dessert might have been a nice gesture. If I were to go back to California, and Hermosa Beach, I would probably avoid this place.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tom A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Distinctly ordinary”
Reviewed June 5, 2013

I had been looking forward to a crab feast here; having enjoyed one in a similar establishment in Florida (Crab Palace, Orlando). Similar building, atmosphere, etc. Joe's was empty when we arrived so we decided to sit on the covered oceanview terrace; it being a very hot day. I asked for the crab and salad my wife had a pasta dish. We didnt really enjoy either - neither really fulfilling our expectations of a hearty meal. Portions were on the small side and rather disappointing - perhaps we ordered the wrong food. Not good value compared to other places serving the same food; perhaps relying too much on the name and hype. Merchandise (t-shirts, etc) equally overpriced considering you were paying to be a walking ad for the place.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fodenman48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zeeland, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great Food”
Reviewed May 18, 2013

Reasonable prices, staff wants to make your experience great. Wait staff changes tables often so it is very possible that your party will not be checked on often unless you chase them down. But - management will definitely take care of any problems your party encounters

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mary K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Fun, upbeat and Great Crab!”
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Brought my relatives from Japan here and they reallllly enjoyed it! They wanted the Hands-in-the-Bucket experience. King Crab and Queen Crab were the hit. The Crab dip appetizer was recommended by the waiter and was also delicious. We sat in the bar and the whole staff was very attentive. If you are looking for somewhere fun to take out of town guest...this is it!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank janet4g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Joe's Crab Shack also viewed

 

Been to Joe's Crab Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing