We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do Not Stay Here Unless You Like Inconveniences”
Review of Palos Verdes Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Palos Verdes Inn
Ranked #16 of 19 Hotels in Redondo Beach
A TripAdvisor Member
Monitcello, Illinois
16
Reviewed July 26, 2005

My family traveled to CA for a wedding. We were unfamiliar with the area and chose Palos Verdes Inn due to it's convienent location to the ceremony and reception locations. We had a terrible experience. Day one, the air conditioning was not working properly and the room was a little warm. The ocean view from our room was a small triangle beyond the parking lot to the left of a building (not worth the extra $$). Day two, the first elevator broke down creating a wait to and from our room. Day three, the second elevator broke down causing us to use the stairs (with two 2 year olds). Day four, we checked out and my brother's bill (who had the same type of room on the same side of the hallway for the same # of nights) was much less than ours, so we inquired and were blown off by the manager. Learn from our experience and stay clear of the Paols Verdes Inn in Redondo Beach.

Stayed: July 2005
6  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (111)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

96 - 102 of 111 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Glendora, CA
215
Reviewed March 21, 2005

The full Ocean View and the enclosed pool and spa are the 2 main reasons to stay at this hotel. The lobby and restaurant are also very nice.
The rooms are clean. However, the furnishings are very dated. They look like early 1960's vintage. They did feature cable TV with pay-per-view movies.
We had a 3rd floor balcony room with a Western exposure. The hotel is a couple of blocks from the beach. We could see Pacific Ocean from full left to almost full right. Unfortunately, we were also over-looking a small parking lot. The large pool and small spa/jacuzzi were in a glass enclosure with a retractable roof. This is outside of the second floor. They also had a semi-private patio that was below level from the pool enclosure. The landscaping was very nice.
The staff was very pleasant and accomodating.
We have also stayed at the Portofino, which is nicer and right on the ocean. It is also much more expensive. You will save close to 50% by choosing the Palos Verdes Inn over the Portofino. If you are willing to spend the extra $, choose the Portofino. If you want the Ocean view for a reasonable price, choose the Palos Verdes Inn.

  • Stayed: March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2005

After staying in four different accomodations in the San Diego and Los Angeles areas, I must say that I'm puzzled by the reviews written by other travelers staying at Palos Verdes Inn.
My stay was very pleasant in a nice large quiet clean room with tasteful furnishings and a very large TV. In the afternoon, the cleaning staff is everywhere, cleaning everything in sight! I even saw cleaning staff cleansing the balcony furniture and railings very thouroughly! The hotel is located next to a music store, a book store and some sort of market/winery.
Having worked in the swimming pool industry, I inevitably swim if a pool is offered at my hotel. The pool at this hotel was well maintained, clean, very large by hotel standards, properly balanced and beautifully built. It's inside of an enclosure with a retractable roof and many sliding glass panels. The hot-tub built next to the pool has a decoratively tiled water-fountain/fall feature added to it. Also, the landscaping inside and surrounding this structure is exotic looking, aesthetically pleasing and meticulously well maintained. There is an adjacent bi-level outdoor sundeck as well.
The staff was wonderful to me. Room service actually came to my room with a menu 5 minutes before closing, noticed that I was too hungry to think clearly, recommended a good dish, took my order, and delivered it promptly & courteously about 10 minutes after the official closing time of the kitchen. They went out of their way to take care of me without pointing it out at all, and the halibut dish they offered up was absolutely delicious!
I'm glad for having taken a chance on an unknown hotel without having read any of the dismal previous reviews on this accomodation, as I mightn've at this hotel otherwise. It's true that the lobby is very impressive looking while the rest of the building seems a bit flat comparatively, but the room I stayed in was great & the staff was even better.

  • Stayed: January 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Dunebuggy4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Newport Beach, CA
110
Reviewed February 27, 2005

Room was very dirty looking and the carpet was like indoor outdoor ..couldn't even bring myself to walk on it with bare feet. Had to wear my flip flops!
The bathroom was the same, the ammenities were a joke (99cent maybe?) and the restaurant was lousy. The lobby & restaurant looks okay but the rooms are just terrible. Never did I have to iron my clothes in a seperate room downstairs! It was like staying in the Projects!

Never again!

  • Stayed: March 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Clovis, California
111
Reviewed December 7, 2004

A group of friends gathered to celebrate a wedding. We reserved 19 room/nights. Problelms: Almost every reservation was messed up, they used the excuse that they had a large soccer team staying there. We had reserved the rooms months in advance. I doubt the soccer team reserved before us. No one answered at the desk to place wake-up calls, took 2 hours and 2 calls to get towels missing from the roon at check-in, No pass key available to let a family in to their room after they got locked out. They had to crawl over ther neighbor's balcony and squeeze their child through the slider to gain access...the staff did nothing to help.No extra pillows available, Had to move to new room in the midle of my stay, one family's room had been given away and they had to find a new hotel at the last minute, major mess up at check out...my $300 bill had blossomed to over $1,000!!! Took over an hour and we had to call our own credit card company to straighten out the mess. Management could care less! Do yourself a favor and stay ANYWHERE else!!!

11  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2004

Since we would be traveling from out of town for our daughter’s wedding in Palos Verdes, CA, we asked her to visit hotels in the area so we could select one to stay in and recommend to our friends. The restaurant located at the property is a favorite of her future in-laws so after a meal and viewing of the lobby she said this hotel would be fine. An older hotel, we assumed it would have an older charm…Although older and well worn, the rooms themselves were adequate, and clean. I personally had reserved five rooms for two nights (Friday and Saturday); four for our immediate family and one for the bridesmaids. Two other rooms were reserved by friends for two nights (Friday and Saturday) and others reserved for one night (Saturday). A total of 13 rooms were reserved.

Things went smoothly Friday – well smoothly, until we returned from the rehearsal and dinner. It seems that one family inadvertently locked themselves out of their room by pushing in the privacy lock, as they were leaving the room. You’d assume that, for safety, the management would still be able to get into the room, however, the staff on duty had no idea how to open the door. The husband was able to go through the occupied room next door and climb from that balcony over to their balcony. They had, of course, locked the sliding glass door but after several minutes of violently shaking the door the latch released and the door opened 8-10 inches, stopped by a security bar at the base. This was not enough room for him to get through so their 8 year old daughter had to helped over the same balcony route and get through the door and save the day (evening!).

The wedding day arrived and other guests who had reserved rooms for one night began coming to the hotel. Everything seemed to run smoothly until my aunt arrived. She had reserved two rooms for one night, Saturday. Upon checking in she was told that because they had not arrived the night before (Friday) their rooms had been given away and that she would be responsible for the room charge. And, on top of that, there were no rooms available for that night! WHAT!!! She had reserved TWO rooms for ONE night, Saturday. The person at the desk was less than helpful. After some heated discussion the hotel did retract the charges and, at my aunt’s insistence, the hotel staff eventually called a neighboring hotel and arranged for them to stay there. At no time did the hotel staff apologize for their mistake, my aunt's inconvenience or the misunderstanding. In fact, they were insistent that my aunt had made the mistake. Now, I ask you, if you are reserving a room in a hotel don’t you usually know when you need to reserve it?? My theory is that with several individual rooms reserved for two nights, perhaps the person handling the reservation when my aunt called mistakenly assumed she was reserving one room for two nights. The price would have been the same as one night for two rooms. However, the manager (Mr. Escobar) would not admit any misunderstanding on the hotels part and was rather arrogant, when I spoke to him about it the next week.

There were several other minor inconveniences. One friend had reserved a room with two beds but received a king instead. Since she wanted to invite me to stay a third night, she was then inconvenienced by a move to a room with two beds for Sunday evening. Another family reserved an ocean view but did not receive it. Another family requested an additional pillow but was told they had no extra pillows available. After a discussion about how a hotel could not have any extra pillows for their guests a staff member did bring to the room a few pool size towels placed in a pillow case. At least that person made an effort to accommodate the request!

Needless to say, if we are ever in the Palos Verdes area, and need lodging, we will not stay at this hotel and neither will any of the other wedding guests.

  • Stayed: July 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
24  Thank mlsimons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2015, traveled solo
Thank Yasminne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Redondo Beach
2.1 mi away
The Redondo Beach Hotel
The Redondo Beach Hotel
#2 of 19 in Redondo Beach
496 reviews
0.8 mi away
Redondo Inn and Suites
Redondo Inn and Suites
#10 of 19 in Redondo Beach
167 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Redondo Beach & Marina
3.8 mi away
Hotel Hermosa
Hotel Hermosa
#3 of 7 in Hermosa Beach
173 reviews
2.1 mi away
Shade Hotel
Shade Hotel
#1 of 19 in Redondo Beach
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palos Verdes Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palos Verdes Inn

Address: 1700 S Pacific Coast Hwy, Redondo Beach, CA 90277-5902
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Redondo Beach
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 19 Hotels in Redondo Beach
Price Range: $115 - $155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Palos Verdes Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palos Verdes Inn is the classic hotel landmark in L.A.'s South Bay region. Located just minutes south of LAX, Palos Verdes Inn is in the 'boutique' Riviera Village section of south Redondo Beach, just steps away from clean and quiet Torrance Beach, and the boutique shops and restaurants in the neighborhood. Two miles from world-class shopping at Del Amo Fashion Center. Tired of the heat and hustle of L.A., Beverly Hills and Hollywood? Tired of the crowds in Santa Monica and Venice? Then Redondo Beach is THE place to stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Palos Verdes Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palos Verdes Hotel Redondo Beach
Hotel Palos Verdes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing