We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Emergency Stop over.”
Review of Palos Verdes Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Palos Verdes Inn
Ranked #16 of 19 Hotels in Redondo Beach
Carrara, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Emergency Stop over.”
Reviewed September 12, 2013

This was the Inn I stayed at when my flight was cancelled.
The room was large & clean and the Staff were always Pleasant & helpful.
Best part Location,location location.
Easy access to the Beach & shops all within easy walking distances and only 15 minutes from airport by shuttle.
The room would be better with a repaint, a tad overdue, but outside that every thing worked & I had a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank DavidGordon365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalosVerdesInn, Manager at Palos Verdes Inn, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear David Gordon,

Thank you for staying with us and thank you for sharing your experience at the Palos Verdes Inn.I`m glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! We look forward to your next stay with us.

Sincerely,
Goran ljubinovic
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    17
    27
    25
    32
See reviews for
16
25
11
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Butler, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

I stay here for business. Some rooms have a balcony which is nice to relax on. The rooms are Clean and the location is great! You are walking distance to the the beach, Trader Joes, Albertsons and many more restaurants.

Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalosVerdesInn, Manager at Palos Verdes Inn, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Michelle,

Thank you for staying with us and sharing your experience at the Palos Verdes Inn. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed staying in a balcony room and strolling down Riviera village.
We look forward to your next stay with us.

Sincerely,
Goran Ljubinovic
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodside, California, United States
Level Contributor
54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We stayed here as it was close for a funeral. We have stayed here I think 8 years ago. There is a Best Western down the street I would check out. The lobby is ok, staff nice ,but the room and bathroom is awful. Paint stripped from the door frame. black mold in the bathroom, the beds so uncomfortable and yes as mentioned can't get it cooler than 78 degrees. The neighbors were noisy in the apts. They had a party until 4:30 am on the balcony .With our windows open(as the air 'thing' is a joke) we had no sleep. I really don't get the 'kitch and clean' comment. It is not at all. Would never stay here again. It needs a complete overhaul.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalosVerdesInn, Manager at Palos Verdes Inn, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear Karen C,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent visit to the Palos Verdes Inn. We value all forms of guest feedback as an opportunity to continually improve our services and facilities for our guest. The owners are planing a full renovation of the hotel early next year. We are also taking steps to reduce the noise form the AC unit and that rooms are staying cooler.
Please accept my sincerest apologies that you were left to feel disappointed in any way.
I hope you will come and stay at our hotel to see our new renovations when complete: we certainly look forward to welcoming you back.

Sincerely,
GM@palosverdesinn.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chino Hills
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013

We were looking for an affordable hotel near the ocean and we found Palos Verdes Inn. This hotel was very afforable with good ocean views (get a 4th floor). It is located within walking distance of the beach and fun places to eat (The Original Pancake house next door is a must). The Hotel is clean, dated and a little run-down. Still stuck in the 80's. The pictures in the lobby and the great beach mural of the VW bug (hid in a corner) should be the new inspiration. Replace the old lounge area seating with trendy colorful seating would certainly brighten and invite. The elevator is a must fix. The rooms are clean but are void of any personality. Add a couple of beachy pictures. Take out the old entertainment centers with their old TV's and replace with a simple TV table and Flat screen TV and "viola" a new room. The bed was OK. A nice bistro set on the patio would be welcome. For the price and the location I will go back,

Room Tip: 4th floor ocean view are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sonofyamhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalosVerdesInn, General Manager at Palos Verdes Inn, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Sonofyamnil,

Thank you for sharing your experience at Palos Verdes Inn and taking time to respond to our online Guest Comment Card! It is with our guests suggestions and comments, such as yours, that will help us to improve.Please come see us again in the future.

Sincerely,
GM@palosverdesinn.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights and were really pleased we stayed here thanks to a friends recommendation. The location is great, close to Redondo Beach and very close walking distance to restaurants, bars & beach in the area. The Redondo area is a nice place to base yourself if you are after some R&R in LA.

The hotel is a 50s-or 60s icon, the lobby is very true to this period and the staff are helpful. The hallways to your room are rather dark and you do sort of think this is going to be bad, but the room we had was big, bright & light and faced the sea and most importantly quiet! Great to watch the sunset.

Also parking is FREE! a big plus in LA

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PacificHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalosVerdesInn, General Manager at Palos Verdes Inn, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear PacificHK

We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at The Palos Verdes Inn and that you enjoyed strolling trough Riviera Village.
Please come see us again in the future.

Sincerely,

GM@palosverdesinn.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, AZ
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

Disgusting dump.

The portable A/C units will not get the rooms below about 78. There is always something wrong with each room... it's sort of like a surprise to see what your's will be. While this time I had the standard black mold all over the shower (this is fairly common here) I also had blinds that did not close, and too many iron burns on the carpet to count. The rotary phone in the bathroom was a nice touch... truly showed how long it's been since this pace had any thought put into it.

Everywhere was musty and dank, and the "gym", like someone else said earlier, looks as though it may have previously been a closet.

The restaurant downstairs consists of multiple vending machines and microwaves... classy, indeed.

I've reviewed this place as "horrible" a couple of years ago, and it has yet to change. Save your money, and run far FAR away from this seedy dive.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank phxflyguy1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanside, California
1 review
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Am a Pilot for a major airline. I usually stay here every other week or so and have done so for several years.
While the place is dated, the location is excellent with everything, including a 5 star beach within short walking distance.
The rooms are exceptionally clean, but again ....... dated.
The Staff works well with you, but 'Goran', a front desk manger bends every way needed to make it work. All this for a lousy airline crew member !! Never has he left us wanting or without what is needed, and all with extreme professionalism and friendliness.
This is not a 5 star place, but good for you and your family.

Rick Kurner
Oceanside, California

Room Tip: ocean views available.....ask for them. Excellent internet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jetmonkey320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Redondo Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Redondo Beach Inn
2.1 mi away
The Redondo Beach Hotel
The Redondo Beach Hotel
#1 of 19 in Redondo Beach
417 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Redondo Beach & Marina
0.8 mi away
Redondo Inn and Suites
Redondo Inn and Suites
#9 of 19 in Redondo Beach
147 reviews
2.2 mi away
Shade Hotel
Shade Hotel
#3 of 19 in Redondo Beach
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palos Verdes Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palos Verdes Inn

Property: Palos Verdes Inn
Address: 1700 S Pacific Coast Hwy, Redondo Beach, CA 90277-5902
Location: United States > California > Redondo Beach
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 19 Hotels in Redondo Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Palos Verdes Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palos Verdes Inn is the classic hotel landmark in L.A.'s South Bay region. Located just minutes south of LAX, Palos Verdes Inn is in the 'boutique' Riviera Village section of south Redondo Beach, just steps away from clean and quiet Torrance Beach, and the boutique shops and restaurants in the neighborhood. Two miles from world-class shopping at Del Amo Fashion Center. Tired of the heat and hustle of L.A., Beverly Hills and Hollywood? Tired of the crowds in Santa Monica and Venice? Then Redondo Beach is THE place to stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Palos Verdes Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palos Verdes Hotel Redondo Beach
Hotel Palos Verdes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing