We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Value is in the view.”
Review of Palos Verdes Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Palos Verdes Inn
Ranked #16 of 19 Hotels in Redondo Beach
Reviewed July 24, 2013

We were looking for an affordable hotel near the ocean and we found Palos Verdes Inn. This hotel was very afforable with good ocean views (get a 4th floor). It is located within walking distance of the beach and fun places to eat (The Original Pancake house next door is a must). The Hotel is clean, dated and a little run-down. Still stuck in the 80's. The pictures in the lobby and the great beach mural of the VW bug (hid in a corner) should be the new inspiration. Replace the old lounge area seating with trendy colorful seating would certainly brighten and invite. The elevator is a must fix. The rooms are clean but are void of any personality. Add a couple of beachy pictures. Take out the old entertainment centers with their old TV's and replace with a simple TV table and Flat screen TV and "viola" a new room. The bed was OK. A nice bistro set on the patio would be welcome. For the price and the location I will go back,

Room Tip: 4th floor ocean view are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sonofyamhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalosVerdesInn, General Manager at Palos Verdes Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

Dear Sonofyamnil,

Thank you for sharing your experience at Palos Verdes Inn and taking time to respond to our online Guest Comment Card! It is with our guests suggestions and comments, such as yours, that will help us to improve.Please come see us again in the future.

Sincerely,
GM@palosverdesinn.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (111)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 111 reviews

Reviewed June 6, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights and were really pleased we stayed here thanks to a friends recommendation. The location is great, close to Redondo Beach and very close walking distance to restaurants, bars & beach in the area. The Redondo area is a nice place to base yourself if you are after some R&R in LA.

The hotel is a 50s-or 60s icon, the lobby is very true to this period and the staff are helpful. The hallways to your room are rather dark and you do sort of think this is going to be bad, but the room we had was big, bright & light and faced the sea and most importantly quiet! Great to watch the sunset.

Also parking is FREE! a big plus in LA

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PacificHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalosVerdesInn, General Manager at Palos Verdes Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2013

Dear PacificHK

We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at The Palos Verdes Inn and that you enjoyed strolling trough Riviera Village.
Please come see us again in the future.

Sincerely,

GM@palosverdesinn.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

Disgusting dump.

The portable A/C units will not get the rooms below about 78. There is always something wrong with each room... it's sort of like a surprise to see what your's will be. While this time I had the standard black mold all over the shower (this is fairly common here) I also had blinds that did not close, and too many iron burns on the carpet to count. The rotary phone in the bathroom was a nice touch... truly showed how long it's been since this pace had any thought put into it.

Everywhere was musty and dank, and the "gym", like someone else said earlier, looks as though it may have previously been a closet.

The restaurant downstairs consists of multiple vending machines and microwaves... classy, indeed.

I've reviewed this place as "horrible" a couple of years ago, and it has yet to change. Save your money, and run far FAR away from this seedy dive.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank phxflyguy1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Am a Pilot for a major airline. I usually stay here every other week or so and have done so for several years.
While the place is dated, the location is excellent with everything, including a 5 star beach within short walking distance.
The rooms are exceptionally clean, but again ....... dated.
The Staff works well with you, but 'Goran', a front desk manger bends every way needed to make it work. All this for a lousy airline crew member !! Never has he left us wanting or without what is needed, and all with extreme professionalism and friendliness.
This is not a 5 star place, but good for you and your family.

Rick Kurner
Oceanside, California

Room Tip: ocean views available.....ask for them. Excellent internet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jetmonkey320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2013 via mobile

On a business trip again for my Company and with no choice been at this hotel around five times last year. What a great location to build a nice hotel. You'll find everything around the hotel from Restaurants to good margaritas drinks to decompress after hours. Beach just few blocks away and the pacific breeze as normal, but the power continues to go down an out at least three to four times at night leaving you sweating in a room with no A/C, forgot to tell you, A/C it's a portable unit with a hose thru the wall, so, every time the power goes off when you get off the bed, you'll find yourself in a pod of water all over the floor. Great location poor rooms and electrical system at this place. Don't let the lobby fool you!!!!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sjose1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

This is an old rundown hotel. They have renovated with only as little as new paint and door locks. Other than that it is still the same run down place. No hot water. The carpet smells. Beds are uncomfortable. Go somewhere else.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank Flydawg1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012

The hotel is older which isn't so bad for the money you pay. We stayed on the 4th floor. The aircondition unit was very noisy and it never got below 77 degrees in the room. The housekeeping responded promptly for towels and pillows. Front desk service was great. The room itself was old but I guess tollerable with ear plugs for the fan. We chose this hotel because my mom needs a hot tub for her arthritus. The indoor pool and spa were below a 1 on a scale on 1 to 10. There were cob webs everywhere. The cement was so dirty my feet were filthy just by walking around the pool and spa. The spa was so hot I could not stay in longer than 10 minutes maybe 15 max. The sliding doors to the pool were rusty and dirty, very hard to open.

The good thing was this hotel is very close to Tony's, Kincaides, and the Cheesecake Factory. We made the best of our trip by going out and eating good food and listening to good music at Tonys beginning at 7PM.

We would not stay there again. In fact we wanted to stay at the Laguna Rivera in Laguna but they had construction going on.

Room Tip: I hear that there are suites on the 2nd floor. Our view was ok after getting over being above the p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pifmichele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Redondo Beach hotels
2.1 mi away
The Redondo Beach Hotel
The Redondo Beach Hotel
#2 of 19 in Redondo Beach
491 reviews
0.8 mi away
Redondo Inn and Suites
Redondo Inn and Suites
#10 of 19 in Redondo Beach
166 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Los Angeles/Redondo Beach
1.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Redondo Beach & Marina
5.2 mi away
Residence Inn Los Angeles Redondo Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palos Verdes Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palos Verdes Inn

Address: 1700 S Pacific Coast Hwy, Redondo Beach, CA 90277-5902
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Redondo Beach
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 19 Hotels in Redondo Beach
Price Range: $115 - $155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Palos Verdes Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palos Verdes Inn is the classic hotel landmark in L.A.'s South Bay region. Located just minutes south of LAX, Palos Verdes Inn is in the 'boutique' Riviera Village section of south Redondo Beach, just steps away from clean and quiet Torrance Beach, and the boutique shops and restaurants in the neighborhood. Two miles from world-class shopping at Del Amo Fashion Center. Tired of the heat and hustle of L.A., Beverly Hills and Hollywood? Tired of the crowds in Santa Monica and Venice? Then Redondo Beach is THE place to stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Palos Verdes Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palos Verdes Hotel Redondo Beach
Hotel Palos Verdes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing