We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Better than what we could have asked for....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of By the Beach

By the Beach
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Redondo Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
By the Beach
Save
You added By the Beach to your Saves list
Cordova, Alaska, United States
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Better than what we could have asked for....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We looked at this place over and over again while on a road trip and finally booked it as we neared the California Coast. What a find. The house is beautiful, Richard and Susan are the nicest hosts you can ask for and the location (and price) is amazing. We stayed in the Blue room and it was perfect for my husband, our three year old and myself. The bathroom down the hall is small but clean and private. We never ate breakfast because our brother was a mile away and we were with him every morning, but the offer was there and the coffee was always ready. The neighborhood is quiet and a very close walk to downtown Redondo or the beach. If you are looking for a place to stay in this area and do not want a gross, overpriced hotel and enjoy the friendly atmosphere of a well run B&B then you can do no wrong if you chose this lovely home. We did peak at the Mocha room and it was bright and nice looking. The Yellow room downstairs was also lovely with a private entrance.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Salmonslut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
1
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

If your looking for an affordable and quite B&B in Redondo Beach look no further. My husband and I stayed here with my parents and we LOVED it. The owners Richard and Susan welcomed us into their beautiful home. They have done a wonderful job decorating the house to make you feel at home. They had a wonderful pancake breakfast waiting for us in the morning.

Room Tip: The downstairs bedroom has a mini kitchen, newly remodeled bathroom and a door to a nice relaxing ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mychelle F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for two nights in the Yellow Room at By The Beach B&B. Richard and Susan were lovely hosts and made us feel welcome from the moment we arrived. The house is a short stroll from Redondo Beach and only 10 miles from LAX. Breakfast was plentiful and varied. All in all we we're very happy with our stay and would be keen to stay again.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DrS86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conway, South Carolina
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2010

Very clean.Warm friendly owners. Great accomodations. King bed very comfortable. Good location near the beach and airport. Much nicer than a hotel. We would go back.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sccoast1700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Redondo Beach
1.8 mi away
The Redondo Beach Hotel
The Redondo Beach Hotel
#1 of 18 in Redondo Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 323 reviews
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Redondo Beach Inn
1.9 mi away
The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Redondo Beach & Marina
0.6 mi away
Redondo Inn and Suites
Redondo Inn and Suites
#8 of 18 in Redondo Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 120 reviews
3.1 mi away
Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach
Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach
#1 of 7 in Hermosa Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to By the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about By the Beach

Property: By the Beach
Address: 1245 S Gertruda Ave, Redondo Beach, CA 90277-5125
Location: United States > California > Redondo Beach
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Redondo Beach
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing