We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“okay but pricey”
Review of BALEENKitchen

BALEENKitchen
Reserve with OpenTable
BALEENKitchen is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #13 of 312 Restaurants in Redondo Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: N. Harbor Drive
Description: Seaside dining with forget me not views of the marina at night or day keep you coming back to the chic, hip and trendy BALEENkitchen. Whether dining at our signature BALEENkitchen Restaurant, BALEEN Lounge, or The Living Room, you’ll surely enjoy the taste.
Reviewed November 22, 2012

the restaurant is nice enough but not wrth the prices they charge there are much better choices locally

Thank hayesone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnneliseHolyoak, Public Relations Manager at BALEENKitchen, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2012

Thank you for your constructive feedback. We will use your comments to improve the restaurant. We hope that we can invite you back to come again. We offer a wonderfully priced happy hour, seven days a week as well as nightly specials. Thank you and have a happy holiday!

Annelise Holyoak
The Portofino Hotel & Marina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (352)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

291 - 295 of 352 reviews

Reviewed November 21, 2012

Great food and wonderful marina view tucked away near the Portofino hotel in Redondo beach. Beautiful bar and service is excellent as well too.

Thank jeff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnneliseHolyoak, Public Relations Manager at BALEENKitchen, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2012

Thank you for the wonderful comments and constructive review. We appreciate your kind words and hope you can join us again! Glas you enjoyed the Marina.

Annelise Holyoak
The Portofino Hotel & Marina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

If you are looking for a simple, good, reasonably priced breakfast, probably want to skip. If you want to spend a bit, and get "fancy" food, it's worth it, esp. for those folks staying on property. No drive from the hotel, marina views, bright and airy. Interesting array of eggs benedict.. Some twists on the theme. Coffee is good, I had oatmeal with fixin's, was tasty and presentation was very good.

One of the nicer things is the fireplace & sand sitting areas by the marina. Very relaxing and provides a far away from the
LA scene atmosphere.... Quite nice.

Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnneliseHolyoak, Public Relations Manager at BALEENKitchen, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2012

Thank you for your comments and observations. We appreciate your remarks and will use them to improve the BALEENkitchen service standards. Thank you for your feedback.

Annelise Holyoak
The Portofino Hotel & Marina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

all good , staff very accommadating, good views over the marina.

Menu limited but covers most tastes

Thank dragons62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnneliseHolyoak, Public Relations Manager at BALEENKitchen, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2012

Thank you for your insightful review! We appreciate your comments and will use them to improve our restaurant’s service & cuisine!

Please visit it us again soon!

Annelise Holyoak
The Portofino Hotel & Marina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

We went to Baleen a couple of times for breakfast while staying at the Portofino. The huevos redondo, pancakes, mixed berries and frittatas are superb if a bit tarted-up (though not portions big enough to get you through the rest of the day). Coffee ok, and the staff give you a pot so you can avoid trying to flag them down for refills; they seemed very busy given how few customers there were. The real attraction is a view into the marina, where opaleye fish, rays and a couple of big orange garibaldi fish are busily going about their lives, and a view into some flowering bushes where we saw a couple of hummingbirds.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jenny C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnneliseHolyoak, Public Relations Manager at BALEENKitchen, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2012

Thank you for the intuitive comments. We are so pleased you were able to experience BALEENkitchen as a hotel guest. The marina views really do add such value to the dining experience. Watching hummingbirds and the fish can be very relaxing.

We appreciate your comments and will use them to improve our restaurant’s service & cuisine!

Thank you!
Annelise Holyoak
The Portofino Hotel & Marina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed BALEENKitchen also viewed

 
Redondo Beach, CA
 

Been to BALEENKitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing