We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super Hotel, Bad internet service, awesome staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ayres Hotel Redlands
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Redlands
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Cleveland USA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Super Hotel, Bad internet service, awesome staff”
Reviewed April 13, 2014

Great hotel, awesome breakfast, very comfortable. The only minus is the internet worked only half the time and very slow for all 8 days of my stay. Next time I will call ahead and see if this problem has been fixed. It was very annoying and I could not do any work in my room. Internet in the lobby was ok but just not as comfortable. The staff was great. Thank you Ayres

Room Tip: awesome place, come enjoy it, but check on the wifi availability first
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank edeskov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

915 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    644
    201
    45
    14
    11
See reviews for
393
142
44
212
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (363)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Boynton Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
273 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2014

I spent 4 nights at this hotel, good sized rooms, great breakfast and the staff was very friendly only complaint that I had was the noise, my room was downstairs next to the highway, otherwise, great choice, I would stay there again.

Room Tip: Get a room on the inside away for the highway
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pedro C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
99 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2014

First time in Redlands, traveling on my own and needed a hotel for one night.
If you have a car, the Aryes is a good choice for a family trip or if you want a reasonably priced hotel that is very clean and feels very safe and sound and has a very responsive and friendly staff.

The hotel has a small lobby, but the rooms are accessed from outdoor covered walkways, plaza-style, both on the interior side, facing the pool and the exterior side, facing out. The pool facing rooms seem to be more quiet, in terms of the highway noise, though I was told by the staff that the building was designed to limit the noise by the positioning of windows and entrances.. The Ayres is not a romantic get-away type of hotel, in my opinion, but rather an excellent choice for a sight seeing trip, a family trip to visit one of the several colleges in the area, or to hike or bike in the area.


Location is so-so; close to the highway, if you like easy access, but a bit noisy and you could see the highway and cars from certain vantage points. Redlands has a quaint, older part of town, and the Ayres is about a mile or so from the trendy restaurants and shops. If you want to be right in the downtown part of Redlands and be able to walk from your hotel, this might not be the place.



Nice pool, but smallish, fine for splashing around but not long enough for laps. Fitness room is next to the pool with double glass french doors looking out to the pool and deck. One treadmill, one elliptical, one bike and a Concept 2 rowing machine. Free weights, etc, towels and water. Small but adequate.

The Ayres has a nice complementary wine and cheese event from 5-7 which was well attended and much appreciated by those in attendance. Check to see the days/times; not sure if they have this every night. The breakfast is also complementary and very nice. Also free internet and parking, small refrigerator in room also.

Trader Joes and Von's not too far away, though you would probably drive to stores.

Room Tip: If you want easy access from your room directly to your car, ask for a first floor room on opposite...
See more room tips
Green Features: Room seemed a bit dark due to the use of eco-light bulbs. Common problem at many hotels these days.
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelr101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
272 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2014

This was an excellent hotel which we would highly recommend to others. It is located just off several freeways so is ideal for going in every direction!! The staff were really welcoming, the room was huge and spotlessly clean and the hotel and grounds were also very well looked after on a daily basis. The breakfast buffet is extensive with the hot food personally cooked for you each morning by a chef. During the week there is a manager's reception where for two hours each evening, you can help yourself to free wine or beer with chips and dips.
Our only issue was at the weekend the hotel was fully booked and although great for the hotel, this brings a different dimension to your stay. However as soon as the weekend was over, the public areas returned to normality and the pool and spa area was a great place to sit and relax in the sun.

Room Tip: A top floor always. The quieter rooms will be non pool side even tho the views are not great
See more room tips
Green Features: This is the first hotel we have been in where you are encouraged to recycle your personal waste. In addition to their other practices this is a step in the right direction
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MoJoTours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seal Rock, OR
Level Contributor
28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2014

This was my first stay at this particular Ayres location and can't say I was overly impressed. The room was very clean, the staff were super friendly, and I really enjoyed the great breakfast. I would say this property wasn't up to the same level of other Ayres I have stayed in. My only complaints were minor: 1-The TV didn't pivot making it very difficult to watch from anywhere else but the bed. 2- All the 2nd floor and inner 1st floor rooms are accessed only through the main hotel entry making for some inconvenience and long walks with baggage if you park at the very back. 3- My internet service was inconsistent or not working at times. 4- The doors for the rooms are not self closing and have to be firmly pulled to insure they lock. 5- The freeway is close and the noise is very loud preventing any opening of the windows for ventilation.

Room Tip: If you need easier car access pick a 1st floor outer room. Don't plan on walking to any restaura...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AyresHotels, General Manager at Ayres Hotel Redlands, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Dear Steve B.,

We were so happy to welcome you to our hotel. Our team enjoys hearing when a guest finds them to be accommodating and friendly. I apologize if your stay was not everything that you wanted it to be and that you experienced any issues. Next time if you suffer the same problem please contact our front desk immediately and we will do everything we can to ensure that you get a room in a quieter area closer to your vehicle.

Warm regards,

Rachel Kieng
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurie, Missouri
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed March 31, 2014

Enough said! The hotel is clean, very well maintained. The staff are gracious and accommodating. Whatever you need to make your stay an excellent one, they are there to make it happen. I've stayed as many as 14 days at one time and it starts to feel like your coming home at the end of a workday. My only negative are the pillows, too soft, but lots of them!
The wine and cheese from 5 - 7 weekdays, is a welcome relaxation by the end of the day too.
Wouldn't stay anywhere else while in Redlands!

Room Tip: I especially like the rooms in the courtyard
See more room tips
Green Features: New to California, but the key card in the slot by the door to turn the lights on in the most of the room is a great idea. If I forget to turn off a light
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2014

We had a great room right near the pool. We enjoyed the covered patio. Monday - Thursday they had Happy Hour from 5 - 7 with free wine and cheese, it was a pleasant surprise. The room was large and spotlessly clean. There were several restaurants near by.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Redlands
0.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Redlands
Comfort Suites Redlands
#2 of 9 in Redlands
190 reviews
0.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Bernardino (Redlands)
0.3 mi away
Dynasty Suites Redlands
Dynasty Suites Redlands
#5 of 9 in Redlands
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton San Bernardino
0.9 mi away
Good Nite Inn Redlands
Good Nite Inn Redlands
#4 of 9 in Redlands
452 reviews
4.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn San Bernardino
Hilton Garden Inn San Bernardino
#4 of 32 in San Bernardino
548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ayres Hotel Redlands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ayres Hotel Redlands

Property: Ayres Hotel Redlands
Address: 1015 W Colton Ave, Redlands, CA 92374-2933
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Redlands
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Redlands
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ayres Hotel Redlands 3*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ayres Hotel Redlands combines the comforts and conveniences of home with the warm hospitality you’ve come to expect from the Ayres name. At our green certified hotel, you’ll find all of the luxurious guest rooms at Ayres Hotel Redlands are impeccably appointed with a full suite of complimentary amenities including our signature, triple sheeted Ayres Dream Sleeper beds, flat screen TVs, refrigerators, coffeemakers, well lit work desks and Wifi, hand held hairdryers, and curved shower rods. And every morning you will start your day right with our complimentary full American breakfast. At our convenient Redlands, CA location you are in the heart of all the city has to offer. Take a stroll through historic Downtown Redlands or visit your student at the University of Redlands. If you are in need of some fresh air, the Ayres Hotel is close to Smiley Park and Kimberly Crest House & Gardens. Catch a show at the California Theater of the Performing Arts or place your bets at nearby San Manuel Indian Bingo and Casino! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ayres Hotel Redlands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing