We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value. Close to U of Redlands”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ayres Hotel Redlands
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Redlands
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
50 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Excellent value. Close to U of Redlands”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

We have stayed here on several occasions over the last four years while our daughter was attending the University of Redlands (graduated April 20, 2013!). We have never been disappointed. Friendly staff, clean spacious rooms, good breakfast, nice pool, excellent value. It is close to the highway but we have not found noise to be a problem. Less than 10 minute drive to the University.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vanwinkle7562
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

915 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    644
    201
    45
    14
    11
See reviews for
393
142
44
212
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (363)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Kingman Arizona
2 reviews
Reviewed April 18, 2013

The staff is friendly, the hotel super clean, and the weekday breakfast omelettes from Pedro are delicious. I have stayed at this hotel many times and would recommend it to a friend. The patio area by the pool is especially nice.

Room Tip: Rooms are well insulated, but second floor is quietest. On the first floor, cars park right up to t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CSaltzman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkland, Washington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed April 12, 2013

We had a great stay at this hotel and appreciated the couteous service and nice extras including a complimentary Wine and beer happy hour and delicious breakfast. It was a great value. Thanks so much!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ktiz01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanside, California, United States
Level Contributor
52 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013

We've stayed here three times for various reasons. The rooms have been large and comfortable and the staff usually very helpful. But please remember, this is a motel. The doors open to the outside, so it can be very noisy whether you are facing the parking lot or in to the pools. On one stay there seemed to be some youth sporting group booked in and those kids and families were always in the pool. Breakfast is always crowded and guests will camp out in tables and on the outdoor patio. The evening happy hour doesn't even feature local beer, but it is free. But again, the rooms are large and comfortable. If you get upstairs and facing the courtyard, you can have a very pleasant experience. We keep going back when we are in Redlands, and that says a lot.

Room Tip: Go upstairs and a facing the pool/courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LHerrmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davis, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 7, 2013

I'll be brief here. My daughter and I stayed at Ayres for the first time in Nov. 2012. Loved it. Returned this past week for two nights with my husband, son and daughter. Love the courtyard seating area, pool, hot tub, and made-to-order breakfast (I think the offerings are a little better on week days than on the weekend). Great location if you are visiting University of Redlands, which is just down the street a ways. Also close to downtown Redlands. REALLY nice hotel for the money.

Room Tip: I asked for a quiet room because it is close to the freeway. But even in November, when we stayed in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MDand2K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Covelo, Ca
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 3, 2013

First a clarification. We didn't stay there so this review is not about the accommodations. We booked 2 rooms on our return trip from Texas. On the morning of our intended arrival our vehicle experienced a transmission issue which left us stranded in Blythe, California. We called the hotel in the AM to inform them of our issue and cancel. Although never mentioned at the booking call the day previous day we were informed we'd be charged the full price ($248) despite our problem. I asked to speak to the manager and informed her that we'd never been told of their billing policy and requested they reduce the charge. Intransigent and rude would best describe her response. I'd expect some charge for their efforts, but the full price? In 55 years of travel as an adult I've never experienced a colder response from hotel management. It's probably a lovely place to lodge, but god help you if you experience vehicle issues. You'd get more compassion from Attila The Hun.

David Maxwell

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank X2778BYdavidm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California, United States
1 review
Reviewed March 31, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Ayres Hotel Redlands for the first time in December 2012. We were impressed by the spacious, beautiful rooms...complete with frig and microwave. The made-to-order breakfast each morning is incredible! And when my husband left a pair of pants and two shirts hanging up in the closet, all it took was an e-mail and they were found, boxed up, and mailed to us immediately.

We chose the Ayres again for a spring break visit to family because we knew we would sleep well (the beds are comfortable and we're picky!) and start the day well-fed. The staff are friendly and the manager goes above and beyond to make sure everyone is cared for.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheri G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Redlands
0.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Redlands
Comfort Suites Redlands
#2 of 9 in Redlands
190 reviews
0.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Bernardino (Redlands)
0.3 mi away
Dynasty Suites Redlands
Dynasty Suites Redlands
#5 of 9 in Redlands
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton San Bernardino
0.9 mi away
Good Nite Inn Redlands
Good Nite Inn Redlands
#4 of 9 in Redlands
452 reviews
4.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn San Bernardino
Hilton Garden Inn San Bernardino
#4 of 32 in San Bernardino
548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ayres Hotel Redlands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ayres Hotel Redlands

Property: Ayres Hotel Redlands
Address: 1015 W Colton Ave, Redlands, CA 92374-2933
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Redlands
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Redlands
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ayres Hotel Redlands 3*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ayres Hotel Redlands combines the comforts and conveniences of home with the warm hospitality you’ve come to expect from the Ayres name. At our green certified hotel, you’ll find all of the luxurious guest rooms at Ayres Hotel Redlands are impeccably appointed with a full suite of complimentary amenities including our signature, triple sheeted Ayres Dream Sleeper beds, flat screen TVs, refrigerators, coffeemakers, well lit work desks and Wifi, hand held hairdryers, and curved shower rods. And every morning you will start your day right with our complimentary full American breakfast. At our convenient Redlands, CA location you are in the heart of all the city has to offer. Take a stroll through historic Downtown Redlands or visit your student at the University of Redlands. If you are in need of some fresh air, the Ayres Hotel is close to Smiley Park and Kimberly Crest House & Gardens. Catch a show at the California Theater of the Performing Arts or place your bets at nearby San Manuel Indian Bingo and Casino! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ayres Hotel Redlands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing