We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just OK”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Oxford Suites Redding
Ranked #2 of 36 Hotels in Redding
Certificate of Excellence
Port Orchard, WA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Just OK”
Reviewed November 16, 2008

We had not stayed at an Oxford Suites before but a friend recommend it but we were disappointed. This was an older hotel, I don't think we had one of the renovated rooms that other reviews mentioned.

The plus was a large bathroom counter, however, there wasn't good ventilation from the bathroom and the room became very humid and stuffy after we showered and was still that way when we returned from breakfast. I didn't like the half wall partitioning the bed from the "sitting area", when on the sofa watching TV, I felt closed in. I think the room would appear roomier without the wall.

We found the check-in clerk snooty but the person checking us out was okay but trying to sell us on other Oxford Suites.

We were too tired to try the complimentary cocktails but that sounded like a nice touch. The breakfast was better than most hotel free breakfasts. If staying in Redding again, we would probably look for a better place to stay.

  • Liked — Breakfast
  • Disliked — Everything else
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelor50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    790
    295
    100
    51
    21
See reviews for
506
256
84
241
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Eureka, CA
1 review
Reviewed August 25, 2008

Nice rooms with two double beds, plus a pull out sofa bed in a seperate room. Love the morning breakfast, although the kids would've liked pancakes or waffles instead of biscuts and gravy or hash browns. We stay here every year and go to the waterslides, unfortunatly we went over there and the waterslides where closed due to thunder storm warnings that never happened. The kids still had fun in the pool and we went to turtle bay, loved the bird and butterfly displays there. We'll stay here again!

  • Liked — warm breakfast, two room suites
  • Disliked — loud kids at pool, price
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Leftystephy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 2, 2008

We had an absolutely wonderful experience at Oxford Suites in Redding! Our room was spacious and comfortable and clean. Nice size with 2 queen-sized beds and a separate sitting room for a total of $132.00 for the one night. Wonderful cocktails in the evening and great breakfast in the morning for free (we were expecting just rolls and coffee - but got fresh cooked eggs and bacon, juice, coffee, etc.). Nice cozy atmosphere in this small hotel. We absolutely loved it and will stay here again when we go through Redding. We had booked rooms at the Holiday Inn across the street and the Red Lion down the street- both of those places were pits -

  • Liked — nice size rooms - comfortable beds - clean
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank loganCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2008

I agree with all the other reviews describing the well appointed rooms and amenities plus the 2 cocktails per person (white wine wasn't bad) and ample buffet breakfast.

Our only complaint was the noise level as a result of very poor construction. Our first room was next to a party of 4 who weren't talking excessively loud, but it sounded like they were having a full blown party by the time it came through the door separating our rooms. Before unpacking, we asked for another room. This time we got one under Bigfoot or someone wearing concrete shoes. We noticed later that even walking down the hallways, you could hear loud footsteps right above.

The other impediment to a peaceful time is the noisy air conditioners. We kept ours on, though, so we wouldn't hear the clomping feet in the room above.

The hallway also had a horrible smell, which was sort of a combination of cigarette smoke and room freshener.

  • Liked — The layout and features of the room.
  • Disliked — The noise from other rooms due to poor construction.
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank jwob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2008

My husband and I stayed at this hotel Thursday July 17th- Saturday July 19th. I think we paid roughly $130.00 per night for a king bed room.

The rooms consist of a bed, spacious vanity area, separate toilet and shower combo, dresser, 2 flat panel tv, loveseat, desk (with free internet connection), microwave, small fridge, and A/C.
We felt the room was very clean and comfortable.

The hotel offers a complimentary hot breakfast and also a happy hour (4 drinks per room and appetizers) on the weekdays. We did not take advantage of either so I cannot comment much more on this.

The pool was nice and had a hot tub. The only thing I think could be changed was the towels at the pool are about as big as a 7 year old child would need. I would like to see them have a "normal" size pool towel. That is the only negative thing I could find about the hotel.

The staff was friendly as well as the housekeeping. There was plenty of complimentary parking. We ate both nights at a restaurant a few blocks away called Cool Hand Lukes. The menu consisted of Steaks, Ribs, Chicken etc and was very good. There were plenty of other restaurants within walking distance as well.

All and all we enjoyed our stay and would return to the same hotel if we are ever passing through Redding again.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ginaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davis
Level Contributor
67 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2008

After staying many times at the Oxford Suites in Redding, I was extremely surprised on my recent stay that the hotel had recently been renovated. The rooms were like new, the paint, furnishings, bedspreads, drapes, air conditioning units, etc. had all been updated. The hot breakfast was as good as ever. I had only two complaints: they should refresh the food more often in the evening, and they should prohibit smoking in the pool area.

  • Liked — Newly renovated.
  • Disliked — Smoking
  • Stayed June 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank princesspanda56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sacramento, ca
Level Contributor
118 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2008

Stayed two nights, a Friday and Saturday, in an executive king room. A nice room with a feature that the living room area could be closed from the bedroom. However, if closed, no airflow from wall airconditioning unit reaches the bedroom and it can be uncomfortable if warm.

During the spring and summer apparently the town has a number of sports tournaments and conventions and it had a large number of young kids. Fortunately our room was not near pool and it was relatively quiet. Rooms are a little older but very nice. Two TVs, one flat panel. Bathroom is OK but not large.

An evening appetizer and wine/beer event ispart of the package. The appetizers are set out at 5:30 p.m. and once gone, there are no replacements--don't come late. The beer selection is good, and the wine selection is mediocre. The red's are almost bad.

Breakfast buffet in morning is also included. It had eggs, sausage, potatoes, fruit, and bread, and drinks. No fancy rolls or sweet rolls, just white bread.

Overall a nice place, with extras. In an area with many franchise type restaurants.

  • Liked — Large comfortable room
  • Disliked — Wine at evening appetizer/wine event
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelnice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Redding hotels
3.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Redding
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Redding
2.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Redding
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Hilltop Inn
3.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Redding
Comfort Suites Redding
#10 of 36 in Redding
4.5 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
2.0 mi away
Travelodge Redding CA
Travelodge Redding CA
#5 of 36 in Redding
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oxford Suites Redding? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oxford Suites Redding

Property: Oxford Suites Redding
Address: 1967 Hilltop Dr, Redding, CA 96002-0211
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Redding
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Redding
#5 Family Hotel in Redding
#7 Romantic Hotel in Redding
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Oxford Suites Redding 3*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exceptional has never been so affordable! Located in the heart of California’s outdoor recreation country, the Oxford Suites Redding is just a short drive away from the Redding Convention Center, Redding Soccer Park, Bethel Church and Simpson University. Complimentary amenities include Full Hot Breakfast Buffet, Evening Reception, High Speed Wi-Fi, Parking, Airport Shuttle, Outdoor Pool, Spa & Fitness Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Oxford Suites Redding reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oxford Suites Redding Hotel Redding
Oxford Hotel Redding

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing