We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best place to stay in Redding, CA area...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Oxford Suites Redding

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Oxford Suites Redding
Ranked #2 of 36 Hotels in Redding
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Best place to stay in Redding, CA area...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

We live locally to this hotel and stayed here as part of our 21st weeding anniversary celebration. We chose Oxford because of their high rating on TripAdvisor and Oxford lived up to their reputation. We thought it was cool that they have a small store in the lobby where you can buy snacks, medicines or even some ice cream. The rooms have nice flat screen AND a DVD player, you can rent movies in the lobby. We were offered a free movie rental by the manager. Rooms come with two free drinks the evening you check in and a free hot breakfast the next morning. There are also lots of restaurants and bars within walking distance. We would recommend this hotel to anyone and we would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Interstate5trucker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    753
    288
    96
    49
    21
See reviews for
481
243
82
235
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
La Jolla
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

As a frequent traveler, I've come to realize that sometimes the humbler hotels have the most to offer. And the unpretentious Oxford Suites proves this rule to the max! The Oxford's spotlessly clean suites have free wi-fi, an abundance of towels, a coffee maker, microwave, and great TVs. All at a very reasonable price.

Coffee urns in the lobby and a big bowl of apples at the front desk greet you when you arrive. Add to this, a complementary lavish, hot breakfast, cooked before your eyes, and in the evening, complementary light snacks and vouchers (two per person) for wine or soft drinks.

The ultra-courteous staff is ready to help you in any way you need. Everyone is just lovely at the Oxford Suites in Redding. Located in the heart of town, with plenty of parking, a nice pool, and laundry facilities, you will feel pampered and cared for.

Room Tip: If you are traveling solo, book a junior suite. It's still huge for one person and saves you mon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LaJollaSpot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enoch, Utah, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

We really enjoyed this hotel. The breakfasts are cooked fresh and served hot. The evening reception was especially nice and will probably keep us coming back! The cook was friendly and accommodating. The only drawback while we were there was that the hot tub was out of order. The room we had is great for families because of the sliding door between the two rooms. There is a TV in each room so the kids can watch their own thing!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephanie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

The entire staff was courteous, helpful, and very friendly. I dealt with the front desk during the day, late night and wee hours of the morning. Shuttle drivers, food servers, housekeepers were all terrific.
The rooms were clean and well-supplied with towels, which is a big issue for me. Extra blankets were provided immediately on request.
I was grateful for the small store on site when I needed a snack at night after nearby restaurants were closed. However, it is mostly frozen foods, no fruit or fresh foods.
I chose this hotel because of the complimentary shuttle service they provide to a conference I was attending, and I took advantage of the free transportation every day. They were extremely accommodating, picking me up and dropping me off whenever I called.
The complimentary breakfast exceeded my expectations: a real breakfast, not just a selection of muffins and pastries. I only used my happy hour coupon for a drink once, but was delighted to have it.
My only dislike was the lighting and decor in my room. It felt dark and a little dreary. The rooms were a bit small, but having a separate living room made the accommodations feel more spacious.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debora D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queenstown
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

Having flown from Auckland New Zealand to San Fransisco, picking up our rental car then making the 4 hour drive to Redding we were very happy with our accomodation.
After getting our 5 year old organised with our 75 yr old dad, husband and I popped down to the reception to see what exactly is a complimentory 'evening reception' -it included 2 free drinks each and nibbles, in our case Nachos & garlic bread!!....needless to say there was no need for dinner that night. It was great, very comfy and friendly service.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank saxmo2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
previse
Level Contributor
175 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

The good:
Friendly efficient check in.
Fast wifi.
Manager's reception (two free drinks)

The bad.
Cramped, dimly lit room.
The room was technically a suite, but we'd have been much better off with one nice size room instead of two tiny ones. After we chased down a replacement bulb for the floor lamp (more difficult than you'd guess) the lighting improved, but we couldn't bring in any daylight from the windows - one set of windows opens on the parking lot, the other on the walkway and neither has any sheers, so it's impossible to open either set of curtains without being exposed to people walking by.
Disappointing breakfast
The meal is served cafeteria style and you have to present certificates from the reception desk. I had the worst biscuits and gravy I've ever encountered (isn't there supposed to be a little sausage in the gravy?), dead dry overcooked scrambled eggs. and half a banana with the cut end black from sitting around for a day or so (portion control I suppose).

On balance, I'd rather buy my own drinks and stay someplace else.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank previse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WesternTrvlr, Manager at Oxford Suites Redding, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank you for outlining our opportunities for improvement. We will discuss with our team and look for ways to better our guests' experience. We appreciate your patronage and perhaps in the future, we'll have an opportunity to prove to you why we are so highly rated in TripAdvisor. Thanks again for the comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

On our way to Bend, Oregon (after a long 10 hr drive) our family arrived emotionally and physically wiped out at the hotel. The evening staff was friendly and service was excellent. Our room was comfortable and inviting. The complimentary gift basket with treats brought a smile back to our faces. Our kids had fun in the swimming pool. While my husband and I enjoyed our complimentary drinks. Thanks Oxford Suites Redding. Breakfast was great! We will come back for sure!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Redding hotels
3.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Redding
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Redding
0.1 mi away
Red Lion Hotel Redding
Red Lion Hotel Redding
#12 of 36 in Redding
4.0 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Redding
3.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Redding
Comfort Suites Redding
#10 of 36 in Redding
4.5 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hilltop Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oxford Suites Redding? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oxford Suites Redding

Property: Oxford Suites Redding
Address: 1967 Hilltop Dr, Redding, CA 96002
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Redding
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Redding
#5 Family Hotel in Redding
#7 Romantic Hotel in Redding
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Oxford Suites Redding 3*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exceptional has never been so affordable! Located in the heart of California’s outdoor recreation country, the Oxford Suites Redding is just a short drive away from the Redding Convention Center, Redding Soccer Park, Bethel Church and Simpson University. Complimentary amenities include Full Hot Breakfast Buffet, Evening Reception, High Speed Wi-Fi, Parking, Airport Shuttle, Outdoor Pool, Spa & Fitness Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Oxford Suites Redding reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oxford Suites Redding Hotel Redding
Oxford Hotel Redding

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing