We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Oxford Suites Redding
Nearby Hotels
$81
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Plus Twin View Inn & Suites(Redding)(Great Value!)
$112
$106
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$142
$129
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Redding CA(Redding)(Great Value!)
$98
$92
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$129
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Suites Redding(Redding)(Great Value!)
$113
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Thunderbird Lodge(Redding)(Great Value!)
$89
$86
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Inn(Redding)(Great Value!)
$90
ComfortInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$117
$113
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$129
$116
Fairfield Inn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,441)
Filter reviews
1,441 results
Traveler rating
898
346
117
57
23
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
898
346
117
57
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsevening receptionfree drinkssalad bardrink ticketssitting roomlight dinnerhot breakfastgreat place to staymorning breakfasthome away from homebethel churchgreat breakfastbagelsroad tripbeds were comfortablelong driveparking lot
Filter
Updating list...
1,233 - 1,238 of 1,441 reviews
Reviewed January 14, 2013

Several of my family members reserved rooms while in town for a graduation. It was a cold day with frigid gusty winds, many people commented it was the coldest they've ever seen for Redding. Many people gathered to watch a football game in the lounge. Many of my family members and other guests were enjoying a drink and cheering on the 49ers but the doors into the louge were propped open and icy gusts of wind were coming through. We closed the doors, and without saying anything a staff member re-opened them. We asked if we could keep them closed as it was very cold and wind was blowing through. They said no, offering no explanation. When pushed the guy working the front desked stated it is due to the fire code. This was a blatant lie. I'm a professional engineer and know the requirements. He then simply stated its comany policy, and he's just following the rules. Well I guess allowing the guests to be comfortable isn't a policy? Finally he agreed to let us close one of the double doors which at least prevented direct blasts from the icy wind for a portion of the room. Another employee then opened the door back up and got very rude with us. The guy who said we could close it informed her he allowed it and peace ensued for about 20 minutes when we were informed they were closing the lounge and we must leave. It was 7:30 and they are advertised to be open until 9:30.

Also, the heater in the room rattled so loudly that It was hard to even watch TV, let alone sleep.

I wouldn't expect my experience to be typical, but it was just so rediculous. Why would they so strictly deny their guests basic comfort when there was absolutely no practical explanation? Our group included Grandparents, Parents, and Children. We were not being overly loud or rowdy. I just don't understand it.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Luke E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WesternTrvlr, Manager at Oxford Suites Redding, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2013

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. Every review posted on this website is reviewed by our management team, including corporate, and by local staff so please know that your comments have been duly noted. Oxford Suites' evening reception is a complimentary amenity offered to guests staying with us, and we recently added additional drinks available for purchase at our lounge. The intention is to provide a peaceful, relaxed service for our loyal guests. We also have TVs available in the lounge for their convenience. Our guests periodically may meet one or two friends or family members there, who are not staying at the hotel. We do not, however, promote our lounge as a standard sports bar, where our patrons might expect a more energetic environment. Thus, due to our staffs' observations, we considered closing the lounge early but ultimately did not need to do so. We apologize that you were inconvenienced, and that a better solution was not found for dealing with the cold. We will look at how we can address wind drafts, while leaving the doors open, and are truly sorry that you were uncomfortable. Thank you again for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

We made reservations for one night as we got a late start on our return home from the Sacramento area and did not want to travel the mountains north to Oregon in the dark and possibly bad weather. The receptionists were very friendly and efficient and allowed up to pick the floor we wanted. There were cookies waiting and the days newspaper. We were given coupons for the reception that evening which served a good tomato soup and salad along with two drinks for each of us. The drinks were wine, beer or soft drinks. Also included were coupons for a hot made to order breakfast the next morning. The beds were comfortable and the bathroom was clean and equipped. The only draw back was that the walls on the first floor seemed to be very thin and noises could be heard easily. Overall, we were satisfied and would return there on another visit.

Room Tip: The higher rooms might be less noisy but I would imagine the construction is the same throughout.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JimT353
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

I have mixed feelings about this place, on one hand the hotel itself is quite nice, the staff at the front desk was very pleasant, the room was comfortable and clean, but we had the worst night's sleep due to the person in the room above us stomping around continuously from about 9am - 2am. Just a brutal night's sleep. So this is definitely a hotel to consider when staying overnight in Redding, but I would advise people to chose a room on the upper floor, if possible.

Room Tip: Pick a room on the 4th floor.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Trip advisor noted that you can get 20% off your stay, so we got a great price (until Jan 15th, 2013 use code: "warmup"). Travis (at the front desk) was SO wonderful. We called on the road from Oregon to make a reservation and he called us back to confirm our requests. Breakfast was good with big portions. Eggs, biscuits and gravy, sausage, fruit, cereal, breads, etc. Beds were comfortable and clean. Got a room with a King sized bed. Our room had an additional couch with pull out bed, frige, microwave, 2 tv's (one in bed portion and one in sitting room). Had a evening reception. 2 Glasses of either wine beer, or soda, salads n soup, bread, fruit, and cookies. We chose to go to Logan's next door and Travis Gave us a card to get a free kids meal and 10% off our meal. Apparently, they also have coupons for Marie Callendar's next door as well. Cons: while the rooms were clean, my husband thought the halls could benefit from a little attention. He also found a tiny bit of black mold where a little of the wallpaper was peeling up in the bathroom. All in all, a great stay and we would definitely visit again. Everyone was just SO NICE!!!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tiffsu1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

My wife and I recently stayed at the Oxford Suites with our daughter, son-in-law, and two grandchildren (ages 2 years and 7 months). We had a suite that was actually three rooms in one: a separate bedroom with its own door and two adjacent rooms (one with bed and one with a sofa, coffee table, and a higher table suitable for laptop use or for writing). These rooms could be separated by a sliding door. Each room had its own TV set. Therefore, the setting was perfect for use with the children. Our older grandchild was able to be active, going from room to room to explore, while the younger child could crawl about the floor in the living room section. At bedtime, my wife and I took the room with the bed and closed the sliding door, leaving the living room and separate bedroom for our daughter and son-in-law's use. This worked out perfectly, as they had to set up two portacribs for the children. My wife and I could watch TV in privacy while the children were put to bed. The rooms were clean and set up well. The only disadvantages were that the space between the bed and chest of drawers in our room was fairly narrow and there was only one bathroom at our end of the suite, near main entrance door. However, this did not prove to be a problem, as we left the sliding door ajar after we had gone to bed, and we didn't notice when anyone else needed to use the bathroom.

Room Tip: For groups like ours (four adults with two young children) the type of suite that we had would be be convenient. We were able to store milk in the mini fridge for the children.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Norman Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews