We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great dog friendly hotel.....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Oxford Suites Redding
Ranked #2 of 37 Hotels in Redding
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 1, 2012 via mobile

With all the difficulty I had locating pet-friendly hotels, this was a relief.

Better than expected room. Still needs a bit more updating, but overall, a clean reliable for you and your pet.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jaypacific
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,374)
There are newer reviews for Oxford Suites Redding
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,223 - 1,229 of 1,375 reviews

Reviewed June 28, 2012

We arrived and were greeted by a very intense young lady at the counter. Nice enough but so wound up! The rest of the clerks over the week were more chill. All of them took care of our needs best they could.

You get coupons for breakfast and a couple of drinks or beers at night. You could also get a juice or soft drink. The breakfasts were hot food, just a notch up from typical cold breakfast bars. I think the bacon was actually real. It was a nice surprise and we never left in the morning without feeling full. They had a little buffet at dinner- salad and a soup or maybe a pasta salad. You couldn't live on it but it was nice to have snacks right there. There are plenty of restaurants you can walk to.

One night, the cooler didn't work right. It wouldn't kick on unless we set it very low. I called front desk and he said there wasn't much that could be done (3am) and I understood. He said "You could open the windows but it is probably hotter outside. Anyhow, I got up at 5 and worked out. It was in the 50's!! All I had to do was open the window! The workout center is small but was clean and I was able to get full workout in.

We rented two rooms. One was the large sweet and having the extra seating area was nice. One TV was old school, but one was flat screen. The toiletries and towels are minimal, but everything worked and smelled fresh. Bedding was 7 or 8 out of 10. Plenty of pillows.

One thing we didn't use was their shuttle. But we constantly saw their shuttle dropping people off and were impressed by how generous they were with it.

There is a pool with small patio area. We ate out there a couple of times but never did swim.

Safety: It was more motel than hotel. Some corridors were outside, some were in. They keys were old school plastic ones with holes punched in them. Safer than a metal key but a little lacking compared to the most modern systems. We did feel safe as there though.

Room Tip: If you are going to a conference, be sure you get the conference rate.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jwatsonusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2012

Chose this hotel because it was supposed to be on par with the Hilton Garden Inn in Redding and cost $50 less. It is not on par with a HGI at all. The Oxford furnishings and fixtures look nice in the pictures online but inside are worn and dated. The room doesn't feel clean, and there was garbage (plastic debris) under the bed skirts, discovered when I had to locate my daughter's shoe. The Oxford hotel is also NOISY. The air conditioning unit is bar none the loudest of the rooms I have stayed in on our road trip from WA to San Diego. Same for the toilet - each flush is like a jet engine taking off in the room. You can hear other toilets and also the showers in operation in the other rooms at this property. And, the walls and floors are thin enough that you can easily hear other people stomping around. If the room had been in the $100/night range instead of $150 I would have been more forgiving. Next time, I'll go down the road to Anderson and book a room at the Gaia instead.

Room Tip: If you absolutely have to stay here, request a room that is not next to anyone, either to the sides...
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank OneGirlTraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 3, 2012

Thank you for staying at the Oxford Suites Redding. We are truly sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We want to make sure our guests are aware that if they are unsatisfied with their suite in any way, we are happy to move them to a more suitable suite, assuming one is available. Would you consider calling our General Manager, Ryan Rydalch, so that we can apologize directly and determine the room you were staying in? He can be reached at 800.762.0133. We would like to inspect and minimize the noise in the suite where you stayed. Thanks for taking the time to comment.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2012

I have stayed at Oxford Suites Redding 3 or 4 times now. It's my favorite place to stay when I go to Redding. The beds are very comfortable and the breakfasts are so good. The staff is always very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Love the 2 queen suite. Very roomy
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dnaehart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2012

This is the best place ever to stay, great rates, perks, friendly emplyees.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ThomasJLund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2012

We stayed 2 nights in Redding for a dance recital and were very impressed with the Oxford Suites. The most impressive part is the staff, they are very pleasant and helpful. The rooms are nicely decorated but I wish we had went with a larger room. We had the studio suite, which would be great for a couple, but a little tight with a child using the sofa bed. When it's folded out it makes the living room area about useless. We were offered the bigger room, but since the elevator was out the first day, we took a first floor room instead. It was over 100 degrees during our stay and hauling everything upstairs did not seem appealing.
The pool area is a bit small but very nice. It is in a protected courtyard area near the lobby and very easy to get to from any area. It filled up quickly with kids but since we new almost all the children swimming, it wasn't bad at all.
The hot breakfast was nice and was way better than the usual continental fair at most hotels. We didn't partake in the evening reception but have at another location. It's nice to have that option as well.
Overall, I would not hesitate to stay here again and look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cory H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2012

We recently travelled from South Florida to Redding for our daughter's wedding and reserved a block of rooms at the Oxford Suites. The staff was so pleasant and helpful, they made us feel that they really cared about making our stay there the best experience possible. The rooms were clean and comfortable, and I loved the variety of room configurations available.

They offered a shuttle service to just about anywhere in town. (We had a good number of folks who flew in and had no rental car.) The hot breakfast offerings were more like home cooking than any free hotel breakfast I have had anywhere, and a light evening meal/reception was offered Monday through Saturday nights (I've normally only seen this offered Mon. through Thurs. nights.)

It was a very busy and hectic few days getting everything ready for the wedding, but in more ways than I can mention, our stay at the Oxford Suites made it all seem easier. The maintenance manager even loaned us a couple of long extension cords for our daughter's outdoor reception.
Again, our thanks goes out to the staff for helping make that weekend such a blessed time for us and for our family and friends!! If we are ever in Redding again, you'll be seeing us!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christopher W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Redding hotels
3.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Redding
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Redding
2.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Redding
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Hilltop Inn
3.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Redding
Comfort Suites Redding
#11 of 37 in Redding
183 reviews
0.2 mi away
Red Lion Hotel Redding
Red Lion Hotel Redding
#13 of 37 in Redding
605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oxford Suites Redding? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oxford Suites Redding

Address: 1967 Hilltop Dr, Redding, CA 96002-0211
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Redding
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Redding
#5 Family Hotel in Redding
#7 Romantic Hotel in Redding
Price Range: $116 - $155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Oxford Suites Redding 3*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exceptional has never been so affordable! Located in the heart of California’s outdoor recreation country, the Oxford Suites Redding is just a short drive away from the Redding Convention Center, Redding Soccer Park, Bethel Church and Simpson University. Complimentary amenities include Full Hot Breakfast Buffet, Evening Reception, High Speed Wi-Fi, Parking, Airport Shuttle, Outdoor Pool, Spa & Fitness Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Oxford Suites Redding reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oxford Suites Redding Hotel Redding
Oxford Hotel Redding

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing