We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor front-desk manners, etc”
Review of Super 8 Redding

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Super 8 Redding
Ranked #10 of 37 Hotels in Redding
Reviewed November 3, 2013

I will never set foot in the Super 8 Motel in Redding, CA ever again. They need to seriously talk to the young people who work at the front desk. One was too busy on the phone to tell me where my room was; and another was brooding, snarky, and took a simple 'thank you' with offended anger. I was told the second young man was a 'favorite' of the manager. Having 'favorites' can destroy a business, and the Manager of this hotel needs to reconsider the staff. But I will never set foot inside the Super-8 in Redding again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (555)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

415 - 421 of 555 reviews

Reviewed October 31, 2013

This was a very poor experience. We had stayed here before on various fishing trips and the service was far superior. It started when the "only been here two days" reception clerk took our reservation on Monday night for the next night but instead booked us for Monday night. When we got to the hotel on Tuesday they told us we had to pay for Monday night and had already charged our credit card. Then we were told that they could not store our bags until we returned that afternoon at check in time. This finally got straightened out but when we came back the management person insisted on telling us over and over that we had the "free use" of the room for 5 hours and how much we should appreciate her generosity. Never mind that we had negotiated this as a deal breaker for renting the room when we made the reservation and never mind all of the trouble and time they cost us and finally, never mind that they were at least 80% vacant. Then the breakfast the next morning was pitiful. They ran out of milk, coffee was not made, we had to ask for forks, there was no spray for the waffle maker, etc., etc. These folks seriously need some training before they are unleashed again on the general public.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else until management/ownership cleans up its act and learns how to speak to and hand...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank troutbum2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2013

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank Joe D
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

The facility is fine, modest, quiet, and unlike other motels, in this one I observed they wash the bedspreads - that's a real plus for me. They also give you coffee and continental breakfast in the morning - that was great. Well until they ran out of coffee and ran out of this an that.
Now Kay the owner/manager according to her, the maids and front desk clerks never tell her anything. She said she did not know why the maids claimed they did not have a full set of towels, nor toiletries. She said she did not understand why two front desk clerks told me they did not have supplies. Two other guests happened to be getting their breakfast when I went to ask for a bar of soap. The guests informed us they found dirty socks and a tray of stale food in their dresser drawer. My toilet did not flush properly so I had to use the common toilet adjacent to the laundry room. If it had not been for Jason the front desk clerk, I would have left. No toilet is too much to bear. He found me another room.
The motel is nice, but wake up early if you want coffee and toast, also bring your own toiletries including a bar of soap since they did not have any when I was there. Bring your own stuff, check the room for stale food or leftover dirty laundry and wake up early before the coffee is gone. Otherwise it was a good place to stay for the price.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MariaGP2637RT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

It was clean but smelled like smoke even in the non-smoking room, though not as strongly. The pillows smelled of old smoke.
We did not get our wake-up call.
The breakfast was not all that great. Some juice would have helped.
Will try somewhere else next time.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank Louis G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013

This particular Super 8 was a quiet, modest and comfortably-equipped hotel. Traveling on a budget, I found it quiet including the wall-mounted AC unit. It came with a small refrigerator and microwave along with the coffee maker. Ample hot water and working plumbing. The Wi-Fi worked well. Kay the hostess was kind and cordial.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lindsay G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Redding hotels
4.7 mi away
Travelodge Redding CA
Travelodge Redding CA
#6 of 37 in Redding
1,703 reviews
2.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Redding
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Redding
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Redding
6.2 mi away
Ramada Limited Redding
Ramada Limited Redding
#28 of 37 in Redding
625 reviews
2.9 mi away
Oxford Suites Redding
Oxford Suites Redding
#2 of 37 in Redding
1,406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Redding? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Redding

Address: 5175 Churn Creek Rd, Off I-5 North & South, Redding, CA 96002-3915
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Redding
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Redding
Price Range: $69 - $92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Redding 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Super 8 is a subsidiary of Wyndham Worldwide. We are an economy brand with fresh amenities and great service at an unbeatable price. We offer what most 3 star hotels offer at a fraction of the cost. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Super 8 Redding reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Motel Redding Hotel Redding
Super Eight Redding
Redding Super 8
Redding Super Eight
Super 8 Hotel Redding

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing