We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor service and poorly maintained”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Red Lion Hotel Redding
Ranked #12 of 36 Hotels in Redding
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“Poor service and poorly maintained”
Reviewed August 1, 2010

Air conditioner sounds like prop engine airplane, found dried fruit on floor by bed, couldn't open sliding glass doors, cig burns in drapes. We had car troubles and put our car in the shop 8 blocks from hotel. Asked for shuttle service and were told it was only for airport. Asked if we could check out 30 minutes late at 12:30p.m. and were told people where waiting for room. Pool area looked nice but was dirty and poorly maintained, as was hotel.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sweetone222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ckorol, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Redding, responded to this review, August 3, 2010
Thank you for bringing your concern about our hotel to our attention. Our consistent goals of cleanliness, quality, security and friendly service require diligent attention to feedback from our guests. I was deeply concerned to hear of the challenges you faced and I assure you these are the exceptions rather than the rules. I will look into this personally to insure it does not occur in the future. We hope you will give our hotel another opportunity to demonstrate our usually impeccable service and product in the not so distant future.

Thank you for your correspondence.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

552 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    190
    181
    98
    45
    38
See reviews for
183
141
30
103
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arcata, CA
Level Contributor
53 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2010

Hotel is has a great pool and could be a good facility if it were fixed up. Breakfast was good. Carpet was old, walpaper peeling off walls. Not what it use to be a decade ago.
Too much for what you get.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CAHumboldter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarlFletcher, Owner at Red Lion Hotel Redding, responded to this review, July 28, 2010
We wanted to say thank you for your stay with us and we were pleased to be able to provide with excellent service during your visit with us. We are currently evaluating our hotels and there fit & finish and need for renovation. We take all reviews very serious and especially those in regards to the condition of our hotels. We value your opinion and your perception of the property as it relates to how you feel when you stay with us. This will be passed on to operations at the corporate office.

Carl Fletcher
Red Lion Hotels Corporation
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2010

The hotel has a seventies feel to it, but it works, making it seem almost retro (without trying to be). The rooms were nice size. Flat screen televisions should be put in as an upgrade. The rooms are all no smoking, but smoking is allowed on balconies, patios and the pool area. We especially did not like the smoking at the pool.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marshm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarlFletcher, Owner at Red Lion Hotel Redding, responded to this review, July 23, 2010
We just wanted to say thank you for your stay with us and are very happy to hear that our efforts to have an entire non smoking hotel are working from the guest rooms standpoint. We do regret that you were unhappy with the smoking at the pool area. We work with the guidelines of the city and although we at no time wish for any guest to have less than an positive experience we do have to consider the rights of all who visit us. Again, thank you so much for your time and efforts in writing this review and helping to guide us to a better guest experience. We can only hope that you will continue to think of Red Lion on your next trip.

Carl Fletcher
Red Lion Corporate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
olympia, wa
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2010

Stayed here one night in May on the way back from Disneyland. Rooms are clean. Nice outdoor pool and spa, but the room rate was probably a little high (I didn't do priceline etc), particularly for Redding, CA. It has the feel of a slightly run down older establishment like so many Red Lions do. However, no major problems with the hotel, however. Can't complain. Courteous staff. Most of the good restaurants are left out of the parking lot, and a ride at the first light. We ate at Olive Garden.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rubberbubby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chico, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 20, 2010

This is one of the friendliest staffs I have ever experienced in any hotel. The rooms are very nice and comfortable. The lounge is a great place to relax and watch a game. Overall, a very nice place to stay while in Redding, I stay there whenever I visit Redding!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank toddsturgis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarlFletcher, Owner at Red Lion Hotel Redding, responded to this review, July 23, 2010
We are so happy to hear that you had a great time while staying with us. We welcome all reviews that help us to create memorable times at our hotels. It is always nice however to get positive comments that validate our efforts to make a positive experience at our hotel. We hope you r next trip will also be a positive one.

Carl Fletcher
Red Lion Corporate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed April 20, 2010

We went to a large car show & the people at Red Lion Hotel in Redding were great! We loved our room & the breakfast was wonderful!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lady442
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grants Pass Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2010

My boyfriend and I have been going to Redding California to enjoy their "Kool April Nites" car cruise for the past seven years. We always stay at the Redding Red Lion Hotel on Hilltop Drive in the same room, and book our stay for the next year in advance. The Hotel staff are always friendly, and go out of their way to make sure that your stay is enjoyable and comfortable. Our room is always very clean, and the bathroom spotless; something we always take note of first. They always are sure to provide any extras that we request. The food there is also excellent. We would give this Hotel a ***** five star rating, and recommend it to everyone who is planning a stay in Redding.
Tom & Merribeth-GP Oregon

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TomMer_1020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Redding hotels
0.1 mi away
Oxford Suites Redding
Oxford Suites Redding
#2 of 36 in Redding
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,255 reviews
3.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Redding
Comfort Suites Redding
#10 of 36 in Redding
4.5 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Redding
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Redding
0.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Hilltop Inn
3.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Redding
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Lion Hotel Redding? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel Redding

Property: Red Lion Hotel Redding
Address: 1830 Hilltop Dr, Redding, CA 96002-0212
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Redding
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Redding
#8 Romantic Hotel in Redding
#9 Business Hotel in Redding
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Lion Hotel Redding 3*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Red Lion Hotel Redding is the gateway to Northern California's recreational playground. Adjacent to I-5, the Red Lion Hotel Redding is just five minutes from downtown and 15 minutes from the airport via our complimentary airport transportation. The Redding Convention Center, Mt. Shasta Mall and excellent golf courses are nearby with Lake Shasta, Whiskey Town Lake, Mt. Lassen Volcanic State Park, the Sundial Bridge and other local attractions just minutes away. Our 192 elegantly appointed and spacious guest rooms have new air conditioning throughout. Two suites feature all the amenities you'd expect of a first-class hotel. These include private balconies or patios, king or queen beds, complimentary Wi-Fi and upgrade available, voicemail and Encore on demand movies. For recreation, try our outdoor pool - largest hotel pool in area. Whirlpool, kiddie pool and fitness center or relax around our spacious courtyard. We offer Red Lion's signature Roaring Start Breakfast Buffet... And don't forget, kids 10 and younger eat free with each adult. The 3-Shastas Bar and Grill is available for on-site dining, drinks and entertainment. With 8,731 square feet of meeting space, we are also able to accommodate as few as 10 or as many as 650 for your next conference or special occasion. Whether traveling for business or pleasure, the Redding Red Lion Hotel is committed to your care, comfort and value. "Redding's Lodging Leader." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelsforEveryone, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Red Lion Hotel Redding reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Redding
Redding Red Lion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing