We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really nice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Red Lion Hotel Redding
Ranked #12 of 36 Hotels in Redding
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Montague, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Really nice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2006

We stayed for only one night and although it was not a great deal it was worth every penny for the room. We were on the inside courtyard and the room was extremely quiet and the room darkening curtains were very effective. The room had a very comfortable pillow-top mattress and, unlike most of the 3 diamond AAA rated properties I've stayed at recently, it had glass glasses & cups and enough (three) bath towels for two people.
They said no discounts were available, even though they show one in the AAA Tour Guide. Maybe if I had made the reservation in advance??

  • Liked — Very quiet clean room. I fell right asleep, and usually can't when not at home.
  • Disliked — Sort of spendy.
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Z M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

542 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    179
    95
    44
    37
See reviews for
179
138
29
102
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu, HI
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2006

Stayed here for 4 nights 10/13-10/17/06 with three children. This was one of three hotels we stayed at during our 17 day stay. Booked it on Price line for half price! Very nice hotel for Redding standards. The rooms were large and the beds were pillow tops. Very comfortable. The bath ammenities were from Body & Bath Works! They did not restock daily but when requested for at the Front Desk.. no problem. The little restaurant was ok. This hotel is located two blocks from the mall and had lots of restaurants around. The hotel is located within minutes from attractions like to Turtle Bay, the Sun Dial Bridge, Outlet stores, casino and Nashs' Pumpkin Patch.

We used the pool and hot tub. A maid came around every hour or so and restocked the towels and cleaned up messes left behind. The rooms had free wireless computer hook up and a nice selection on the tv.

Only problem were carpet tacks sticking out of carpet between bath and bed rooms. We got poked several times. I had to put a towel down over spot. The hotel is next to I-5 so it can get noisy. I requested a courtyard room thanks to a previous post and did not hear any noise.

  • Liked — large room with comfy beds
  • Disliked — rug tacks sticking out of carpet
  • Tips/Secrets — Bid on Price Line
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Hawaiianwahines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2006

We were a little disappointed in the Red Lion in Redding first of all because we paid a premium price for a room that faced the interstate highway. Traffic was very loud until about midnight. The bed was a nice pillowtop mattress with a nice variety of pillows. The bathroom counter was very nice and the shower was nice, but it was missing a bathtub and/or a jacuzzi tub. For the price we were charged ($139 for a weeknight in Oct.) we felt we should have gotten an upgraded room. We did not have our laptop and the hotel charged 4.95 for 15 min. on the Internet. Most hotels we stay do not charge for Internet access. The hotel restaurant service was very slow and there were only 5 tables with diners when we went in. However, the servers were very nice. The cattleman's steak was very tasty but it was only about 1/8" thick and was overcooked. The veggies served with the steak were excellent. Overall, the restaurant was okay. Breakfast was included but we didn't have time to check it out. The restaurant gave us coffee and scones to go as we had to leave around very early to catch a flight. Overall, the hotel is not bad and would be a good place to stay with kids as the courtyard and pool area looked very nice. Just be sure and ask for a room away from the highway and away from the bar if noise bothers you.

  • Liked — nice bed
  • Disliked — traffic noise
  • Tips/Secrets — ask for a room away from bar and away from highway if noise bothers you
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank jmartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
121 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 233 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2006

This was our third stay at the Red Lion in Redding, where we stop on our way from Portland to the Bay Area. The hotel has been recently renovated and the rooms are in great shape, large with comfortable beds, bathroom upgrades, nice pool area, quiet. We also stayed at the Red Lion hotels in Eureka and Sacramento on this trip, and the Redding hotel with its recent renovations is the best of the three.

Helpful?
2 Thank cgbroderick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2006

We stayed 3 nights and the first and last night of our visit were incredibly noisy. Bar patrons were allowed to wander out into the hotel's inner courtyard, where they made more noise than kids at a college party. The racket continued until well after midnight, making it impossible to sleep if your windows faced the courtyard. Although the hotel was just remodeled, the toilets had not been replaced. You had to hold down the handle to get them to flush and the paint was peeling off the toilet seats. Will not stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2006

A real life pearl! :) The exterior of this hotel is dated, as well as the layout and hallways- but don't let this fool you! All of the hotel's rooms have been remodeled and are absolutely fabulous. I am a hotel snob and usually stay at high-end places, but on a recent road trip with my younger brother I needed a place to stay in Redding. Going on reccommendations of their remodeled rooms, I gave the Red Lion a chance. I'm glad I did!

The rooms are spacious, beautifully appointed, and very clean. Sheets were the softest I've slept in at a non-Ritz Carlton like hotel. The beds were fabulously comfortable, and I even had down filled pillows! (There were also poly-fiber filled ones for those of you with allergies).

The bathrooms are spacious and beautiful, with granite counters and new shower stalls. The light fixtures are even pretty - and don't have the flourescent glare that most hotels do.

The staff was friendly and fast. The hotel was quiet at night. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay - so much so I stayed there on the way back home as well!

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank StephanieC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, CA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2006

Don't be fooled by the aging exterior of this hotel. They are undergoing a complete remodel and you won't be dissapointed, at least we weren't.

Let me start out by saying that I am a hotel snob which has made finding a hotel I like, during our frequent visits to Redding, pretty difficult, as there isn't much selection.

We were a little wary about staying at the Red Lion because quite frankly from the outside it looks kind of scary and unkept. However, during our previous visit we had stayed at the Holiday Inn (inside isn't as nice as the outside at the Holiday Inn) next store and seen the remodeling taking place at the Red Lion. We decided to bite the bullet and give them a try on our trip at Christmas. We booked online and then called and requested a remodeled room. The person who took my call was very nice and made a note in our reservation and told me that most of the rooms had just been completed and hadn't even been slept in yet.

We arrived on Christmas morning, well before check in time, but they were happy to give us a room so we could get to our family's house to open presents and not have to come back later. When we entered the building I was a little worried because the hallways were worn and looked old, but I knew the room was new and there were signs up explaining the mess due to the remodel. When we walked into our room we weren't dissapointed. The smell of new carpet greeted me and I was happy. The room was completely brand new. New carpet, new paint, new beds, new furniture, new linens, completely remodeled bathrooms with granite counters. We had a sliding door that went out to our patio that led out to the pool and courtyard area. The room was very big and quiet. The beds were so comfortable, I slept great. We were very happy with our stay.

When we checked out we noticed that they had charged us too little (yes, less than they should have) so we asked them about it and they said that the price we paid online through Orbitz was higher than the current rate when we checked in so they lowered it saving us $15 a night. I don't know too many hotels that will lower your rate becuase they have dropped since you booked your room.

We will definitely be going back to the Red Lion and are happy that we finally found a nice place to stay on our trips.

  • Stayed December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank yellow_daisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Redding hotels
0.1 mi away
Oxford Suites Redding
Oxford Suites Redding
#2 of 36 in Redding
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,235 reviews
3.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Redding
Comfort Suites Redding
#10 of 36 in Redding
4.5 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Redding
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Redding
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hilltop Inn
3.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Redding
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Lion Hotel Redding? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel Redding

Property: Red Lion Hotel Redding
Address: 1830 Hilltop Dr, Redding, CA 96002-0212
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Redding
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Redding
#8 Romantic Hotel in Redding
#9 Business Hotel in Redding
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Lion Hotel Redding 3*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Red Lion Hotel Redding is the gateway to Northern California's recreational playground. Adjacent to I-5, the Red Lion Hotel Redding is just five minutes from downtown and 15 minutes from the airport via our complimentary airport transportation. The Redding Convention Center, Mt. Shasta Mall and excellent golf courses are nearby with Lake Shasta, Whiskey Town Lake, Mt. Lassen Volcanic State Park, the Sundial Bridge and other local attractions just minutes away. Our 192 elegantly appointed and spacious guest rooms have new air conditioning throughout. Two suites feature all the amenities you'd expect of a first-class hotel. These include private balconies or patios, king or queen beds, complimentary Wi-Fi and upgrade available, voicemail and Encore on demand movies. For recreation, try our outdoor pool - largest hotel pool in area. Whirlpool, kiddie pool and fitness center or relax around our spacious courtyard. We offer Red Lion's signature Roaring Start Breakfast Buffet... And don't forget, kids 10 and younger eat free with each adult. The 3-Shastas Bar and Grill is available for on-site dining, drinks and entertainment. With 8,731 square feet of meeting space, we are also able to accommodate as few as 10 or as many as 650 for your next conference or special occasion. Whether traveling for business or pleasure, the Redding Red Lion Hotel is committed to your care, comfort and value. "Redding's Lodging Leader." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Red Lion Hotel Redding reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Redding
Redding Red Lion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing