We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not what I expected”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Red Lion Hotel Redding
Ranked #14 of 37 Hotels in Redding
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed February 4, 2014

I waited at the front desk for at least ten minutes before someone came out of the back room to check me in. There wasn't any sort of device available to let them know I was waiting. The parking lot is poorly lit, and I was advised that the area had been targeted by a group of thiefs. The front desk people told me that there were no headsets available for use in the workout room, the outdoor pool and hot tub was inoperable, and that there was a fee for the breakfast. i have stayed at other locations in the Redding area and know they offer a much better assortment of breakfast options for free. I guess the icing on the cake is that my rewards points have not been awarded to my account. Earning rewards towards a free night stay was one of the main reasons I chose this location above others. I will not stay here again, and will suggest friends to do the same.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Red Lion Hotels
Thank Ty I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ckorol, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Redding, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2014

We want to take this time to extend our apologies for your experience with us in Redding. We use these reviews to continuously better our approach to our guest’s experiences at our hotels. We have noted the issues you faced during your stay and will work very quickly to overcome these objectives and ensure a better stay. We hope you will continue to be a Red Lion advocate and give us another chance to show you our superior service.

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts and suggestions to make our hotel a better place to stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (631)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

430 - 436 of 631 reviews

Reviewed January 22, 2014

We were pleasantly surprised about everything. This was so much more than we were expecting. The front staff member was one of the best I have encountered. She took her time with each person so you felt like you were the most important guest they had. Pretty amazing.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Red Lion Hotels
Thank Ridesilent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2014

We stayed just one night on our way from Washington to Los Angeles, and really enjoyed the comfort, quality, and convenience of the Red Lion Hotel in Redding. We had three "toy breed" dogs with us, and were delighted to find such a nice, pet friendly hotel at a reasonable price. The staff could not have been more courteous or efficient.

After we made our reservations through the Red Lion web site, we called the hotel in Redding to request a ground floor room, which they kindly set aside for us. They were also very accommodating when we called them en route to inform them we had left a day early and needed to move our reservation date up from "tomorrow" to "today".

The room was spotlessly clean, the beds (two queens) were comfortable, and all the appliances worked very well. The next time we spend a night in Redding, it will be at the Red Lion!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Soggy_Sun_Nut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2014

I wish I could have caught the young lady that checked us in. She was very sweet. She told me if I signed up to be a member of Red Lion she would upgrade me to a King Standard, which I did. The room was clean and warm. The hotel was quiet and we had a good night sleep on both nights. Their breakfast buffet for $6 is good and you have to try. It is centrally located to all.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Red Lion Hotels
Thank AidaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2014

Redding is the half way point on my travel from CA to OR, and Red Lion is right off I-5, easy on and off, but the rooms are quiet enough not to hear the freeway (at least poolside 2nd floor). There is a hum from the air system, but it is like white noise and comforting to me (I sleep with the fan on). Clean room, and comfy bed, big TV, free wireless, not much more I need than this. Lots of dining options within walking distance, including at the hotel. It is a big hotel, fairly recently renovated - feels newer. Very nice staff. You could get a better rate online than at the hotel, or become a member for free and you get a big discount.

Room Tip: I was on second floor poolside, room 310, which was quite nice. I wouldn't risk being on the fre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RFrancis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2014

Clean, quite, friendly helpful staff, comfortable, close to great food. Stayed here before on USFS business, will do it again. Shower pressure was almost non existing, must be mega low flow! No big deal, use the ice bucket to rinse!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Red Lion Hotels
Thank Bill D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2013

We pulled into Redding after dark and decided not to head through the pass to Oregon until morning. Being a member of Best Western we attempted to check in there after checking our corporate rate. The BW front desk was rude and would not honor our online rate. A quick search on Trip Advisor suggested the answer was Red Lion and they were correct!~ Thank you, we are now Red Lion club members and will definately stay again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Red Lion Hotels
Thank lattelady49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Redding hotels
0.2 mi away
Oxford Suites Redding
Oxford Suites Redding
#2 of 37 in Redding
1,406 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Redding
1.9 mi away
Travelodge Redding CA
Travelodge Redding CA
#6 of 37 in Redding
1,703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Redding
3.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Redding
3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Redding
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Lion Hotel Redding? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel Redding

Address: 1830 Hilltop Dr, Redding, CA 96002-0212
Location: United States > California > Redding
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Redding
#8 Romantic Hotel in Redding
#9 Business Hotel in Redding
Price Range: $88 - $156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Lion Hotel Redding 3*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Red Lion Hotel Redding is the gateway to Northern California's recreational playground. Adjacent to I-5, the Red Lion Hotel Redding is just five minutes from downtown and 15 minutes from the airport via our complimentary airport transportation. The Redding Convention Center, Mt. Shasta Mall and excellent golf courses are nearby with Lake Shasta, Whiskey Town Lake, Mt. Lassen Volcanic State Park, the Sundial Bridge and other local attractions just minutes away. Our 192 elegantly appointed and spacious guest rooms have new air conditioning throughout. Two suites feature all the amenities you'd expect of a first-class hotel. These include private balconies or patios, king or queen beds, complimentary Wi-Fi and upgrade available, voicemail and Encore on demand movies. For recreation, try our outdoor pool - largest hotel pool in area. Whirlpool, kiddie pool and fitness center or relax around our spacious courtyard. We offer Red Lion's signature Roaring Start Breakfast Buffet... And don't forget, kids 10 and younger eat free with each adult. The 3-Shastas Bar and Grill is available for on-site dining, drinks and entertainment. With 8,731 square feet of meeting space, we are also able to accommodate as few as 10 or as many as 650 for your next conference or special occasion. Whether traveling for business or pleasure, the Redding Red Lion Hotel is committed to your care, comfort and value. "Redding's Lodging Leader." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Red Lion Hotel Redding reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Redding
Redding Red Lion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing