We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It feels like home”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Red Lion Hotel Redding
Ranked #14 of 37 Hotels in Redding
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed January 22, 2013

I have stayed at the Red Lion in Redding a few of times over the years, and each time is better then the last. From the wonderful checkin staff, amazing bar & grill servers, and meticulous housekeepers, they all know how to make you feel welcome. The pool area is bright and very inviting, with a hot tub and kiddie pool, great for the 100+ degree weather in the summer. I ended up staying this last time becuse my roof was being redone, and I will always recommend you guys to anyone I have come visit from out-of-town. One thing I wish you still had was roomservice, since it is a bit of a walk from most roooms to the bar and grill.

Room Tip: The Mt. Lassen wing is the closest to the lobby, if you don't want a long walk to the bar &...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CaliTheBard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (631)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

512 - 518 of 631 reviews

Reviewed December 28, 2012

Red Lion Hotel in Redding was an excellent choice for us. From the front staff to housekeeping, very professional, friendly and polite. The hotel is dog friendly and they make everyone feel welcome. Highly recommend this hotel and location. Location wise, walking distance to the Mt. Shasta Mall and numerous restaurants.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CaliforniaNorCalMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2012

My husband and I, with our well mannered and fastidiously clean austrailian shepherd, were warmly welcomed at the Red Lion Inn in Redding, CA. The hotel, which must have been renovated after the reviews written years earlier, was immaculate, well decorated and well appointed. The center courtyard is large with a large swath of green grass, trees and plantings. The pool and jacuzzi are currently empty due to current renovation of them.

Our room was very large, with a 42" flat screen T.V., refridge and microwave. Our room faced into the courtyard, so the room was very quiet during our stay - no traffic noise and no one in the courtyard since it was December. The bed(s) was VERY comfortable, room was well lit, super clean, new or like new attractive decor.

In addition, the hotel receptionist, Evan, who helped us, was wonderful. He was friendly and very helpful. Either he has an innate ability for hospitality or he has attended a hospitality school. We were so impressed with his professional and friendly manner. Evan gave my husband a "doggie packet" which included a dog biscuit, poop bag, and a doggie "do not disturb" sign for our door. On it was a doggie footprint to alert the cleaning crew that a dog was in the room. Other staff were also very friendly and helpful.

The Lobby is grand, sort of "retro" in a good Palm Springs way (I am an architect). The breakfast area was very nice. The breakfast food was "O.K." - like the other Red Lion Inn where we stayed in Salem, OR. Unfortunately in Redding, there was an additional charge for the breakfast, so we chose to eat our own cereal and yogurt.

We paid in the $100.00 range.

In addition, we had one of the BEST pizzas in California (or anywhere for that matter) at Mary's Pizza Shack. We chose to take out and eat in our room.

The hotel is conveniently located to grocery stores and restaurants.

My husband and I, driving from Seattle to Palm Springs in December, were not expecting to find any hotels worth bragging about along I-5, especially pet friendly ones. However, the Red LIon in Redding exceeded our expectations and deserves very high praise.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the courtyard have no freeway or street noise - in winter totally silent as no one is u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gitamom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

We have stayed here for about three years in a row bidding from Price Line, and it is great! The happy hour at the grill is second to none, we have had our dinner there every time we have stayed here, and if you are fortunate enough to get Carole as a waitress it is an added bonus!

Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Rich M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

The hotel looks dated from the outside, and the hallways and stairs look a little rundown, but our room must have been recently remodeled because it was modern and clean. The bed was comfortable, the carpet in the room looked relatively new, the bathroom was clean and modern.

Beyond the hotel's appearance, the staff were friendly and accommodating. They were the hotel's best feature. We were traveling with two young children, and we learned that kids eat breakfast for free in the hotel restaurant.

This is a pet-friendly hotel. We were not traveling with a dog, but they asked if we had pets and we saw a couple with a dog in the lobby. There aren't many pet-friendly hotels, so keep this one in mind if you are traveling through Northern California with a dog.

I was not expecting a fancy hotel (it is a Red Lion hotel in Redding, after all), but the Red Lion Hotel in Redding did just enough to exceed my expectations. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ianbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

As other reviews have mentioned, the patio/balcony area was a nice and unexpected perk for staying here. But the rooms themselves smell and feel kind of grungy. There were hairs in the bathroom sink when we arrived, which was unappealing.

We arrived around 1 a.m. on a Saturday night, quickly went to bed and the mattress and pillows were comfortable. Was noisy in the hall with people yelling and screaming, but it's a Saturday night at a mid to low rate hotel.. so it's as expected.

Great location to get to, right off I-5. Getting back on I-5 is a little more difficult.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CardQB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012

We were visiting our Son & Grandson and only needed a room for the night. We have stayed at several hotels in Redding, and thought that we would try this one. The room access was great, and the room was spacious. The carpet is very stained and in need of updating. The room and bathroom were very clean. The biggest problem are the beds. Not comfortable, and a little short. I am 5'7", and my toes were to the very edge of the bed.

The personnel were very friendly and accommodating. We did not take advantage of the breakfast, but noticed that it was a cut above what other hotels offer. Would probably give this hotel another try, it has potential with a little upgrading.

Room Tip: Rooms towards the back of the hotel are a little more quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zuzza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Redding hotels
0.2 mi away
Oxford Suites Redding
Oxford Suites Redding
#2 of 37 in Redding
1,406 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Redding
1.9 mi away
Travelodge Redding CA
Travelodge Redding CA
#6 of 37 in Redding
1,703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Redding
3.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Redding
3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Redding
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Lion Hotel Redding? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel Redding

Address: 1830 Hilltop Dr, Redding, CA 96002-0212
Location: United States > California > Redding
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Redding
#8 Romantic Hotel in Redding
#9 Business Hotel in Redding
Price Range: $88 - $156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Lion Hotel Redding 3*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Red Lion Hotel Redding is the gateway to Northern California's recreational playground. Adjacent to I-5, the Red Lion Hotel Redding is just five minutes from downtown and 15 minutes from the airport via our complimentary airport transportation. The Redding Convention Center, Mt. Shasta Mall and excellent golf courses are nearby with Lake Shasta, Whiskey Town Lake, Mt. Lassen Volcanic State Park, the Sundial Bridge and other local attractions just minutes away. Our 192 elegantly appointed and spacious guest rooms have new air conditioning throughout. Two suites feature all the amenities you'd expect of a first-class hotel. These include private balconies or patios, king or queen beds, complimentary Wi-Fi and upgrade available, voicemail and Encore on demand movies. For recreation, try our outdoor pool - largest hotel pool in area. Whirlpool, kiddie pool and fitness center or relax around our spacious courtyard. We offer Red Lion's signature Roaring Start Breakfast Buffet... And don't forget, kids 10 and younger eat free with each adult. The 3-Shastas Bar and Grill is available for on-site dining, drinks and entertainment. With 8,731 square feet of meeting space, we are also able to accommodate as few as 10 or as many as 650 for your next conference or special occasion. Whether traveling for business or pleasure, the Redding Red Lion Hotel is committed to your care, comfort and value. "Redding's Lodging Leader." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Red Lion Hotel Redding reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Redding
Redding Red Lion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing