We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, above the par!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Red Lion Hotel Redding
Ranked #12 of 36 Hotels in Redding
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Corvallis, Oregon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great hotel, above the par!”
Reviewed July 17, 2012

This hotel exceeded our expectations. When we checked in (for a reserved price we already considered reasonable), the hotel staff person informed us that our rate should actually have been lower and reduced it by $30 to $89/night! Each room had its own balcony, the beds felt firm but soft, and the air conditioning splendidly effective. The rooms were tasteful and roomy, and the service was quite good. We were spending the day at Turtle Bay, and the hotel's location was ideal, just across I-5 and only 5 min. away. Although breakfast wasn't included, it was worth the $4.95 per adult, and all was well-stocked and tasty. From now on, this will be our go-to stop whenever we're passing through between Oregon and California!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JulieAEW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

556 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    182
    98
    45
    39
See reviews for
184
142
30
104
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orinda
Level Contributor
46 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2012

We used the property after a few days camping in Lassen National Park. They were friendly everywhere in the hotel. We had the breakfast and the food was decent. Scrambled eggs, bacon, potatoes , fruit, etc. The pool and hot tub were fine. Closed at 10. Some wear and tear but overall a basic place to stay for a day or 2. The bed was very comfortable. Not noisy as we had feared as we faced the freeway. Surprisingly quiet!

Room Tip: Possibly avoid a road view as it isn't a pretty sight looking out the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jsksOrinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bodega Bay, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2012

This Hotel was clean and comfortable with a lot of Big Resort Amenities at a travel hotel cost...The rooms were small, but clean and had a nice patio...Pool area and spa were above average and sizeable.....Desk staff was friendly and attentive. I am not a big T.V. guy, but did watch the All Star game on a big console TV which could have had better picture quality...but as everything else was fine this was no big deal.

Room Tip: All the rooms are in a square around the pool ask for a view of the pool and near the lobby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank heirloomapple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
377 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2012

Stayed here one night while on tour. On the positive side, the hotel is very clean, the staff was very friendly, and the room was quite comfortable. The buffet breakfast was very good. On the negative side, the hotel is large and sprawling with corridors in many directions leading to rooms. The signage to rooms is not clear, and it is very easy to get lost. In addition, there is no elevator!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PasCaLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
113 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2012

The Red Lion needs an update - very average, long walks to the front desk and dining. Claustrophobic decor. Staff seemed as uninspired as the decor. Personality sadly missing but overall a clean, comfortable place to sleep.

Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Jensjourney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thousand Oaks, CA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2012

We had a lovely experience. Stayed on the ground floor and had a view of the grassy courtyard. The breakfast was plentiful, tasty, and inexpensive. Beds and pillows were comfortable. Staff is helpful. They have a shuttle which picks you up from the local airport. It was my first time to Redding, and I found the people there to be very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cali4niaKitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maple Valley, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 12, 2012

This hotel is a typical Red Lion. Very neat, clean, friendly with nice amenities. I always stay at Red Lions becuase i know what to expect.....excellent service, good price, and clean. The surprising part of this trip was how nice Redding is. Who knew.....if you have not spent a weekend in Redding, you should. It is quite nice.

Room Tip: staying near the pool is nice if you have kids.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Team_Whit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Redding hotels
0.1 mi away
Oxford Suites Redding
Oxford Suites Redding
#2 of 36 in Redding
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,255 reviews
3.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Redding
Comfort Suites Redding
#10 of 36 in Redding
4.5 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Redding
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Redding
0.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Hilltop Inn
3.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Redding
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Lion Hotel Redding? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel Redding

Property: Red Lion Hotel Redding
Address: 1830 Hilltop Dr, Redding, CA 96002-0212
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Redding
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Redding
#8 Romantic Hotel in Redding
#9 Business Hotel in Redding
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Lion Hotel Redding 3*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Red Lion Hotel Redding is the gateway to Northern California's recreational playground. Adjacent to I-5, the Red Lion Hotel Redding is just five minutes from downtown and 15 minutes from the airport via our complimentary airport transportation. The Redding Convention Center, Mt. Shasta Mall and excellent golf courses are nearby with Lake Shasta, Whiskey Town Lake, Mt. Lassen Volcanic State Park, the Sundial Bridge and other local attractions just minutes away. Our 192 elegantly appointed and spacious guest rooms have new air conditioning throughout. Two suites feature all the amenities you'd expect of a first-class hotel. These include private balconies or patios, king or queen beds, complimentary Wi-Fi and upgrade available, voicemail and Encore on demand movies. For recreation, try our outdoor pool - largest hotel pool in area. Whirlpool, kiddie pool and fitness center or relax around our spacious courtyard. We offer Red Lion's signature Roaring Start Breakfast Buffet... And don't forget, kids 10 and younger eat free with each adult. The 3-Shastas Bar and Grill is available for on-site dining, drinks and entertainment. With 8,731 square feet of meeting space, we are also able to accommodate as few as 10 or as many as 650 for your next conference or special occasion. Whether traveling for business or pleasure, the Redding Red Lion Hotel is committed to your care, comfort and value. "Redding's Lodging Leader." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelsforEveryone, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Red Lion Hotel Redding reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Redding
Redding Red Lion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing